We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home away from Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tempus Hotel Taichung

Save Saved
You added Tempus Hotel Taichung to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tempus Hotel Taichung
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.9, Section 2, Taichung Kang Road, Taichung 407, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 182 hotels in Taichung
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My Home away from Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

I stay at this hotel 3-4 times a year. The staff here will do anythign for you, anything! did i say anything, anything, they will do anything to make you happy.

If for some reason you have to stay in taichung, i dont recommend it, but if you do, stay at the landis. they make me feel loike a really big deal!

nice pool and the new rooms and amazing, not a fan of the roomservice menu or the old smokey rooms though.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — the room service menu
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
9
8
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

The LANDIS Taichung is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. I booked this hotel online, as I had a meeting with a company we deal with in Taichung. When I arrived at the hotel, I was quite honestly astounding at just the perfection of the hotel. The staff where absolutely brilliant and the rooms terrific.

The hotel is world class on a technological standpoint, however when you checkin they open up a beautiful antique wooden filing cabinet with a paper file with all your booking details. I thought this was a great touch, the front desk asked all of my preferences (how i like my coffee, etc.) which she wrote into the file. I really like this as I didnt feel like a number in a system, but rather a welcome guest.

I would recommend it to anyone going to Taichung, Taiwan.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — nothing1!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cove,Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

Having just moved from the Landis in Tainan I arrived for the first time in the Landis Taichung

Very swiftly and professionally dealt with and given an upgrade to a superior room
Room was large with a seperate lounge area
Large spacious bathroom,very clean and well equipped
Room service was very good and swift

Hotel as with all Landis hotels is spotless and very homely
The bar is like all Landis bars cool and relaxed with bar staff who are knowledgable and really should be called mixologists as they can mix any cocktail you could imagine

A good base for getting around and with many stores and restaurants near by

Even though the Formosa is still my favorite in Taichung this hotel is not far behind

  • Liked — A homely base with great access to Taichung
  • Disliked — Nothing which merits criticism
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station,NJ
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

Stayed on the tenth floor non smoking in the new wing.
The room design, lay out and decoration are contemporary.
I wish I could remodel my appartment like this.
While this hotel is very busy, the service is speedy.
There was a brief watiing line for the excellent choice and offerings complimentary breakfast.
The room is quiet.
This seems a pure business hotel.

  • Liked — New fresh rooms with great design
  • Disliked — Location with poor surroundign attractions
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

The Landis Taichung is a pleasant, refined oasis in central Taiwan. The hotel is stylishly decorated, very well maintained, and efficiently operated.

The rooms, although a little on the small side, are well equipped and the bathrooms have deep tubs surrounded by marble. Fresh fruit in the room and complimentary laundering of undergarments are two features not found in all hotels in Taiwan.

The hotel's restaurant has a better than average breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner are a little on the pricey side and the service, although well intended, is not always consistent with the prices being charged. The quality of the food is excellent.

Internet connection is free as is a daily newspaper.

Check various online hotel booking sites; the prices for the Landis vary considerably from site to site. You can often find a rate that makes this very good hotel a true bargain.

  • Liked — The friendly, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — The service in the dining room can be inconsistent.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

The hotel is modern, nice common areas, great breakfast buffet, attached to lovely health spa with excellent swimming pool, friendly staff, bathrooms are excellent (all marble, sep tub and shower). Recommended w/out question.

  • Liked — Bathrooms.
  • Disliked — None.
  • Tips/Secrets — None.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2006

Although I wouldn't say Taiwan, on the whole, caters to Westerners (hard to find much English anywhere on the island, esp. in Taichung - very different from mainland China...) this is a great hotel for Westerners! There were two fabulous restaurants - one western style and one chinese located in the hotel. The bedrooms were comfortable and tastefully decorated and the bathrooms were superb! Also, there is a wonderful gym next door which you may use as a guest of the Landis. I stayed here for approx. 3 weeks for work and am looking forward to my next stay! I was a young single American women in Taichung (learning Mandarin now, but spoke none at the time) and I did not venture out of the hotel much except for work, but everything I needed was at the Landis! Oh also, the Evergreen is VERY close by and has three or more great restaurants you can also try for a change of pace!

  • Stayed September 2004, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tempus Hotel Taichung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempus Hotel Taichung

Address: No.9, Section 2, Taichung Kang Road, Taichung 407, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taichung
#11 Business Hotel in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tempus Hotel Taichung 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary interior, natural wood and gold color schemes; tasteful furnishings; located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tempus Hotel Taichung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taichung Tempus Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempus Hotel Taichung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.