We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Via Via Cafe - Arusha

Via Via Cafe - Arusha
Boma road, Arusha, Tanzania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 77 Restaurants in Arusha
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Thule
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Have been there a few times during the last years.
Good food, and nice place, away from town.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

During our trip to Arusha, Tanzania, my wife and I had lunch at the Via Via Cafe with our friend Tara from Canada and our local friend Ezekiel Lobulu. We opted for the salad buffet (about $6.50 per person) plus soft drinks. There were 7 or 8 different salads, all fresh and all excellent (including a very good "leafy" salad - a rarity in Arusha). Service was quick, and the location (near a museum) was central. I'd recommend this for a quick bite while exploring the town. The restaurant also features a small outdoor amphitheatre where local musicians play at night.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A tasty steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The menu is very limited but we enjoyed a tasty steak.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“for a real coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

ideally situated small place in the centre of Arusha. Coffee is great, real espresso's, fruit juices are freshly made, iall good. Chairs are somewhat uncomfortable, but you don't stay there for hours!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for Thursday night disco... the cafe itself just so so.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Via Via has a great vibe and as a cafe its just ok. My best times to go there are on Thursday nights when other young volunteers and local people join together on Via Via's dance floor. Its a fun time for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Via Cafe - Arusha also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Via Via Cafe - Arusha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Via Via Cafe - Arusha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.