We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a night or two” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arusha Crown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arusha Crown Hotel
Save
You added Arusha Crown Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makongoro Road, P. O. Box 854, Arusha, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a night or two”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We spent there two nights: one before and one after our safari.

The rooms were clean and good size. They also have free wi-fi in the lobby.

The breakfast was very basic, but OK. The restaurant had a good choice in the menu and the served food was good.

Staff was very helpful and kind. They're a big plus of that hotel.

Generally the hotel could be recommended for a short stay if you’re not too fussy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
16
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

The hotel is a good option for an overnight stay before/after a safari at Serengeti/Ngorongoro. The rooms are clean and modern though the lower floor ones at the front may be noisy over the main road. Arusha doesnt have many 'must see' attractions and the hotel is at the top end of the town centre about a 15 minute walk from the clock tower. You'll probably need a taxi to get back if you go out at night (the roads arent well lit and there are quite a few holes). The breakfast at the hotel was ok and a plus point was that they let us leave a bag there while we went on safari (we stayed the night before and the night we got back). One small criticism was that the reception staff weren't what you'd call friendly. Efficient enough but never smiling and seemed a bit bored. In summary, a good clean option for an overnight stay but you wouldnt want to spend much longer in Arusha.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The North, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed here having travelled overland from Nairobi. It was just a single night as a jump off point for a 6 night safari. The hotel is immaculately clean, and cool. Our room had no aircon but or fan, but was cool because of a fantastic ventilation system and the buildings design. However it is situated between 3 mosques, and there is no escaping the sound of the call to prayer at daybreak. Not the start of the day we were hoping for.

It is however very convienient for Khans Barbeque garage. You must eat there if your only there for the one night.

Was great as a jump of point, but better hotels if staying in Arusha after a Safari of Killi Trek and need a little budget pampering and clean shower

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — The noise, not the alarm call you want on holiday
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed in a double deluxe room in the Arusha Crown Hotel. It cost $78 per night (for 2 people) including breakfast. Breakfast was sufficent and included toast, eggs, fruit, juice, and coffee/tea. The deluxe part meant that we had an extra room that contained a small mini fridge but nothing else. I think the difference in price between the deluxe and normal was minimal (~$5 extra per night) and that is why we book it. It was clean and safe. It is about a 10 min walk from the more "touristy" side of town, which was nice because we did not get hassled by people selling tours or souvenirs every time we left the hotel. The only complaints I had was that the front desk has English was limited and could not help us with directions to place. Also the shower curtain did not reach the bottom of the shower so the bathroom extremely wet after every shower.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

We used this hotel after a 7 day camping safari. We booked it as a treat ($70 BB per dbl room) and were really pleased we did as one of us wasn't feeling too great. Bright room with comfy double bed, ensuite with hot shower, TV, freestanding air conditioner. Right in the centre of town proper rather than at he centre of the tourist bit. We had a corner room with big windows (with mosquito screens). I've added some photos of the view - so although the hotel doesn't have an African feel, you're right in the middle of things (don't be put off, Arusha's great and feels friendly and safe and it was nice watching the footie training). Photos of the rooms on their website are accurate. Good restaurant with huge portions (as usual it seems for Tanzania) and nice breakfast.
There are cheaper more rustic places to stay in Arusha that are perfectly great but this was great as a treat!

  • Liked — location, luxury!, service
  • Disliked — no real African atmosphere
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arusha Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arusha Crown Hotel

Address: Makongoro Road, P. O. Box 854, Arusha, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Arusha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arusha Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arusha Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.