We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to go while you're in Kaohsiung” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chichin Island

Chichin Island
Haian Rd., Qijin Dist., Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 113 Attractions in Kaohsiung
Type: Islands, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to go while you're in Kaohsiung”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just a cheap tube and ferry ride from central Kaohsiung.
Walk along 'Seafood Street' (Miaoqian Rd) and choose the freshest seadfood and fish cooked however you like it for you lunch.
Call in at the Queen of Heaven Temple (alluded to be Kaohsuings oldest).
Walk down to the beach and dip your toes in the South China Sea.
Take a walk to the Lighthouse.
Cycle paths and walks all along the seafront.
A lovely relaxing place to be when the sun is shining.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    116
    49
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice 1/2 day excursion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Took the ferry from Kaohsiung harbor and stopped at the tourist info center on Cijin island to get a map to walk to the island's main attractions -- the lighthouse and fort. There are also many bicycle rental shops at the ferry terminal, but we decided to experience the island on foot.

The uphill trek to the lighthouse took about half an hour, with stops to catch one's breath and enjoy the panoramic view of Kaohsiung across the channel.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spend a day cycling around the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We took the ferry over and rented a bike from the many rental stalls just outside the ferry station. Stock up on water, get a map from the bike store and spend the day enjoying the view. We went up the lighthouse, the seashell museum, some parks, passed by a few temples. All in all, a relaxing day for a few photos. The bike trail is well marked with plenty of rest stops but some areas near the sea were undergoing renovations so we had to make detours.

Oh and do walk through the streets near the ferry for a stall selling ONLY winter melon tea (cups/bottled). The best I have ever drank.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just a short ferry ride away from Kaohsiung city, Cijing island is a nice place for a short getaway. We went on a cycling trip around the island, visiting the various landmarks such as the lighthouse and the fort. However do remember to visit this place after checking the weather. We were on the return leg of our cycling trip towards the ferry terminal when it started to rain heavily causing us to be drenched from head to toe.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Boring place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nothing much to do other than the night market. If you like the sea view, by all means go. There's a dried goods market with countless stalls all selling the same things.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chichin Island also viewed

 

Been to Chichin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chichin Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.