We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel if visiting the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lai Lai Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lai Lai Hotel to your Saves list
Lai Lai Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.125, Section 3, Sanmin Road, North District, Taichung 40446, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 196 Hotels in Taichung
4.5 of 5 stars 78 Reviews
Kapiti
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel if visiting the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was booked as part of a 3-day tour of Western Taiwan. The room was clean and had sufficient amenities. The hotel was handy to a night market for shopping and food. The breakfast was adequate.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
19
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Staying here for 3 nights visiting family live in Taichung. We have big room with 2 double beds as we have 7 years son with us. The hotel is clean with very good service, its ok for the price you pay. The Free Laundry facility is very useful. Used the World Gym once, found their machines is quite old. Close to Taichung Park, my husband went running there. The night market is great, but so many people, I found it too much...especially weekend
Taiwanese are very friendly, its a lovely city.
There is no bar or restaurant in the hotel, there is nice Hot Pot restaurant next to the hotel, very good service, lots of food.
Not sure if I will stay here next time, I found this area too busy and too many people. The hotel is ok though...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely the most outstanding hotel and best value for your money in Taichung. Hotel is newly built and has about 70 rooms so very quiet. All the rooms and facilities are brand new and well maintained. My room is two bedroom suite with king size bed, living room, two large flat screen tvs and big bathroom with nice fancy bidet toilet.

Hotel provides free admission to World Gym next door, which is largest in Taichung with every piece of exercise equipment one could want. Also there is free washer dryer with soap on fifth floor laundry room.

Staff is very courteous and extremely friendly. Ben the general manager has a lot of hotel experience and invited me to dinner with his staff one night. Ken the primary day manager ensured that his staff was always meeting customer needs and also treated me to a delicious BBQ dinner with his staff. Front desk staff of Shaw, Nina, Andrea, Hanna, Lala, Eason, and Danny are exceptional and go out of their way to meet the needs of guests. The bellboys Thomas and Eric have assisted me with everything from fixing my internet issues to finding me a good barber.

The hotel also provides an outstanding daily buffet breakfast. The chef trained for ten years in Argentina and is terrific in food preparation and presentation. The waitresses Anita, Doris, Zhu Ting and Su Ting helped me to start off everyday right with bright smiles and wonderful hospitality.
Cleaning staff of Pei Ru and Ali ensures that the room is spotless.

Hotel is in a prime location. There is a night market with a large array of shops and food stalls one block away. Most major attractions are no more than 30 minutes away by car.

I was in a five star hotel in Hong Kong prior to coming to Taichung and Lai Lai hotel is a much better value. Highly recommend LaiLai. You will not be disappointed with the beautiful facilities and the wonderful people.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Surprisingly good service. Very convenient with lots of shops around. The night market has lots of things to buy and it is not far from the city center. Very easy to take a taxi or even catch a bus. Top marks to the girls at cafe 125 (hotel cafe) for their excellent service.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Overall: We came in a group of 6, and spent our 1st and only 1 night in Taichung before heading to Taipei. After checking in to the hotel, not long after, we head to Feng Jia Night Market. Feng Jia Night Market is abt 15 mins drive away. Although we were told not far away from hotel, but I think their traffic does impact. Breakfast was included in our room rate. Personally think that one can skip hotel breakfast because there are so many other nice eateries out there. Their buffet spread looks nice but the taste is just average.

Cleanliness: Hotel looks newly renovated and is clean and neat.

Location: We didn't really explore the neighborhood area because when we arrived at the hotel, it was about 5pm plus. It looks crowded outside as there are many shops and eateries around the area. There's a departmental shop around the corner near the hotel that sell snacks, toiletries...etc, jus 1-2 mins walk from hotel entrance. However, they close at 10.30pm. 24hr 7-11 is about 5-10 mins walk away...personally don't think that consider near.

Rooms: The room and their toilet is in decent size. Is clean and neat too!

Service: Hotel staffs are friendly and nice people. They are very helpful too. Hotel wifi is provided free and they also provide a free coffee area at the lobby.

Value: Many friends commented that accommodation in Taichung is usually much affordable than in Taipei. Paying est SGD$100/night (incl of breakfast) for Lai Lai Hotel, some friends commented is abit ex but personally felt that is quite worth the price staying in Lai Lai Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Not only the location is good, but also the service is the best! If U get the chance to visit Taichung, LaiLai hotel is super worth to stay. Highly recommended!
Thanks to all receptionists' nice treatment, we had a wonderful experience.
THANK YOOOOOU ALL!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

It was our first visit to Taichung.
My spouse and I were very glad to make the right choice for our 3 nights' accommodation in Lai Lai Hotel. We had enjoyed our stay very much.

Location:
It is convenient where we could easily look out for eateries around, nearest Chun Shui Tang Teahouse, ChungYo Shopping Mall, Taichung Park and Yizhong Jie that are within short walking distance. A nearby bus stop to take a bus down to the Fengjia Night Market.

Cleanliness, Room & Service:
Our preference is a deluxe room without window. It is beautifully furnished with king-size comfortable bed, very well maintained and spacious.
Bathroom has a bath-tub and a shower compartment including quality necessities. Fantastic!
Good wifi reception, hot coffee at lobby area and umbrellas are provided to the guests. We did not use the gym and laundry facilities due to our time constraints.
The front desk staff can provide travel advices with local map when help is needed. The hotel staff are polite and professional.

Value:
The room rate includes daily breakast and the hotel's overall standard is excellent. It is really value for money.
All the best to Lai Lai Hotel in Taichung!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lai Lai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lai Lai Hotel

Address: No.125, Section 3, Sanmin Road, North District, Taichung 40446, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 196 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lai Lai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lai Lai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lai Lai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.