We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Beacon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7-9F, No.427 Fu Hsing Road, Xitun District, Taichung, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 196 Hotels in Taichung
4.0 of 5 stars 84 Reviews
malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Strategic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is strategically located next to Fengjia night market, which allow us to eat and shop till late night without worries about the time to be back to hotel.

We can easily catch direct shuttle from the hotel to HSR station and to other part of Taichung. Amenities in the room were basic and suffice and morning breakfast buffet striked a balance between local taiwanese and western option. Their soy milk is really yum ! :)

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel and will definitely visit them again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    38
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
27
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

stayed a night with my family and relatives as part of our family tw tour. location has been excellent! it's just in midst of the famous fengjia night market where we shopped and ate till past midnight before calling it a day. for shoppers, fengjia is really one of the best night markets in tw; relatively cheaper than those in Taipei :) on weekends, most shops will open till 12-1am!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for a night early this year with my boyfriend and our friends. After a long day in Taichung (early morning from airport and to various attractions and finally check in hotel at night), we were quite pleased with smooth and fast check in.

We hired a driver for the whole day, he waited for us to check in and then drove us to another night market (think was yi zhong jie) before he left for the day. Not many stuff in yi zhong, shortly we took taxi back to feng jia. Beacon has a great location, I went to the nearby shop to get facial masks (as they closed around 9 plus, 10pm) and decided to go back hotel to put down the stuff then went down to feng jia continue shopping and eating.

Maybe we slept quite late and the night market was closed, not sure if the room is really sound proof. However our friends stayed near door commented that they could hear that I was sneezing =x.

Have researched before we came that there was a McDonalds just next to the hotel, so we went there for breakfast instead. Will consider to stay in Beacon again =)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located outside of fengchia night market. Very convenient to eat, shop and return to rest. Easy to locate the hotel from the signage at the side of the building. Security is good as it requires the insertion of room card to access up the lifts to rooms. The lobby and cafe is located on the 12th floor (highest level) but there's a concierge at the ground floor. There is supposedly a gym on the 9th floor as indicated on the lift panel but doesn't seem to be in existence as that floor is just rooms.


Stayed in a corner double room, it was quite spacious. Room was clean and bed was big enough to accommodate 2 adults and my 2 yr old son. Only problem was that the glaring downlights from the bathroom will shine directly towards people sleeping on the bed if you need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. My friends staying in another room did complain that they were bitten by bed bugs. They stayed at room 1109. Noise from the street outside can be quite obvious from ambulance sirens and horns, if not still tolerable.

There was quite a wide variety for breakfast - Taiwanese porridge with side condiments, eggs, sausages, cereals, bread selection, salad and noodles. But the spread is somewhat the same for the 2 days we were there. Nonetheless, a cosy hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Though Taichung are famed with countless of unique boutique hotels around. but when it come to location first, Beacon will definitely be the first choice without saying. The famous Fengjia night market is just exit from the hotel, cross the opposite side of the road will make you shop till you drop . Don't worry if you get tiring of the hotel style breakfast, step out of the hotel in the early morning, you will find stalls selling local cheap & good breakkie.Wifi provided are strong enough for all of us to surf in the same room. bedding is comfy .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in their Classic Room from 03 Jan 2014 to 06 Jan 2014. Good location and the front office staffs are excellent. They are friendly and helpful in acceding our requests. But Wifi coverage require improvement as the signal is quite weak. Overall was a good stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Situated just above Fengjia night market, so its very convenient! Room is clean and in good size, staff are very friendly too. Breakfast was very limited though and quite average otherwise everything is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Address: 7-9F, No.427 Fu Hsing Road, Xitun District, Taichung, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taichung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 196 Hotels in Taichung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Booking.com so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.