We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but strange room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.94 Tze Yu Road Section 2, Taichung 400, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 196 Hotels in Taichung
4.0 of 5 stars 214 Reviews
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Convenient location but strange room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located 2 bus stops away from Taichung train station, with pretty lot of bus routes passing through. Hotel front desk provided me with a bus routes instruction advising the bus numbers for those tourist areas, which is a nice touch.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, but I can never open the curtain as the window is facing the interior atrium of the building. Half of the hotel rooms have similar problem as seen from the layout.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    120
    26
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
53
31
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I just wanted a clean inexpensive hotel in the city centre .It's my first time with a Holiday Inn Express and I am very happy with the room.I had to pay more to get a park view ! No upgrade was given I am told at all the Holiday Inn Express. Well appointed rooms with breakfast and wifi provided.There is a laundry corner where you can do your washing and drying for 80NTD each. It is located on the 5th.floor.You need to change to 8 x 10 NTD for a cycle and the same for the dryer.Very close to the bus and train stations. This area is in the old part or town. Value for money. It would be great if more English is spoken and understood at the reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Although this is a Holiday Inn "Express" the overall feeling was not the same as the usual "Express" level. The lobby was located inside a shopping mall. Lobby was big with lots of space and few computers around for usage.

Usually the room for "Express" was smaller. This one was different. Size of room was quite big with a lot of spare space. The room did not come with bath tube. Only shower was provied and this was not a problem for me.

Breakfast included with adequate choice. Quality above average. Service was very good.

Location was excellent. Very closed to train station and tradional busy district. Lots of eating choices nearby.

Price was the most attractive element. Hotel at similar level normally cost 30% more at Taichung. So great value.

Remember to book early.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed at Holiday Inn Express in Taichung for two nights together with my husband. It is a nice hotel in the city centre. The staffs were very helpful, as I forgot to bring my life saving medication with me before leaving my home town, they were kind enough to give me direction as to where I could buy the medication that I needed. The room is not very big, but it is clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. Wifi in the room is truly a bonus. The hotel is very conveniently located. As it was during Easter time when I went to Taichung, I wanted to go to church. I realised a Catholic church was only 15 minutes away by foot. A huge shopping district was nearby, about 15 minutes by foot or 5 minutes by taxi. Taxi is readily available any where you go and it charges very reasonably. The breakfast was not fantastic but it was enough to fill up my stomach. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

It was beyond my expectation for a holiday inn express. My room was on 11/F with an excellent view of Taichung Park. Breakfast was not the tastiest, but with good variety, ranging from western to local taiwanese food. Taichung train station is a bus stop away (15 minute walk away). There is also a direct bus at taichung park to airport, but some coaches connecting to other cities and tourist attraction outside taichung. Night market is also about 15 minute walk from the hotel. I will definitely come back if I visit taichung in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for room with park view and on high floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel is a great value for Taichung. Breakfast which is included offers a nice variety. The nearby Taichung Park is beautiful. The free HSR shuttle stops right close to the hotel although it is a 65 minute ride. The elevators are a bit slow but that is about the only negative.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

There is a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very clean, the room is large and comfortable and there is a desk area plus another chair. The shower is huge, but I wish there was a tub..my wife loves tubs. I didn't care for the combo shampoo/shower gel, left my skin feeling oily. Bar soap is available at the front desk, along with a cob, cotton ear buds, etc. There is a refrig and safe in the room, plus two bottles of water in supplied free. We had an inside room which was a little dark, I should have asked for on outside room. The WiFi works great, and so does the flat screen. There is a iMini to plug in your older style Jack iPod. Breakfast at the Great Hall downstairs wasn't bad. We were tired and had return from Sun Moon Lake and had a nice dinner there. It has a salad bar, fruits and drinks. The food was good. There are some outlet shops in the building, but their prices weren't cheap. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, but you need a taxi to get to city center or you could take the bus. It is a nice well kept hotel with great staff who are polite and helpful.the hotel is a good value and the keep their standards high.

Room Tip: Ask for a outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park

Address: No.94 Tze Yu Road Section 2, Taichung 400, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taichung
#11 Business Hotel in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park is located right next to the historical Taichung Park in the city centre and is the only International brand hotel managed by InterContinental Hotels Group in Central Taiwan area. The Hotel offers a fresh, comfortable and uncomplicated accommodation to business travelers who value time and money. The smart simplicity concept makes the hotel a smart choice for the travelers to Taichung. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park Hotel Taichung
Holiday Inn Taichung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Taichung Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.