We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fatty's Italian Restaurant

Fatty's Italian Restaurant
No.1, 50 Lane, ChingCheng Rd., W. Dist., Taichung, Taiwan
04-23194898
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 2,907 Restaurants in Taichung
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

more authentic than the majority. Lovely atmosphere. Hope to be back soon. Simple gentle and clean flavours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Changed ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A year ago I used to go here frequently because the food and service was fantastic.

Visiting the restaurant a year on under new ownership I found that the food was not as good as before. The service is still there but the quality of the food was not. The menu hasn't changed though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have been in Fatty's with my wife and small kids.

The food was good, but, contrarily of what I had read, the price was not cheap. Actually, the amount of food and the price were very similar to other Italian restaurants in Taiwanese big cities (Taipei and Kaohsiung, particularly), in which you spend at least NT$ 350.00 per person.

Two bad things were the restroom (that stays in the second floor, with very high stairs for kids, elderly and pregnants) and the fact that they do not accept credit card (similar restaurants in other big cities do).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious... but a bit pricey...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The food was very good! Very authentic which is difficult to find... To be honest, there is a similar style restaurant in Feng Yuan District, The Creme Family Restaurant. The food is of similar taste and flavor but the portions are bigger and it's not as expensive!

The place is Feng Yuan is closer to where I live so I'm more inclined to go there but overall, Fatty's was delicious and will definitely go back!

The also have some English speaking staff there! Menus are in both English and Chinese.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Affordable comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Decent portion of food.
I love warm bread and that's what they served.
Seafood chowder is slightly different from expectation but still good.
Creamy seafood spaghetti was a little too creamy and will be too much for a single portion.
Steak was pretty decent.
One request - Wish they have linguine in the menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatty's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fatty's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fatty's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.