We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Anytime Preferred Hotel in Arusha” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The African Tulip

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The African Tulip to your Saves list
The African Tulip
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44/1 Serengeti Road, Arusha POB 50, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Arusha
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
“My Anytime Preferred Hotel in Arusha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Am a Bank executive and quite busy but extremely particular in hotels to stay in. The African Tulip has been my choice hotel since 2008. It's quiet, convinient, very friendly staff, decent place and dignified. Security of my stuff in the room is a priority & I've never complained.
Clean? very! Professional? to the dote.

Keep it up guys, you are my home in Arusha, any day, any time, any season.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    97
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
112
162
29
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Neumunster, Germany
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The service is not only excellent and professional the staff are all extremely friendly and welcoming. The room is probably the best we've seen in Arusha so far, clean, large and very comfortable with an excellent bed. It is located in a nice quiet part of Arusha just outside of the city centre yet close enough to even walk into town. The breakfast is something other hotels need to copy as we haven't found another that matches it. Free Internet would be a bonus however this is not enough to discourage us from returning as often as we can.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We are coming on a regular basis for business to Arusha. And coming from the rural area in Tanzania the hospitality, the spirit and the warm welcoming in The African Tulip is always a retreat for us.
Thank you for all the service you are providing. From the porter, to the reception to the management. From the waitresses to the Chefs. Thank you to all of you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed at the hotel at the start of our Tanzanian safari. The hotel is very close to the Arusha NP. Hotel is in a quiet street away from traffic but still close to the centre of town.

Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Restaurant was very good and staff attentive and friendly. We were greeted by the manager and we well cared for during our 2 night stay.

I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Arusha.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We returned to the African Tulip for a one night stay in early May. It is located on a side street adjacent to the Roy Safaris headquarters and is a bit “upscale” by Tanzania standards. It was quiet and comfy after our long flight. The breakfast buffet was varied and fine fare for our first meal in Tanzania. Passion fruit juice, cold cereal, baked beans, fried potatoes, bacon, sautéed veggies, beef and toast (and other pastries) plus coffee and tea got us going. The eggs were not quite ready as we were a bit early. A light rain kept us from fully enjoying the sunbirds and others around the pool and grounds. I noted the exchange rate was 1,400 tshillings for $1.00US. Laundry services were available (ex, 3,500 tsh for pr of trousers, 3,500 for a shirt). As part of our program we had lunch there on our way thru Arusha two weeks later while en-route to Mkomazi NP. Seemed a while for our meal to come but what a feast with soup, salad, roll, main course (schnitzel-style pork, veggies and French fries) and ice cream for dessert! We would certainly stay there again. The African Tulip is quaint. Staff is personable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Me and my wife stayed at African Tulip for two nights in April, 2011 . Hotel lobby was very clean beyond expectations, Rooms were extremely comfortable and clean . At the time of Check In reception staff was great in quick check In and briefed about other hotel services, found very professional.Enjoyed excellent candle light fusion buffet dinner in Baobab Restaurant on very special price. We really slept very well after a long jouney. Next day morning we had a great buffet breakfast with excellent service with smile and then we proceed to our safari. I personally Thanks a lot to all Staff and service of African Tulip hotel to make our trip memorable and congrats to all African Tulip team for providing the Best Hospitality. We will definately recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

The location of this hotel is perfect, and the room I stayed in was really good, with almost 180 degree panoramic balcony and views. The airline had lost my suitcase and the Reception staff did their best to assist in its relocation - and kept me up to date with progress. I really appreciated this! My only complaint was that breakfast was advertised as starting at 07h00 but in reality was only really fully functional by 07h45. I mentioned this in my "feedback" form and received a detailed, personalized response, which makes me believe that it will be addressed. I will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The African Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The African Tulip

Address: 44/1 Serengeti Road, Arusha POB 50, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arusha
#1 Business Hotel in Arusha
#1 Family Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The African Tulip 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African Tulip is Arusha's premier boutique hotel providing first-class western luxury with outstanding facilities, personalized service and warm hospitality in a convenient location. The 'Zanzibar lounge & bar' is an ideal meeting place; The Baobab restaurant serves an excellent range of cuisine; 'The Serengeti' Pool & Bar is a fantastic place to relax. Additional facilities include a business centre, conference room & gift shops. It truly is Chic. Unique. and Authentically African. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The African Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The African Tulip Hotel Arusha
African Tulip Arusha
African Tulip Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The African Tulip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.