We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location with good soundproofing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King's Town

Save Saved
You added King's Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
King's Town
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.362 Chiu Ju Second Road, Sanmin District, Kaohsiung 80745, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 237 hotels in Kaohsiung
Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Central location with good soundproofing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a stopover in Kaohsiung as part of a tour around Taiwan, and arrived late in the evening. The hotel faces the main train station, with a multi-lane road facing the front of the hotel. When we got a room on the 2nd floor facing the main road, I was worried about the traffic noise but this proved to be unfounded. We didn't hear the noise at all, and it was only the next morning that you could hear it if you paid attention.

The bathroom had an awkward layout, with the shower curtain being hung too far away from the tub. The curtain couldn't be draped with the lower end in the tub, so water would definitely pool on the floor around the tub. It also didn't help that the tub was quite high, so one needed to be careful stepping in and out, especially with the wet floor.

Breakfast in the hotel wasn't satisfactory, with limited choices and small quantities. We also didn't realise that the hotel was quite near (a few blocks) away from the night market, so didn't manage to see it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    26
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
7
19
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

The hotel seemed decent enough. The mattress was firm but comfortable. The tub had a high rim, making it a pretty high step to get in and out of the shower. The furniture seemed a bit dated but in good condition. Breakfast was a buffet with Asian-style choices and the food tasted fine. Note that unlike many American hotels, the doors to the rooms are not on a hinge, so they won't close on their own, and like hotels I've been to in Europe, you must insert the tag attached to the key into a slot near the door to activate the lights.

The location was awkward. While being across the street from the train station was convenient, having to pass through the station's paid area to get to the metro was a bit of a hassle. The hotel provides passes that let guests pass for free, but this doesn't help for passengers arriving by metro, as we were, since we didn't have a pass yet. What we did was get off at the Houyi metro station and walk the few blocks to the hotel from there. If there was an easier way to get to the other side of the train station (or if the metro station had a exits on both sides) it would be an improvement, but there's not much the hotel itself can do to fix the situation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Hotel rooms and design were very old. Their rooms were very spacious thou, but had some WorldWar 2 feel... which we do not know how to describe.

Will definitely not go back again. We did not have a good night sleep and luckily was there for only one night.

Breakfast was pretty decent.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

The room had mosquitoes and I got bitten in two places and hearing them singing next to my ears. That happened at 3am and I ended up requesting a room change at 4am. It completely ruined my rest and weekend vacation. After I complained and insisted without any compromise, I got half payment back. The manager at beginning just wanted to get rid of the case by half of that compensation which I didn't accept. Usually high bathroom entrance curb, be sure not to get stumbled every time getting in/out of the bathroom. The highest tub I've ever climbed as well, again, be sure move carefully and not to fall into the tub.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Electric tea pot did not work, air conditioning thermostat not available. The comforter was quite heavy, and the room was somewhat warm, so I just could not use the comforter without perspiring. The included breakfast, at best, was mediocre. Located right across the railroad station was a plus, but if I am to return, I'd opt for a better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

Very clean. Friendly & attentive staff. Great buffet breakfast. Good quality bed linen and a comfortable mattress. Good TV with BBC and CNN. Free internet connection, NOT wireless though. Centrally located across from the railway station, but it is still a very quiet hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King's Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Town

Also Known As:
Kings Town Hotel Kaohsiung
Kings Town Kaohsiung
Address: No.362 Chiu Ju Second Road, Sanmin District, Kaohsiung 80745, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 237 hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Town 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel King’s Town, invested and managed by King’s Town Group, is a tourism and business hotel offering 150 deluxe guest rooms. The completely renovated Hotel King’s Town is exceptional, and undoubtedly it is the best medium hotel in Kaohsiung city. Hotel King’s Town faces the exit to the rear of the railway station and is near to the MRT station. The location allows easy access whether for business or sightseeing. A very warm welcome is extended to all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, Hotels.com, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your King's Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.