We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon Pearl

Dragon Pearl
Old Moshi Rd, Kijenge, Arusha, Tanzania
254 4107
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 71 restaurants in Arusha
Restaurant details
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very fast service, great tasting chinese cuisine with good portions. Very reasonable. We went out with colleagues from our conference on our penultimate night in Arusha, the bill was a fraction of what we would pay in the UK!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    4
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Chinese rest I have been too and could compete even in USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Clean food and place. Louie the owner who is Chinese makes great food. Excellent service. I try to go here often. Tell Louie hi. Yes, the Chinese are even in Africa. Place would hold its own even in the USA with the food quality.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Reasonable food at a reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We spent our last night in Tanzania at the Dragon Pearl restaurant, with our friends, safari drivers and Kilimanjaro guide. We had recently eaten at the Chinese restaurant in the New Dodoma Hotel in Dodoma. The Dragon Pearl was good, but not as good as the restaurant in Dodoma.

Food was served fast and hot, but the sauces were a bit overpowering and the flavor was not as good. For a Chinese restaurant in Africa, however, it was quite good. Our favorite items on the menu: Schezuan beef and prawns in soy sauce and lemon.

Total cost for 8 of us was under 90,000 Tsh, so about $7 US per person.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Louis has the best Chinese retaurant, possibly in the world!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I think consistency is one of the hardest things when trying to operate a restaurant and Dragon Pearl has been really consistent for the last 10 years that I've been eating there. The food comes out fast, and I mean really fast and it's always super tasty. The location moved up next to gymkhana club on Hailie Salasse Road and next door is Vama which is an Indian Restaurant, so great to have great choices in Arusha. Getting there from Arusha town hotel is easy enough as most taxis will know the place but if in doubt just ask for Gymkhana on Haile Salasse and it should be easy enough.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

When this place first opened, food used to be very good. Steady decline ever since. Chickens wondering in the car park. All the meat tastes like chicken! Rubbery. No take away boxes, all dumped in plastic bag sauces included. Last but not least a couple of food poisoning incidents.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Pearl also viewed

Arusha, Arusha Region
 
Arusha, Arusha Region
Arusha, Arusha Region
 

Been to Dragon Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.