We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at the foot of Mt. Meru” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twiga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twiga Lodge
Save
You added Twiga Lodge to your Saves list
Far Plot no 2320, Ngongongare Village | Arumeru District, Usa River, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Paradise at the foot of Mt. Meru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Paul and Erika Sweet have created a paradise oasis at Twiga Lodge! My husband I and stayed with them for two days before heading out on safari and returned to spend another three days, including a memorable New Year's Eve, with them after our safari. We were especially lucky to meet Paul's parents in from the UK and were welcomed by their friends for the holidays.
When you arrive you are greeted by warm smiles and welcomed in like family from the moment you enter the gates. You will be received with your choice of refreshment as you proceed to the veranda. Where you will be amazed by the lush lawn and vegetation all around you, with sitting areas and hammocks to tempt you to slow down a bit while you visit Twiga Lodge. Mt. Meru will gaze down upon you, as Mt. Kilimanjaro will peek out just over Arusha National Park. You may be so overcome by the view you will miss the viewing tower altogether, where you can catch glimpses of giraffes, elephants, bushbucks, monkeys, and other wildlife. If you look around grounds you will find the most gorgeous rooster named Kaneli, and the delightful cat, Sox. They are a treat and lend their own personalities to an incredible experience.
Paul and Erika are knowledgeable, friendly, gracious hosts and their staff is beyond lovely. We were shown to our room upstairs, which was a double with a loft and en-suite bath with soaking tub/shower. The bed is dreamy. An absolute brilliant night's sleep awaits you. Drinking water and mosquito net are provided, along with an accompaniment of luxurious bath products. The upper level has a wrap around veranda as well and loads of little place to sit and read or simply take in the view. The lodge is magical with African art and decor adorning the walls and large cozy furniture for relaxing a bit.
Meals at Twiga Lodge are scrumptious. Beginning with a hearty and healthy fresh breakfast. At lunch you may have a divine quiche, refreshing salad or barbecue. Dinners begin with a relaxed cocktail hour on the veranda, leading to a delicious creation by Erika and her staff, Ester and Leacardia.
Paul took us into Arusha National Park for the day and we were blown away by his knowledge and professionalism. We came in with a different tour company for our safari, but after meeting Paul and Erika we are committed to Twiga Lodge and Shaw Safaris (their self-drive safari company) for our next adventures! Erika can create a dream itinerary for you and Paul can guide and drive you or prepare you for your successful self-drive safari.
I could not recommend Twiga Lodge and Shaw Safaris with anymore enthusiasm. This is a small business, providing big hospitality. We look forward to returning and taking on a self-drive safari soon. Thank you so much to Paul, Erika, and your amazing staff!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Erica and Paul greeted four tired Canadians with warm and gracious hospitaiity and long, cool drinks on their spacious veranda, overlooking the lovely garden ,the silence broken only by the night sounds of Tanzania. It was a magical start to an exciting exploration and we all felt well rested and well fed when we set off on safari three days later.Their wealth of information was invaluable and added immensely to the success of our trip. Many thanks to you both.
We certainly hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Returned 1 week ago from our two week trip to Tanzania. Twiga Lodge was our first stay for 2 nights in order to recover from the long flight, before heading out with Paul as our guide and driver on safari (Shaw Safari, also owned by Paul and Erika). The safari portion of our trip was put together with the help of Erika (even before we had booked with Twiga Lodge she was an invaluable help to me trying to organize my trip to Tanzania), she thought of everything and even paid for our park passes for the week so that when we arrived all we had to do was get in the land rover. Driving around and seeing the countryside and animals with Paul was like being with a family member....except one that knows everything about the smallest bird or reptile to the majestic elephants and lions. We learned more in this one week than we ever would have on our own. The Lodge is like something out of a fairy tale...except with Giraffes strolling by as we had our first drink upon arriving our first night....we couldn't have asked for more. There is nothing bad anyone can say about their piece of paradise. They welcome you and make you feel at home and we are so glad we found them because it made our trip amazingly beautiful, breathtaking and a once in a lifetime experience. Thanks Erika and Paul.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nb canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spend our first 2 nights of safari at Twiga Lodge. Our tour operator suggested this lodge as our first full day was to be at Arusha National Park. We were so very happy with this suggestion. Beds were so comfortable that I did not even hear the commotion from the dogs and rangers when the elephants made their way into the farm next door the first night.

All meals were delicious, we were the only guests there for both nights and Paul and Erika joined us for meals, much more food than we could have ever finished. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals with them, they gave us lots of insight as to what to expect on our safari for the next 2 weeks as we travelled the Northern Circuit. BEST box lunches of our safari!

Arusha National Park is not more than a 3 minute drive from the lodge and a great park to start your safari. Only regret was we didn't have more time to do a walking tour with Paul.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I just stayed at Twiga for one night before heading off on safari in northern Tanzania but it was a wonderfully relaxed place to begin my trip. Paul and Erika are lovely hosts who create a super homely atmosphere while giving you time and space to do your own thing. Instead of a family dog the very impressive cockrel will come and say hello before popping into the kitchen or out to the neighbouring small farms to meet his girlfriends!

The meals were delicious and I loved the garden (and biggest blue agapanthas flowers I've ever seen) with hammock and the viewing platform for spotting wildlife in the forests beyond but sometimes giraffe and elephants come right to the property! I'll stay longer next time to make sure I explore Arusha NP with Paul too

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early October 2013 at the start of our time in Tanzania. The Lodge is only 40 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro Airport. We had a warm welcome from owners Paul and Erika. It was a perfect introduction to Tanzania and gave us time to adjust from jetlag. It is home like setting with plenty of sitting areas and books to enjoy. We spent one full day relaxing at the Lodge, wandering around the garden, bird watching and talking to the owners. Erika prepares the best gin and tonic! Meanwhile Paul and staff were meticulous in getting ready 4 self-drive safari vehicles for a large NZ group. Our second day we spent in Arusha National Park whose main gate is only minutes away from Twiga Lodge. This park gave us our first views of giraffes, zebras, black-and- white colubus monkeys and much more. The bird life was excellent with very close views of flamingos in both the Momela Lakes, much closer than was possible at Lake Natron

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent Service in an absolutely beautiful location, could not possibly be closer to Arusha national Park--literally a two minute drive to get in. Gorgeous views of Mt. Meru, Erica and Paul are extremely nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twiga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twiga Lodge

Address: Far Plot no 2320, Ngongongare Village | Arumeru District, Usa River, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Twiga Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twiga Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.