We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kia Lodge to your Saves list
Kia Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Next to Kilamanjaro Airport | P. O. Box 11297, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So disappointed!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in the Kia lodge before and after our trip to Mount Kilimanjaro. Before we left we were told that we can leave everything at the lodge as the room would be locked and it would be safer then taking it up the mountain.

Unfortunately this was not the case as at least 5 people in our group had things stolen from their luggage including, money, phone, rings and watches. For a hotel like this you would expect your luggage to be safe.

We reported it to the manager who was rude and very unhelpful. Trying to blame us.

I found this with quite a few other things such a big shame as the Kia Lodge has such huge potential. The swimming pool area could be really nice... If they cleaned the pool out. The restaurant could be really nice.... If the staff were not rude and made you feel you have asked them to run to the other side of the world. The food could be amazing.... if it didnt give over half your group diarrhoea. The rooms could be gorgeous.... If the air con worked and they were clean.

Don't get me wrong I fully understand that this is a 3rd world country, but things that I described above can be changed, rudeness can be changed, keeping a room safe and locked to look after your stuff can be changed.

Would I go back here....
Tanzania - yes yes yes

Kia Lodge - NO WAY!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moivarolodgescamps, Public Relations Manager at Kia Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear DJedave,

I have also written an extended reply to your friend Sam P., concerning the same case so I guess don't have to go and repeat myself. But as I said earlier, we are truly very sorry for the loss of your belongings, while your bags were stored in our luggage room. We regret this incident very much, and we ware doing everything in our power to prevent this from ever happening again. We understand that is is a very unwarming welcome after you've climbed the Mt. Kilimanjaro, and we can see how this incident has influenced your overall experience of our lodge.

We are doing all we can to keep up the level of quality and service at our lodge, but unfortunately sometimes we too are struck by surprise. We are very sorry that your group had to be involved in this matter, and once again we apologise from the management of KIA Lodge for this incident. We are taking this issue very seriously and are currently reconsidering all the necessary precautions to make sure this will never happen again to the luggage of our clients.

Regards,

The KIA Lodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    73
    79
    46
    21
See reviews for
53
85
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cartmel, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Well ........
For £130 per night for a single room
I would expect something of at least holiday inn standard
But oh no
A few points to keep in mind
You will find no pillow or mattress protectors here my friend
Not wanting to be at the mercy of any critters i slept on a towel for pillow and mattress
Very basic accommodation a la 2 star
Breakfast dire ,

However it is the closest hotel to the airport and probably your only option
Other local hotels may be even worse
Do your own research
And good luck

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed one night after long flight to avoid night driving to Arusha. Free transfer from airport was included. The cabins are ok, not luxurious. The breakfast was good but had to be shared with million flies. The hotel is a bit pricey compared to Arusha hotels. Staff is friendly and helpful.
No problems with aircraft noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is located in the backyard of the airport so it's perfect for a one night stay if you arrive late and are not familiar with the area. If it is not foggy you can catch a glimpse of Kilimanjaro.

The rooms are alright, a little rough on the edges, but with some nice furniture. Our mosquito nets had some holes in them; fortunately, we didn't get bitten.

Food is average.

I'm not sure of the price of the hotel specifically because we paid for our hotels as part of our personalized safari package, but I understand that it can be pricey if you book it separately.

A reasonable option for your first night stay in an unknown area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Before writing my review I read some others and I just don't get them. The plus points for Kia Lodge, close to airport, good views, lots of interesting birds.

Thankfully my family did not stay here. The rooms are very basic true, but the bed linens, pillows and towels were horrible. Reminded me of staying in Africa 20 years ago. The lunchtime food was inedible and there was a real fly problem.

We were there for 7 hours whilst waiting for our flight and sat mainly by the pool and bar area. If you are staying for any length of time I recommend that you have a day room as the changing facilities are three dark dingy toiltets with no lights and nowhere to rest your belongings other than the less than clean floor.

At the pool we watched people come and go, the staff come by quickly and refold the used towels and put them back on the sun loungers. Which explained their dirty state.

I personally would not return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Fabulous hotel for what is actuallyan airport hotel, a few minutes from Kilimanjaro airport.

Don't be put off by state of some vehicles that pick you up one was not the best and one was very tidy the short journey means it's not a problem.

Rooms are very good and service in the hotel especially the restaurant is excellent.

Food was a pleasant surpise, very tasty.

Excellent pool

Overall a great stay both times

Room Tip: Had higher numbers second time around ours was room 37 , a lot further from reception but no great h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Nederland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nice place if there's power. Because of the power cut there was no airco, internet, many food on menu not available and still charging the full price. This with a generator available and not used. Bad service, food simple and overpriced. Pool and bar were nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kia Lodge

Address: Next to Kilamanjaro Airport | P. O. Box 11297, Arusha, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kia Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to KIA Lodge, ‘your door to Tanzania’ at less than 5 minutesdrive from Kilimanjaro International Airport. The lodge is situated on a secluded hill in the heart of beautiful savannah scenery that is so typical for East Africa. Guests can admire the vast views of the African plains and of course the grand Kilimanjaro Mountain that shows her snowy top mostly in the morning and at sundown.Because of its location, the KIA Lodge is an ideal safe haven for arriving and departing Tanzania,climbing the Kilimanjaro or traveling on to the northern safari destinations. The friendly service, Zanzibar style reception, typical African decorations, and tropical restaurant offer a warm welcome to into the Tanzanian culture. Drink a Kilimanjaro beer in the open bar, enjoy over a hundred species of birds in the savannah garden, or relax at our hilltop swimming pool with great views of Mt Kilimanjaro, Mt Meru, the Blue Mountains and the Maasai plains all around.At KIA lodge we will ensure that you are looked after in a unique friendly and peaceful environment, helping you to prepare for your safaris or climbs and cosseting you on your arrival or return home. With our beautiful gardens we can honestly boast the fact that we are not just an airport hotel but also a true lodge where you can immediately get a real taste of Africa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Kia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kia Hotel Moshi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.