We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kaohsiung Ahotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kaohsiung Ahotel to your Saves list
Kaohsiung Ahotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.487 Jian-Guo Third Road, Kaohsiung, Taiwan (Formerly Kaohsiung Gear Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 252 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“OK stay..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed here as part of our tour itinerary. Not sure how much it would cost per night since the accommodation was already included as part of the tour. The room we stayed was ok in size, with an old toilet. The room itself was fine, not especially clean or dirty. Gear hotel is located a bit away from the city centre, so we took a cab to the night market and the shopping area instead of walking. It cost us about NTD100 from the night market back to the hotel. Breakfast served was ok, but could be improved with the food quality.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

The Gear Hotel has everything you need - it's clean enough, they provided us with breakfast (albeit from McDonald's), and it's extremely cheap. It's also walking distance from the Love River which is great. However, it's located a little far from the city centre and the nearest metro station (Kaohsiung Main Station) is a 15-25 minute walk down the Jian Guo San Lu. However, distance from the city centre and the metro lines aside, the hotel is clean and graet value for the price. I would definitely consider staynig their again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

The stay with this hotel ruined my holiday mood. Toilet flush was broken when we checked in. Only realised this when i was using the toilet and that it couldn't flush. When i called the manager up to check, he was accusing us of brokening the flush! To this, I retorted " If you have checked the room thoroughly, why is it that you failed to notice the broken flush and still let us the guests check in to this room and causing so much inconvenience to us? If you still want to accuse us, pls call the police for a thorough investigation in this matter." I did not know what he did to the flush later to make it work, but then, the water flow was still very weak. I wanted to change room but he refused claiming that all rooms were full. As the stay was only a night i did not want to pursue any further. This was the worst service I have encountered. Never again would i step in to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

Gear Hotel is located at quite a distance from Kaohsiung Train Station, Love River and Liuho Night Market. Average walking time is about 30 mins. Breakfast served can be improved further. Room amenities are okay. Only comments are on the location and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaohsiung Ahotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaohsiung Ahotel

Address: No.487 Jian-Guo Third Road, Kaohsiung, Taiwan (Formerly Kaohsiung Gear Hotel)
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 252 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaohsiung Ahotel 3*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kaohsiung Ahotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaohsiung Ahotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.