We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afforable boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch to your Saves list
CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.133 Section 4, Fuxing Road, East District, Taichung 401, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 224 Hotels in Taichung
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Afforable boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Centrally located beside the train station, the rooms were very modern and each floor designed in accordance to a certain theme. The service was excellent and despite it being cny the front desk were very professional and managed to accommodate our earlier request for a quiet room as well

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris1227, Supervisor at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear HardyTravelers,

Thank you for taking time to write this generous review and sharing your staying experience with other viewers. We hope you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your time with us.

We are glad that you like our theme room and the location. Our front desk staffs are all happy to hear your comments on them. If you have anyone you wish to point out, please let us know.

We are look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

David Chang
Supervisor
CityInn Hotel Plus Taichung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    129
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
91
159
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were considering if we should stay near Feng Jia Night Market or Taichung Train Station. Considering the close approximation to train station for our next day's departure to Taipei, we decided to stay here.
Room: come with all the amenities (towels, disposable slippers, toothbrush/toothpaste, comb, shaver, shower cap, cotton tips). Shampoo and shower gel are attached in the bath room.
TV comes with many channels/movies. Internet speed is fast as they have different routers for different floors.
Location: if you are coming from the Taichung Train Station, please look for the Rear Station exit and you will find the hotel. If you are going to Taichung Train Station, turn right from the hotel, look for a small lane on your right and you will find the Taichung Train Station entrance there.
Others: the washer/dryer/washing powder provides great convenience for guest
Staff: really trying to accommodate my request for the theme room.
Breakfast: if you arrive during peak hour, you have to wait for the staff to arrange the seating in about 5 minutes. Meanwhile, you can surf Internet using the PC provided at the ground floor.

Room Tip: Choose Elite room for more space. Can request for theme room that you like since there's a diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungwei81, Supervisor at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear winter92,

Thank you for taking time to write this generous review and sharing your staying experience with other viewers. We hope you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your time with us.

We are glad that you like our location and laundry facilities.

We are look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
David Chang
Supervisor
CityInn Hotel Plus Taichung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The rooms were quite nice although they were a bit on the small side and had a great view of... a wall of the opposite building.

The amenities in the room were excellent, with a great range of movies to pick from. The kids were thrilled with the movies on offer. The location is also very good. Do not trust Google maps when planning for a walking route. The train station is just around the corner! If I can walk there with 2 little kids in tow together with luggage, I suppose you can too!

Unfortunately, the hotel was also a victim of its own popularity as the breakfast venue got filled up quickly and some guests had to wait to be seated.

In short, I highly recommend this hotel and my only regret is not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris1227, Supervisor at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mr. / Ms. EdPraw,

Greeting form the Cityinn Hotel Plus Taichung Station Branch. Thanks for chosen pour hotel as your home away from home.

It's glad that you like our amenities, location and movies on offer. Also feel apologetic about waiting for breakfast seat. We all appreciate your time for writing this review. Your traveling experience would be shared, and defect would be improved.

Hope you may stay with us longer next visit. Let's looking forward to seeing you in near future.

Best regards,
Doris Kuo
Supervisor
CityInn Hotel Plus Taichung Station Branch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very trendy hotel. We stayed for 2 nights during NYE. Get the theme room! Room size are relatively small but well equipped with all necessities. Clean and comfortable bed.

Breakfast id provided. Overall, good hotel to stay with.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris1227, Supervisor at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Mr. / Ms. Teolee,

Greeting form The Cityinn Hotel Plus Taichung Station Branch. Thanks for chosen our hotel as your home away home.

We all glad that you like our theme room and the breakfast. Also appreciate taking your time to write this generous and thorough review and sharing your staying experience with other viewers.

It's our pleasure to be with you during your traveling in Taichung, hope you had a enjoyed time with us.

Let's looking forward to seeing you in nearly future.

Best regards,
Doris Kuo
Supervisor
CityInn Hotel Plus Taichung Station Branch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is proof that a 3-star hotel can shine by how they run it. It is conveniently located just outside the rear exit of the Taichung station. But more than the great accessibility to a train station is what the hotel provides.

At the check-in counter, the lady told us that everything in the room is complementary, from the snacks, water, wifi, to the movies. This is the first hotel I've been to where everything in the room is complementary. I find this a great way to run a hotel, that everything in the room is already in the price of the room. So everyday, they had a packet of Doritos with 2 bottles of water. On New Year's Eve, they gave an additional packet of snacks and also a fortune cookie.

The hotel room is also very clean and provides the full range of amenities - toothbrush, comb/brush, shaver, cotton buds, lotion, shampoo, soap, bedroom slippers, etc. This 3-star hotel provides more amenities than most 3-star hotels, and even some 4-star hotels, I have stayed in.

