We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for stop over, clean, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivertrees Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Rivertrees Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivertrees Country Inn
near Usa-River village, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Arusha
Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good location for stop over, clean, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We know how tired we are after flying from the US into Africa so we stay for one night in Arusha to reset our internal clocks before Safari started and this was our first time at Rivertrees. We arrived too late for dinner but found the breakfast very good, the room was clean, bug free, comfortable bed, the grounds were scenic for photos, and there was a pool if you have kids with you that like to swim (we were only there for sleeping then out in the morning). It was 302. per night for two ppl including breakfast and dinner so we thought that was pretty reasonable even though we didn't have the dinner. I would return here as a stopover hotel again.

Room Tip: Find out times of dinner if you plan to eat when you arrive so if you arrive too late they can set s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    50
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
30
70
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Rivertrees is a gem of a place. We stayed 3 nights to get adjusted to time zones before safari. The location is ideal for visits to Arusha National Park and day trips to Arusha for shopping or Moshi to see Kilimanjaro.

They have delicious food and quiet cottages in a lovely setting - A throw back to former colonial estate times. Rivertrees is great value. We all enjoyed the stay so much and could have happily stayed and relaxed for a week.

Francis, a student trainee, took care of us at meals and we throughly enjoyed him. While all the staff was kind and helpful, Francis made us feel extra welcome.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms. Single room cottages and little houses for groups or families. All a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very nice rustic hotel 45 minutes drive from Kilimanjaro Airport. Ask for one of the cottages along the river. The sound of rushing water will lull you to sleep. Very nice staff. Wonderful pizzas baked in an outdoor domed oven. 10 acres of secure grounds and landscaping.
Only item to beware of, no hair dryers in the room. You can use one for $5.00 US. A little tacky based on the room cost. Also put all tips in the common tip box. That way everybody shares. Great place to stay overnight if departing on a flight from JRO. To far from Arusha if departing from there. A unique place to stopover.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Guests commonly stay just one night coming from any distant place to have a night rest and leave to a safari, a beach or back home. It is perfect for this purpose. Good installations, friendly staff, good food, a beautiful place full of centennial trees, and a marvelous breakfast in the open air if you want. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived with 4 hours of delay at 1 AM local time. We had a very nice welcome. The place is wonderful, personnel is excellent, food is very good. The room was spacious and very clean. All amenities were in great conditions.
Thank you ALL!

Room Tip: It is somewhat isolated. If you don't have a car, not much else to do then enjoy the place. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The perfect place to spend the first (or last) night of a safari trip (or indded longer....). No excitement (definitely not 'the bush') but very relaxing with beautiful gardens. As with every place we've stayed on safaris to 6 different countries over 10 years, Pulse Africa (our superg travel agents) got this one just right!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We ended up with one more night here than we had originally planned due to plane schedules. I'm glad we did. It was a very relaxing way to ease into the new time zone and get our bearings. We could hear the Usa River right outside all night long. I wish there was a way to have the windows open to hear it better, but with mosquitoes, it wouldn't have been our smartest decision.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was huge and spacious. The shower had plenty of hot water. The property was clean and well maintained and felt secure.

Dinners were good. Not cheap but we only got one dinner included with our stay since we weren't sure what we'd feel like doing after a long plane flight. What we paid for dinner felt about right for a similar quality dinner at home.

The prices are high for rooms here. It seems okay until you hear that the quoted price is per person. If not for our booking agent, we would have chosen somewhere else. Ultimately, I'm glad we stayed here, but if I were doing this again, price might win out over beauty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rivertrees Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertrees Country Inn

Address: near Usa-River village, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivertrees lies nestled in the foothills of Mount Meru, in view of Mount Kilimanjaro. This peaceful country estate combines old-world ambience, African country elegance, excellent farm cuisine, personal service and genuine warmth from your hosts.The inn offers tranquility enhanced with contemporary conveniences, ideal for rejuvenation following stressful overseas travel or deep relaxation after a long safari or strenuous climb up Mount Kilimanjaro or Mount Meru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rivertrees Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertrees Country Hotel Arusha
Arusha Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivertrees Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.