We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel with average price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taoyuan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taoyuan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Taoyuan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.269 Dahshing Road, Taoyuan City, Taoyuan, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 100 hotels in Taoyuan
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An average hotel with average price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed there for a week. The decoration is in chinese style.The room was clean and well-maintenance. The breakfast is so so for both chinese and international. Reception and Concierge desk was helpful and provide information you need. The hotel locates a bit away from downtown. Taoyuan Train station is about 4 Kms. away and cost NTD 145 (USD 5.00) a trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    26
    9
    7
See reviews for
13
11
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel because the Novotel Taipei near Taoyuan International Airport was fully booked. To be honest, we were a bit worried after reading some of the negative reviews. The hotel proved indeed to be a bit outdated (especially the bathroom) but the place was clean. I personally prefer a clean room above an unclean one with a new interior.

For us the most important downside to the hotel was its location almost 30 minutes away from Taoyuan airport. Also the hotel is not very conveniently located if you want to visit downtown Taipei (before travelling to the city we wanted to store our luggage at the airport fist so we wouldn’t have to go by this hotel on the way back). The free shuttle service worked fine.

Breakfast was mainly focused on Taiwanese people. Not something we preferred (but I suppose this has to do with personal taste).

Lastly I can say this hotel was quite alright for a one night stay and not nearly as bad as we thought it would be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, España
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I went to the hotel as a layover the night before flying from Taipei international airport.

They have complimentary shuttle to/from the train station and to/from the airport, so it worked out great for my little visit to Taipei before the flight and my early morning flight.

It's a big old hotel, that would probably need a little remodelation, but the room was extra clean and super big and with a really nice service.

I would recomend it without a doubt

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the last night of a two week stay in Taipei. We needed a hotel close to the airport with a free shuttle. The rate was low, about 84 dollars US, and was one of the larger rooms I have ever stayed in. The hotel itself, had a fun, casino-like vibe with old –fashioned room keys, not key cards. The hotel was old, and the bathroom definitely showed its age (low shower head, peeling paint),but the bed was fine. They do offer free breakfast, but I couldn’t be temped to leave the comfortable bed.

If you stay here, lower your expectations bring wall adapters; since all the wall outlets do not have three prongs (you can borrow one from the front desk).

This area of Taoyuan looked a bit rough driving to the hotel, but there is a convenience store on the corner and a great quick-serve dumpling restaurant just across the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Staying in a non-English speaking country was scary but the staff at the Taoyuan made us feel so welcome and tried very hard to help us where the language barrier was obvious. The room was huge, like a small apartment, which was very appreciated after long days squashed on trains, in shopping centres with millions of people etc. The location wasn't ideal, located 40 mins from Taipei via bus however we did a few tours that picked up and dropped off from the hotel so it didn't worry us too much. The buffet restaurant came in handy for breakfast lunch or dinner. Particularly if you were out of cash - next to no places offer eftpos! Not even the post office or maccas! Overall, clean, friendly, spacious, thoroughly enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The rooms are big and spacious but is kinda of old. We only stayed there one night as we will be flying back tomorrow and the journey to the airport is about 40 mins. No attractions around the hotel. Stay there only if you have to catch an earlier flight tomorrow,

Do take the luggage out from the coach by yourself if you have fragile items as the hotel staff just anyhow throw our luggage out from the coach. This is the only hotel that I encountered this kind of service in my whole taiwan trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stay there for one day and night. I paid around 80 us$ and was upgraded to a big big room with living room,office corner,bedroom next to the office,bathroom is big easily fit 10 adults inside. It is huge. The downside is the room is a little old,but clean. The free breakfast is so so but they have a lot of restaurants in the hotel and outside around the hotel. I enjoy my stay,the cost is cheap and I save 30$ on taxi going to the airport. A great place for your last night in Taiwan.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taoyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taoyuan Hotel

Address: No.269 Dahshing Road, Taoyuan City, Taoyuan, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taoyuan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 100 hotels in Taoyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taoyuan Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown hotel, free shuttles on demand to Taoyuan International airport and Taoyuan Monorail Train Station , a 20-minute drive away and in the Taoyuan downtown,a 30-minute car ride from Taipei. Free internet access is provided.Free access to gym and sauna. Indoor swimming poor open seasonally . Almost all rooms have two double beds or a king size bed. Spacious, Comfortable, affordable, quality lodging!Restaurants and banquet halls serving western, Chinese, and Taiwanese cuisines.For guests who wish to use the free shuttle Airport shuttle service, please make a request directly to the hotel 3 days before arrival. This service is available only from 5:30am to 12:00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, AsiaRooms, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Taoyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taoyuan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.