We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a quiet quarter of Arusha” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel
Save
You added The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
102 Vijana Road | PO Box 409, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 73 Arusha B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a quiet quarter of Arusha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

- Very friendly and helpfull staff
- Rooms spacious and clean, with everything you might need (good & clean showers, fly screen
in front of the windows)
- EXCELLENT food (don't miss to try out the pancakes in the morning !!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the bay leaf boutique hotel on TripAdvisor and for your feedback.

At the bay leaf, we take great pride in the services we offer and it is feedback from our guests, which assist us to strive for excellence.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the bay leaf boutique hotel.

Thank you,
Mayur Margamwar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
34
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, and it was an excellent hotel. Very good food, awesome shower, very clean rooms. The employees were very polite and friendly. Our safari guide likes their box lunch the best! You can walk to the Maasai market, but it is a bit of a hike.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing the bay leaf boutique hotel on TripAdvisor and for your feedback.

At the bay leaf, we take great pride in the services we offer and it is feedback from our guests, which assist us to strive for excellence.

We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the bay leaf boutique hotel.

Thank you,
Mayur Margamwar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked to stay at the Bay Leaf for two nights at the beginning and end of our safari in the Serengeti. From the moment we sent the first email enquiring about the hotel we received an immediate reply. The quick responses to all our emails continued in a very professional and friendly manner.

Arriving at the hotel just in time for lunch we dined outside on the patio which is a real sun-trap especially nice as the weather in Arusha was pretty cool during July. The food is lovely with the Chef preparing a special Indian starter for my partner as he just loves Indian cuisine. The Bay Leaf also has a good wine list at very reasonable prices.

The rooms are chic and stylish with each room design carefully thought-out. They are spacious with large double beds, all mod-cons and more than adequate bathrooms. We stayed in the Open suite with its own private balcony on our first night and to our delight on our return we were upgraded to the Sydney suite which was just wonderful. Dinner that evening was fantastic and we made the most of the late checkout allowing us to have a very relaxing breakfast.

The food has great flavours and is very tasty, all the staff are friendly and Mayur is an extremely helpful and welcoming manager. Even looked after a few of our belongings which did not want to take on safari with us. The little departure gift we received was a very nice touch. We would highly recommend staying and dining at the Bay Leaf. We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the bay leaf and for your kind recommendation.

We believe that it is delighted guests, such as yourself, who are our best ambassadors. I am glad that you have taken back such pleasant memories of the hotel, particularly the rooms, the food and service.

It is our constant endeavour to create a truly memorable experience for our guests and I hope that our distinctive product and service will tempt you to return and experience more.

Thank you.
Mayur Margamwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just wanted to add to all the other excellent reviews.
The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Large bathrooms and showers always had plenty of hot water.
Mayur the manager is really friendly and so accommodating, going out of his way to help. All the staff are friendly and very welcoming.

As has been mentioned, the food is delicious. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Cairan,

Greetings from Bay leaf boutique hotel!!!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your visit at Bay leaf boutique hotel.

We are delighted to read your review following your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed the facilities, décor and the service provided by our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,

Mayur Margamwar
General Manager
Bay leaf boutique hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

In January, my husband and I stayed here before the start of our safari. I can't say enough good things about this hotel, the staff and the food. It is a beautiful small hotel on a quiet street. We dined outside on the patio and under the pavilion. The food was extremely good and the entire staff was so pleasant . The manager, Vikas, went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful stay. If you are in Arusha, this is THE place to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just returned from an 8-day safari to Tanzania. We stayed at the Bay Leaf for the first and last night of the safari, and couldn't have asked for a better place. Free wifi to check and arrange last-minute details, great food, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, General Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the bay leaf and for your kind recommendation.

We believe that it is delighted guests, such as yourself, who are our best ambassadors. I am glad that you have taken back such pleasant memories of the hotel, particularly the rooms, the food and service.

It is our constant endeavour to create a truly memorable experience for our guests and I hope that our distinctive product and service will tempt you to return and experience more.

Thank you.
Mayur Margamwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a really nice place. Set back from the main road is this little oasis.

The warm welcome from the attentive and gracious managers and staff was a prelude to a wonderful experience.

The rooms are quite large with an enormous bed, little desk, flat screen TV, cupboards, fridge, good sized en-suite bathroom with rainwater shower, and bath robes. Even a 240V power converter plug is provided.

They have their own generator, although we did not need it, and lovely garden area out front to enjoy a drink or a meal. We had dinner here and the service was good and the meal quite acceptable and reasonably priced.

Masur the manager and his lovely wife are at all times eager to ensure your stay is memorable.

There is free wifi throughout which is a real plus.

Room Tip: Change money with the money changers in the city for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayur M, General Manager at The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the bay leaf and for your kind recommendation.

We believe that it is delighted guests, such as yourself, who are our best ambassadors. I am glad that you have taken back such pleasant memories of the hotel, particularly the rooms, the food and service.

It is our constant endeavour to create a truly memorable experience for our guests and I hope that our distinctive product and service will tempt you to return and experience more.

Thank you.
Mayur Margamwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel

Address: 102 Vijana Road | PO Box 409, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against a backdrop of the majestic Mount Meru, The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel is nestled in the tranquil leafy ‘corridor’ area of Arusha, Tanzania. Exquisitely decorated rooms with finely appointed bathrooms ensure comfort with style. Gourmet breakfasts are served in immaculate lush gardens and The Bay Leaf boasts a Fine Dining Restaurant, where one can sample a fusion of international & local cuisine. The Bay Leaf is ideally situated; walking distance to banks & all the main attractions that Arusha has to offer. Massage & extensive beauty treatments will be offered from December 2009 after the completion of the Spa. The Bay Leaf aims to be the best small luxury hotel in Arusha, with unmatched personalized service, and attention to detail. Personalized service tailored to individual needs will certainly please both the discerning traveler and dining connoisseur alike. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Leaf Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.