We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for backpackers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ujamaa Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ujamaa Hostel
Save
You added Ujamaa Hostel to your Saves list
Arusha, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Ljubljana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great for backpackers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

The hostel is in walking distance from one of the most turistic parts of Arusha, meaning banks, shops, restaurant and touts on the reach of the hand. Hostel itself has home-like ambience, hosts mostly long term backpackers and biggest plus is that it has very nice staff and guests. Dont expect luxury, it has shared bathrooms, but all in all great experience if u are backpacker by hearth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
10
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Located right in the heart of Arusha, Ujamaa is the friendliest and best-equipped hostel I've ever stayed in. With a beautiful view of Mount Meru, it's safe, homely and Seraphina and the girls create the tastiest food. I stayed for seven week and volunteered at Dymphna Special School, which was the experience of a lifetime and I can't wait to return. Ujamaa was the perfect place to return to after a long day of teaching - with hot showers, chilled drinks and a hearty meal, you'll be the envy of other volunteers in Arusha whilst paying the smallest price!

Room Tip: The girls' dorm is great for women travelling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I've been coming back to Ujamaa hostel for a number of years and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Arusha! Its a great, friendly and fun enviroment, food is awesome, the staff are fantastic and the whole experience is brilliant! Its the best way to volunteer abroad and allows you to get volunteer experience without paying extortionate rates. Couldn't recommend it more, the owner, Carley is pretty fit too!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

Awesome hostel. Very friendly, hard working and polite staff. Breakfast and dinner included. Good value for money. I stayed for a month there and had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton, england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had a great time at the Ujamaa recently,staying there as volunteers on our first trip to beautiful Tanzania.The hostel is comfortable and well-equipped, with a gorgeous garden and views of Mt Meru.The food is good and plentiful and we were looked after amazingly by the lovely girls who work there and sing all day long! Although we were the oldest by far, the other residents were lovely and we had lots of fun together, culminating in a night "on the town" before we left for safari.
The volunteers project we chose was the Dympna special school-- a brilliant, happy school ,which well deserves support and will remain in our hearts.We also helped with a picnic by the nearby river for street -boys and all had a brilliant time.
Shanga, a work-centre for deaf people, who create wonderful items out of recycled materials, is worth a visit -- go for lunch too-its yummy.

Room Tip: Book a bottom bunk, if you are "older", or you may be faced with a climb! The "girls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

A great place to stay. Great location, great staff, great volunteer program, great owners, Carley and Gasper, for initiating the hostel and volunteer program and expect to have a GREAT time while staying at Ujamaa Hostel, Arusha!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

An excellent hostel, ideally located close to the city, with friendly staff, delicious food and comfy beds-with mosi nets. And for those seeking something more, fantastic links to volunteer projects, that really do make a difference! Asante.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ujamaa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ujamaa Hostel

Address: Arusha, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ujamaa Hostel is for volunteers and travellers and is located in Arusha, Tanzania. We provide fun, safe, affordable accommodation where you can meet like-minded people, check out the Tanzanian culture and spend time volunteering in the local community if you want to. We welcome short-term visitors and travellers to the hostel for 1 night or more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ujamaa Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ujamaa Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.