We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Suprising Treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sazan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sazan
Old Moshi Rd. | Sports Ground Area, Arusha, Tanzania
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 77 Restaurants in Arusha
Restaurant details
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Suprising Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

For a long time, I was skeptical of Japanese food in Arusha, far from any water bodies or fresh fish. I recently traveled to Japan and had high expectations of authentic Japanese food, so this was a surprising treat! Don't expect much in the way of fresh fish, but the rolls with smoked salmon are quite nice. The udon and ramen noodle bowls are great, and if you like tofu, try the menu set that is "Kind to the Body" which is made up of a variety of delicious tofu dishes. The location is right on the main drag in Arusha and not much between you and passers by, so security is a bit questionable -- don't bring your valuables.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

very nice japanese restaurant in town. the setting does not look promising but the food is delicious, kitchen is clean and waiters and kitchen attendants very well trained. possible to eat different dishes and not just sushi and they are all very good. tofu is homemade daily. great place at great value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Best sushi I have had in Arusha! They also have a delicious tofu dish!!

There isn't many options for vegetarians. Their drinks menu is pretty short as well. They have nice outdoor and indoor seating. Also there is a cute local cat!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in heart of Arusha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon this charming Sushi/Japanese restaurant near the Clock Tower. Could not have been more pleasantly surprised by the quality of the sushi, charm of the decor, as well as sushi chefs and waitresses. Would eat here again and again, and wish it was located in our Los Angeles neighborhood.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were initially a bit skeptical about eating sushi in Arusha, however decided to give it a go at Sazan Restaurant anyway. And I’m glad we did.

The sushi was very good, all fresh ingredients. We had both prawn and salmon sushi which was tasty and well made.

The Gyoza were ok, not the best we’ve had but good considering where you are. We also had a tempura platter which was good, but a bit overpriced for what was mostly vegetables only. Still it was ok.

If you are craving Japanese and sushi in Arusha, definitely give Sazan a go.

http://postcardsfromeastafrica.blogspot.com/2012/07/arusha-and-climbing-mount-kilimanjaro.html

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sazan also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Sazan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sazan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.