We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the 70-80's hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taoyuan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taoyuan Hotel to your Saves list
Taoyuan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.269 Dahshing Road, Taoyuan City, Taoyuan, Taiwan (Formerly Taoyuan International Tourist)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Taoyuan
South San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Welcome to the 70-80's hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It's a transit hotel, we stayed at Taipei all day before heading to this hotel. Be prepare to talk to the Taxi driver if you can't speak mandarin. Get their address in chinese characters and ph# from their website incase you use this hotel. I speak just average mandarin and Hokkien, at least it got me and my friend to the hotel after being refused by first taxi driver.

Hotel is aged, its like you're visiting your old grandma/grandpa house.
Stale feelin, bed is not that great, but quite roomy.
The water pressure in shower room is great. The toilet is a vintage.
Nowdays there are not many hotels that being kept and well maintained, so while in Taipei, if you want to experience staying in 70-80's hotel, do come here.

We didn't hang out outside hotel, so I don't know the surrounding.
Hotel offers service drop off to Airport, just let them know as you check in.
Their service is very friendly. I have no problem.
I have no high expectation for the price I pay, so this is a good enough hotel for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
15
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel on Aug.20, 2013 . I never requested for a king-size bed, yet , they gave me that and overcharged me for a king-size bed. Room was old and not so clean.
Internet problem in the room even after asking so many times, finally I had to go down to the lobby to use my tablet.
The receptionist at the check-in counter was unfriendly.
Breakfast restaurant was dirty. The waiters only removed the used dishes but left the crumbs on the tables. Breakfast food was lousy; water, thee, and coffee were stored in old buckets which looked like picnic buckets that made me wonder how clean they were.

I definitely not recommend this hotel.
Weeks before, I stayed at Novotel by the airport; this was a great hotel for just a few $$ more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaoyuanHotel, 經理 at Taoyuan Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir:

Please accept my apologies for the things that make you uncomfortable,

as you can see,our hotel is going gradually renovated at this moment,

trying to improve the environment in our hotel,and the internet problem

I've asked our front staff,at that day, whole buildng had internet problem,

except first floor's wifi,the next day,engineer find out the line which

connecting the host computer are loose,so they fix it,please forgive the

inconvenience.

For the room charge,please allow me to explain it,actually we followed the

reservation list from your reservation ,which you made this booking by yourself-

"one Deluxe King Room,room charge ",is shows on the list,so

we follow the list to charge you, so we do not overcharged you for a king-size bed. sorry about that.
The restaurant are renovated at this moment too,so the 2F restaurant are

temporarily to use,but we can't deny there are many things for improvement,

thank you for telling us the this inadequate about our Hotel,Sincerely hope that we

have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed there for a week. The decoration is in chinese style.The room was clean and well-maintenance. The breakfast is so so for both chinese and international. Reception and Concierge desk was helpful and provide information you need. The hotel locates a bit away from downtown. Taoyuan Train station is about 4 Kms. away and cost NTD 145 (USD 5.00) a trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel because the Novotel Taipei near Taoyuan International Airport was fully booked. To be honest, we were a bit worried after reading some of the negative reviews. The hotel proved indeed to be a bit outdated (especially the bathroom) but the place was clean. I personally prefer a clean room above an unclean one with a new interior.

For us the most important downside to the hotel was its location almost 30 minutes away from Taoyuan airport. Also the hotel is not very conveniently located if you want to visit downtown Taipei (before travelling to the city we wanted to store our luggage at the airport fist so we wouldn’t have to go by this hotel on the way back). The free shuttle service worked fine.

Breakfast was mainly focused on Taiwanese people. Not something we preferred (but I suppose this has to do with personal taste).

Lastly I can say this hotel was quite alright for a one night stay and not nearly as bad as we thought it would be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, España
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I went to the hotel as a layover the night before flying from Taipei international airport.

They have complimentary shuttle to/from the train station and to/from the airport, so it worked out great for my little visit to Taipei before the flight and my early morning flight.

It's a big old hotel, that would probably need a little remodelation, but the room was extra clean and super big and with a really nice service.

I would recomend it without a doubt

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the last night of a two week stay in Taipei. We needed a hotel close to the airport with a free shuttle. The rate was low, about 84 dollars US, and was one of the larger rooms I have ever stayed in. The hotel itself, had a fun, casino-like vibe with old –fashioned room keys, not key cards. The hotel was old, and the bathroom definitely showed its age (low shower head, peeling paint),but the bed was fine. They do offer free breakfast, but I couldn’t be temped to leave the comfortable bed.

If you stay here, lower your expectations bring wall adapters; since all the wall outlets do not have three prongs (you can borrow one from the front desk).

This area of Taoyuan looked a bit rough driving to the hotel, but there is a convenience store on the corner and a great quick-serve dumpling restaurant just across the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Staying in a non-English speaking country was scary but the staff at the Taoyuan made us feel so welcome and tried very hard to help us where the language barrier was obvious. The room was huge, like a small apartment, which was very appreciated after long days squashed on trains, in shopping centres with millions of people etc. The location wasn't ideal, located 40 mins from Taipei via bus however we did a few tours that picked up and dropped off from the hotel so it didn't worry us too much. The buffet restaurant came in handy for breakfast lunch or dinner. Particularly if you were out of cash - next to no places offer eftpos! Not even the post office or maccas! Overall, clean, friendly, spacious, thoroughly enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taoyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taoyuan Hotel

Address: No.269 Dahshing Road, Taoyuan City, Taoyuan, Taiwan (Formerly Taoyuan International Tourist)
Location: Taiwan > Taoyuan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Taoyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taoyuan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown hotel, free shuttles on demand to Taoyuan International airport and Taoyuan Monorail Train Station , a 20-minute drive away and in the Taoyuan downtown,a 30-minute car ride from Taipei. Free internet access is provided.Free access to gym and sauna. Indoor swimming poor open seasonally . Almost all rooms have two double beds or a king size bed. Spacious, Comfortable, affordable, quality lodging!Restaurants and banquet halls serving western, Chinese, and Taiwanese cuisines.For guests who wish to use the free shuttle Airport shuttle service, please make a request directly to the hotel 3 days before arrival. This service is available only from 5:30am to 12:00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Taoyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taoyuan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.