We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Din Tai Fun

Din Tai Fun
B2,No.105, Sec. 2, Zhonggang Rd., Xitun Dist., Taichung, Taiwan
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 3,378 Restaurants in Taichung
Cuisines: Taiwanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Over priced but did keep their standard. I have tried branches in Taipei, Singapore and Hong Kong and found their standard much better than the Taichung branch. The stemmed dumpling was hard and try. Tast was bland.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taichung, Taiwan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Seriously?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

You come all the way to the home of soup dumplings (Taiwan) and you go to the branch that is everywhere. You can find dumplings as good or better all throughout the city in little mom and pop places. Not to mention for a fraction of the price and wait time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“famous taiwan eatery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

famous for its dripping shiao long bao. after you bite into it, there is liquid inside. nice soup. it seems that everywhere i turn. there is another din tai fun

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Food! Come Hungry. Experience what these coveted dumplings SHOULD taste like!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Ironic system of ordering but the process is more streamlined to get customers in and out quickly. Put your name on the list. Grab a menu with pictures and fill out your order sheet while you wait for your table.
I don't speak or read Chinese so the pictures on the menu correspond to the numbers on the order form.
I ordered a variety of food for some picky eaters....but they LOVED this place since everything was bite sized and they got to try so many things. Among our favorites: hot and sour soup, Sui Mai, sautéed green beans, dumplings (pork/ shrimp/ vegetable), shrimp fried rice, sautéed Chinese greens....everything was fantastic. We loved it and even went back to the Din Tai Fun in Taipei 101. Excellent food and very reasonably priced. As soon as we were seated, our menu was verified and within a few minutes, our selected dishes began to arrive at our table. This is a must do if in Taichung. There's generally a wait so bring patience. It's worth the wait!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“just brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Best time to go is mid afternoon to avoid waiting, you just want to eat everything on the menu and take home some of their chilli oil, its to die for

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fun also viewed

 

Been to Din Tai Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Din Tai Fun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.