We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy in the forest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge
Save
You added Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Nshupu Village | Meru District, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy in the forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were booked through the operator and couldn't spell the name, so were not expecting anything like this. When we came here, we were blown away. The environment, nature, comfort and feeling here is something to experience. I would have liked there to be a wildlife guide to show me around but we took some nice photos anyway. All in all it was a very cozy first night and day in Tanzania. Thanks Ngeresero Lodge.

Room Tip: Room 11 is upstairs, spacious, comfortable and homely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
32
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family of five stayed in two rooms in the guest house. Rooms- very clean and well decorated. Plenty of hot water and towels. In this mountainside resort, the temperature was cool, but we could have used some small fans to circulate air and provide a little noise cover at night in the rooms. This lodge was a great relaxing environment after several days of safari. The food and food service was EXCELLENT! The staff were very helpful when we requested a need, but stayed in the background, not constantly asking you if you needed things. My family enjoyed the pool, but it was cold in the early part of June. The surrounding property was a delight. It was a great place to get some great family pictures before our departure and sit in the shade and relax. A point to bring out-- for those who may not be comfortable with dogs, they have a Doberman and Weimaraner pair that followed us everywhere. My kids enjoyed them, and my wife appreciated that they sat outside or rooms all night and barked if anyone walked up, but they were quite annoying to me with one of them constantly whining for attention. Overall it was a great lodge and I would recommend it as a family retreat, if you don't mind dogs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim L, General Manager at Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time at Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge. We also hope that you left with some memorable experiences of Tanzania. We want to make sure that we constantly keep on top of our guest's expectations & we hugely value your feedback.

We apologize about the inconvenience our dogs brought you. Our dobermans has been living at the lodge for almost 11 years and provided our guests with excellent extra security, Unfortunately while we were on a business trip Shetani, the black one, was diagnosed with cancer which caused whining and depression. They latched on to you and your family for company, love and attention and we wanted to thank you for that. We are now back and Sugar & Shetani are well taken care of, and in the future we will make sure that our guests are aware that they can inform the management if the presence of our dogs makes them feel uncomfortable.

On behalf of the entire lodge team, I hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I suggest staying at this lodge to all my friends and customers: honestly it's easily the best place to stay near Arusha for "the Naturalist". That is because it is very close to Arusha NP and supports many of the scarce resident forest birds that few of the other lodges might even pretend to have.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent our first day in Tanzania here--it was a great way to recover from the flight so we could start our safari well-rested. It also turned out to offer us a great chance to get an introduction to the people of Tanzania.

The lodge itself is quite comfortable: the rooms are good-sized and clean. There is a main building with dining and a veranda, and then rooms are in another building off a large grass courtyard. The meals were wonderful; the food was served family style, but was plentiful and flavorful. The staff was friendly and helpful--they took care of all of our needs. Dinner was also a great chance to interact with other travelers.

We took a tour of the local village from the hotel--this was a great experience that gave us the chance to see a slice of Tanzanian rural life. We also went to Arusha, which gave us another perspective. We appreciated the opportunity to see daily life in both the city and the village; it's easy to loose track of the people of Tanzania when you are on the safari track.

The lodge is a bit off the main road from Kilimanjaro to Arusha: I think that is part of the allure. For us, it was a nice spot to relax before starting on our safari. It was peaceful and quiet--we also got a stunning view of Kilimanjaro in the evening. Getting a chance to meet some people and see a bit more of life in Tanzania was an unexpected benefit that really added another dimension to our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ngare Sero was our base during several safari trips over a period of 3 weeks in February. The service is absolutely extraordinary, the food delicious, the rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean and charming. What makes this place really unique is the property, which includes its own fresh water lake, a fish farm, stables, acres of forest where you can watch Colobus monkey play while relaxing in the pool, and spend hours birdwatching. Tim and Katya, the hosts, clearly love the place and, importantly, have an ecologically oriented approach to its management, which extends also to their safari camps. Great view of Mount Meru and Kili. And I got addicted to their coffee.

Room Tip: We stayed in a couple of their garden rooms, which are beautiful and very spacious. Birds were nesti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My first steps through the gate and walk across the bridge revealed that we were in an extraordinary place; in fact it felt like something of a fairy tale land. It was after climbing Mt Meru that we returned to the lodge and took the most refreshing and reenergizing cold plunge in their natural and completely private water springs. Afterwards we were soothed by the comfort of a deliciously warm soup and also the tranquility of the surrounding environment. Swimming lengths (which I normally find quite boring) in their vastly long pool was wonderful given the sights and sounds of white-bushy-tailed monkeys jumping around the enormous trees. After swim and sun, i relaxed while being given a lovely massage. Truly an incredible experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Ngare Sero earned a place as one of my most favorite places to stay in the entire world.

This lodge is a very special place whose uniqueness, comfort and decadence is a product of owners who genuinely love where they live and who equally love sharing this piece of paradise with visitors.

Katya, Tim and the entire staff at Ngare Sero expertly tailor your visit and make you feel like a very special guest in someone's home. After many great adventures in Kenya and Rwanda, my girlfriend and I were excited to take a few days to relax and take a moment to enjoy the beauty of Africa. Katya arranged for the driver (Benny was awesome!) to meet us at the airport and welcomed us as soon as we arrived. She sat down with us over an exquisite candlelight dinner to learn about us, our travels and how we hoped to spend our three days in Arusha.

She was very honest in how the rainy season would affect some of our options and helped us decide on some great alternatives that would be less impacted by the rains. There is a whole list of things to do around the property and there is no doubt you will find something amazing to do whether your goal is to relax or to have great adventures.

Tim and Katya also gave us a personal tour of the property, explaining its history, how it functions and how hard they work to protect the naturally beautiful environment around them. This tour was a definite highlight of my trip and Tim and Katya are just really cool people who are easy to hang out with.

During our stay we got a tour of the local village, went shopping in Arusha and got a great massage. They even had the kitchen staff make me a birthday cake once they found out it was my birthday!

The rooms themselves are very large and well decorated and include a living room area, bedroom, fantastic shower, a dressing area and a separate bathroom. There is Internet, but no TV (not that I would have ever watched it). These are as comfortable rooms as Ive ever stayed in. I got great sleep in these rooms and was very comfortable.

We will definitely return, maybe during the great migration or to climb Kili, but either way we know we will feel at home at Ngare Sero.

I would like to send a special thank you to Gerald, Dottie, Benny and the whole staff. They are EXCEPTIONAL at customer service. Please know we appreciated your world class service and our great conversations. We hope to see you again very soon.

This is really a special place and you will love your time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge

Address: Nshupu Village | Meru District, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush gardens amid forest and crystal clear waters on the slopes of Mount Meru, Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge is a wonderful place to relax and simmer in the immense beauty of East Africa. The Lodge has been adapted from an early colonial farmhouse built in the early 20th century and it is one of the oldest family lodges in Arusha.It offers only 10 garden rooms, 2 main house suites and pool cottage with 2 bedrooms, and provides personal service for its residents since 1974. Here you can spend the days amid nature, watching the changing colors of the Kilimanjaro glaciers while sipping drinks on the verandah or hiking in the forest inhabited by colobus and Sykes monkeys as well as hundreds of small animal and bird species. The Lodge is located only 30 minutes away from Kilimanjaro International Airport and Arusha town center and it is a perfect base while on safari in the northern circuit Tanzania. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngare Sero Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.