We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start point for Mount Kilimanjaro trek” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outpost Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outpost Lodge
Save
You added Outpost Lodge to your Saves list
37A Serengeti Road | P O Box 11520, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 73 Arusha B&B and Inns
Beauly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Start point for Mount Kilimanjaro trek”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here for two days before I climbed Mount Kilimanjaro and a day after.

I arrived late at night and there was someone at reception to check me in & help carry the bags to my room. The room was basic but functional, and had all the amenities I required. I was on a backpacking trip so I wasn't looking for luxurious surroundings. The room could have benefitted from some renovation, the door didn't fit properly and there was a large gap underneath it that a small animal could have fitted through so I didn't feel particularly secure. Also the wifi service which was advertised was not available in my room, though the people next door could get it. I also had no hot water in the shower for the first two days, though I did in the basin.

I had a different room after the climb and it was much better. The door fitted properly, the room was better furnished and I had lots of hot water. I also got wifi in this room.

What you cannot escape in this establishment is the howling of the neighbourhood dogs at night . All three nights I stayed the nearby dogs howled and barked all night, so sleeping soundly was therefore ruled out and it made the area seem slightly intimidating.

I never used the pool so can't comment on that though I did see someone cleaning it every day. I also left luggage here while I climbed Kilimanjaro and it was held in a secure place and labelled etc.

The food at the B&B's cafe, Cafe Mambo, was good and the service was very reasonable. Our food arrived fairly quickly after being ordered and was hot and tasty. The menu was extensive and catered for all dietary requirements, prices were very reasonable and the staff were very pleasant.

Given I wasn't on a trip where I expected luxury then the accommodation was perfectly adequate and acceptable for my purpose.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    142
    51
    12
    5
See reviews for
40
102
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The outpost lodge is used as a starting point for safaris or expeditions to Kilimanjaro. We stayed there for one night at the start and one night at the end of our safari. The rooms are very basic, reasonably clean but not well maintained. We waited for an hour after ordering food before it arrived and even then they got it wrong. When you rely on tour operators to book accommodation you are really at their mercy unless you know the area. I would not go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that is not overlooking the kitchen area or you will get little sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Outpost lodge for 3 nights during our recent trip to Tanzania. It was a good and safe option to stay in Arusha and better than some of the other lodges we looked at, though nothing really special. The rooms were nice and clean. The bathroom was clean and big. Basic amenities were provided. Staff was quite helpful and helped us find rooms even though they has some issues with our booking dates. The restaurant food and service were okay. The wifi connection was spotty though. So overall a pleasant experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was probably the worst lodge we have visited during our stay in Tanzania.
The room was ok but it needed some renovation. The service at the restaurant was very slow (more than 1 hour to get our food and the restaurant was almost empty), when the food came was so poor that even if we were hungry we left it almost untouched. The morning breakfast was particularly cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auvers-sur-Oise, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this hotel after climbing mt Kili. The staff was really nice and helpful especially after I had broken my arm during the trek.
It is situated in a quiet and safe area , not too far from the city centre.
The room are quite large and nice . The garden is really beautiful. and there is a small swimming pool.
Considering what you usually pay for a room in South Africa, the Outpost lodge is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Outpost Lodge was booked by Team Kilimanjaro for my climb of the Mountain. I am very pleased with this choice of accommodation. The Lodge is clean, friendly and with good security. The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. There is a restaurant/bar which serves good food and drinks. Breakfast with an omelette bar is included. It is full of fellow climbers to swap stories. The Lodge is a great value for a very modest price and I'm happy I stayed here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a nice little place....pool, nice bungalow rooms, good food and good service. The service people went above and beyond and we were very pleased with the place....stayed 3 nights. Great place to stay if you are going to or coming back from climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro.

Room Tip: The bungalows are nicer than rooms in the old section
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outpost Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outpost Lodge

Address: 37A Serengeti Road | P O Box 11520, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unpretentious, and truly 'value for money'. Clean and safe, beautiful tropical surroundings with quiet relaxed atmosphere... bar, restaurant, cafe, free wifi, laundry service, and free safe bagage store while on safari. A home away from home in true East African style. 20 minute walk from the downtown, satellite TV, genuine cafe and friendly helpful staff... welcome - Karibu sana! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Outpost Hotel Arusha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outpost Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.