We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant

Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant
No. 533, Da Dun Rd., Taichung (Carrefour), Taichung, Taiwan
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 3,378 Restaurants in Taichung
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Edmonton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great view, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Easy parking is rare in Taiwan but easy in Gordon Biersch. I sat there during the end of a typhoon and enjoyed the dance of hundreds of colorful umbrellas below! The half roasted chicken has the best mashed potatoes I have ever eaten. Beef is pricey everywhere and I have not found it to be especially tasty. Good assortment of Beer. A young energetic crowd with family space, too

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taichung City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Weekend Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Visit many times already, best brunch in Taichung! Too bad they only serve brunch during weekend.
Great omelette, great portion, great value. Compare to their regular price, brunch is unbelievable.
Great wifi as well, often spend hours there during weekend, with the refillable coffee and tea. You can even change flavor of tea while you refill. Whole box selection of twinning tea. Another feature I love is they give you milk instead of coffee creamer like most of shop in Taiwan. Great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, large portions, great service.... Nice bar area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've been to the Gordon Biersch in Taichung a number of times and have always had a nice experience. The food is good (a real taste of America), the beers are cold, the service is great, and it's a nice place for a business meeting or a drink after a long day of work. Most of the service staff can speak English. I recommend the ribeye steak with gorgonzola butter.... WOW, DELICIOUS! If you are in Taichung and are craving some western food, this is a place I'll suggest.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huangjiang, Guangdong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Service with a smile and food tastes like home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I'm not from around here and was craving hot buffalo wings (tabasco) tonight, so we found this place and walked in. The first thing the host sees is that I'm pregnant so she changes our table from the 2nd floor to the bottom floor so I wouldnt have to climb stairs. Very attentive service, 5 stars. The server would not stop smiling and was incredibly cheery. The food was a tad salty, I am used to super hot wings but their special hot wings were more salty than spicy. Nevertheless, it tasted like home. I also ordered the fish tacos, great value for what you get. Two large tacos stuffed with grilled fish and lots of topping, included melted cheese. Comes with a side of black beans on rice. Very tasty. I was surprised. My husband got the chili shrimp fettuccine which was quite spicy, overall ok though. Didn't get a chance to try the beer.. But I hear good things. Overall, a good experience, though the prices are pretty high compared to local eats, it's a nice change.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“OK if you want a beer but deep fried everything is not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I went with a supplier to eat here but the menu did nothing for me. However dont let this put you off. If you want a beer and a nice chat its the place to go. Staff are great and very efficient. Cant comment on the food because its just not the kind of food I eat but had a very nice evening and enjoyed the buy two get one free or was it buy one get one free, obviously the staff did a good job on us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.