Also, this hotel has a few themed floors, and some floors which are plain. I got one that was a themed floor, and every room door is decorated slightly differently, and also each room is decorated differently. The moment you get out of the lift on a themed floor, you will see the whole places decorated according to that theme. It felt like I was staying in a kids room, and it brought a fun and lively feel to it. You can see the pictures of how my room looked like. They also used magnets for the "Do Not Disturb" and "Make Up Room" signs which would be stuck to the door. The only thing I'd wished for was for the room to be bigger.

The breakfast spread was not very wide, but sufficient. They had a great UCC coffee machine which churned out great coffee.

The hotel staff were also very helpful and friendly, and helped advise us on where we could go in Taichung, and also how to get there.

Around the hotel are eateries and also a relatively large shopping mall - Mode Mall. There is a Carrefour hypermarket in that mall and a number of major brands, e.g. Uniqlo, Levis, etc. You do not have to worry about food as there are places to eat just around the corner.

The hotel is also located a short walk from the bus stations where you can grab a bus to different parts of Taichung and even beyond.

How to get there:

If you are taking the High Speed Rail (HSR) from the Taipei/Taoyuan airport, this is how you can get there:
- At the Taipei/Taoyuan airport, follow the signs to the HSR / Bus Station.
- Take Bus 705 to the HSR station. Cost = NT$30.
- Buy ticket to Taichung. Cost = NT$590. The travel time is about 40-45min.
- Once reaching Taichung, take Exit 3 to TRA.
- Buy ticket and take train to Taichung station. Cost = NT$15. It is just 3 stops away.
- After reaching the Taichung station, go to the rear exit/entrance of the station.
- Exit from the rear of the station, look up and you will see the hotel on your left.

Room Tip: As for a themed room, which are also on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungwei81, Supervisor at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear GKhoo,

Thank you for taking time to write this generous and thorough review and sharing your staying experience with other viewers. Hope you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your time with us.

We are glad that you like our theme room, the breakfast coffee and the location.

Regarding the small room size, you could try our more spacious deluxe twin room (which can be make into one big bed as well) with just a little more budget for you next stay.

We are look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
David Chang
Supervisor
CityInn Hotel Plus Taichung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was conveniently located outside the Taichung rail station. Our room was very comfortable, clean and medium sized. The included breakfast had a lot of variety although no cereal. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Free new release DVDs were a bonus. There is a variety of restaurants surrounding the hotel and a large department store on the next block with a Carrefour on the B1 level. Very pleasant stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungwei81, Supervisor at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Angela01234,

Thank you for taking time to write this generous review and sharing your staying experience with other viewers. Hope you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your time with us.

We are glad that you like our location and the movies. Our kitchen staffs were happy to hear your comments. Also, we would discuss with our chef about adding the cereal into the breakfast menu.

We hope you will re-visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
David Chang
Supervisor
CityInn Hotel Plus Taichung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

First of all we must thank you to all the reviewers of CityInn Plus, in Tripadvisor. We had made the right decision for selecting this hotel due to high overall rating.

The room indeed small. Which can be difficult to walk and may have problem to find a good space to place big luggage. The bathroom is spacious!

For us, space is not our priority for selecting a good hotel. Our priorities for hotel are cleanliness, new, location and value for money. Yes. CityInn Plus have got it all!

The hotel management was very considerate and very consumer oriented. Complete sets of toiletries were nicely placed... and a pack of condom ready too! Play safe ya.. Don't get this wrong, CityInn Plus is definitely not a hanky-panky kinda hotel.

Location is the best too. 1-3 minutes walk to TRA Taichung station. But 10-15 mins taxi to FengJia night market. 15-20 mins walk to Yizhong night market (our favourite night market)!

If we travel to Taichung again, we would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungwei81, Supervisor at CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear yippy75,

Thank you for taking time to write this generous review and sharing your staying experience with other viewers. Hope you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your time with us.

Regarding the small room size, you could try our more spacious deluxe twin room (which can be make into one big bed as well) with just a little more budget for you next stay.

We hope you will re-visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
David Chang
Supervisor
CityInn Hotel Plus Taichung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch

Address: No.133 Section 4, Fuxing Road, East District, Taichung 401, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 224 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience hospitality reinvented with Cityinn Hotel Plus, a newcomer to Taichung with all the requisite bells and whistles. Located in the Eastern district, a burgeoning arts and cultural hub with a rich sense of history and place; the artistically inclined will feel right at home with Stock 20 and the Taichung Creative Park, right at our door step. Or cut loose among the cake stores and night-markets, reputably the island's best, located just minutes away. Those travelling from afar will find comfort in our proximity to Taichung station, that provides easy train/bus linkage to high-speed rail and major cities. Enjoy a red carpet welcome replete with all the creature comforts, connectivity, and convenience that will cater to your every predilection. Whether you are here for business, for friends, or simply to getaway, we've got a slice of Taichung for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CityInn Hotel Plus - Taichung Station Branch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.