We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monarch Skyline Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Monarch Skyline Hotel to your Saves list
Monarch Skyline Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.108 Section 1, Nankan Road, Luzhu Town, Taoyuan 338 , Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Taoyuan
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice room and a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for a few days on a recent business trip to Taiwan. I chose this location as it was close to many of the offices I was visiting in the area, but it also seemed like a good place for pleasure visits as well. There is a mall right next door to the hotel and has many familiar boutique brands and stores. There is also an athletic complex and arcade in the basement with stores along the sides. Kind of a neat concept, but there was quite a bit of construction going on when I was there to part of the floor was inaccessible.

I checked in very early in the morning with an early check-in request and the front desk lady was very nice. She upgraded me to an executive floor room and it was quite nice with a unique layout I haven't really seen before in a hotel.

Some nits with the hotel were the breakfast and the smell in the lobby. For some reason they perfume the lobby and it was almost overpowering. Spend much time in the lobby and I'm sure most would leave with a headache. As for the breakfast, it had the usual western offerings of eggs, bacon, sausage, bread, pastries, but also some Asian offerings as well but not nearly enough which was disappointing. They also have some very strange Asian takes on western dishes like crispy chicken sliders and club sandwiches (they were all pretty awful). In the end I pretty much ate the same thing every morning and was definitely wishing for more variety.

All in all a decent hotel for a few days on business or pleasure in Taoyuan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
4
2
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here after getting bumped off a flight. Checked-in at 3 am; staff were helpful, courteous and friendly. Room is spacious and clean too. Got a King bedroom with both firm and soft pillows supplied. Good Internet connection in the room, so it's not a hardship to get work done. There's a mall around the corner, plus some restaurants nearby. Will definitely return if I need a hotel close to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, ID
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've had extended stays at this hotel and really enjoy it. The rooms are super comfy - love, love the pillows!!! The bathroom includes a nice tub and a separate shower. There is a lot of storage space in the room - good closet space and two sets of extra drawers. It is very close to a mall with lots of different restaurants (very few take credit cards - be aware before you order). The staff is very attentive - they will grab elevators, grab plates at dinner, and respond right away to requests. The TV has lots of American Channels - probably the best I've seen in my international travels.

Improvements: the swimming pool is a lap pool and the exercise area is really small. They serve a decent breakfast, but doesn't change much (and if you want eggs, you need to grab a card with the type of eggs and make sure you find a server - if you leave it on the table, you won't get your eggs). Room service is pretty bad - especially for the price. The wifi could be better - it cuts out a lot.

Conclusion: I would definitely stay here again. The location is great. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. If they added a pool and improved the menu, I would absolutely love it!

Room Tip: The view of the mall is better than the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have a little time to stay in this hotel cause I have to catch the plane. But, this hotel is very well decorate. Great restaurant. Locate near shopping mall. And, have large room and full of facilities. It's one of the best hotel locate near airport. I love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spacious, clean and comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff. Very convenient location: 10 minutes drive to the International airport. Near by a large shopping mall (with many restaurants and cinemas) and a 24 hour seven-11 store. Five to 10 minutes walk to many road side restaurants and local delicacies. Suitable for different kind of tourists. Restaurants in the hotel (one serves Chinese cuisine, another serves Japanese cuisine) are excellent. However, compared to other 4~5 star hotels in Taiwan, the breakfast needs improvement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Situated in the centre of Taoyuan and between a 7/11 and the Tai Mall this hotel was ideal for my business trip.

The room was very good. Roomy, clean and with everything I needed for a comfortable stay. I particularly liked the pillows and the bed was big enough to accommodate a small family.

The WiFi is a little eccentric. But it worked when I was sat at the desk so ok there.

The staff were very friendly and all essential staff spoke good English.

I only ate breakfast in the hotel and this was an intestine experience. The coffee was excellent the food an interesting mix of East meets West. Pizza and Spaghetti Bolognaise rubbed shoulders with the more conventional fruits and pastries.

The bar boasts the most uncomfortable bar stools I have ever sat on. And there is a pervading odour of drains. But, the beer is cold and the batman accommodating. Watch out though, they close promptly at midnight and no warning is given.

I will be returning to Taiwan and will be staying in this hotel. I am looking forward to both.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are excellent value especially those located on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed many times in this hotel, last time in April 2013 for three nights - always for business. The room is clean and functional, the breakfast is excellent, the staff is helpful and speaks English (this alone is a big advantage!). The hotel is located about 20 minutes by taxi from the airport - and this is yet another big advantage. The hotel is located next to the big shopping mall called Tai Mall - but this is the only main attraction in the neighbohood, if I want to visit Taipei or any other tourist attraction - I usually move to another hotel in Taipei-city, as getting from Taoyuan to Taipei might take an hour or more due to heavy traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monarch Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Skyline Hotel

Address: No.108 Section 1, Nankan Road, Luzhu Town, Taoyuan 338 , Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taoyuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Taoyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monarch Skyline Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monarch Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monarch Skyline Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.