We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder of Buddha’s peace” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fo Guang Shan Monastery

Fo Guang Shan Monastery
No.153, Xingtian Rd.,Dashu Dist., Kaohsiung 84010, Taiwan
07-6561921-8
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$581*
and up
5-Day Best of Taiwan Tour from Taipei: Sun Moon...
Ranked #3 of 109 Attractions in Kaohsiung
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Activities: Dining
Attraction details
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonder of Buddha’s peace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Al most 37km’s away from Kaohsiung. Takes about 650 NT in taxi. Worth visiting this memorial hall. Sprawling in vast area in front of the Gaoping river that has a beautiful suspension bridge. Grand Buddha is impressive in the monastery. Complimentary free service vehicle available to visit the entire area. Pagodas all the way depicts the life of great Buddha and are distinctive from one another. Landscaping is beautiful

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    45
    10
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Peace from within - a Great monastery for ALL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is my second time visiting this Monastery - my first visit brought me to knowing two nice Taiwan people who volunteered to bring me around Fo Guang Shan and brought me lunch/ souvenirs with no ill-intention (That was history).

The reason of my second visit to Fo Guang Shan is that the Buddha Memorial Center is still not opened during my first visit. This time round, I tried to spend more time at the Buddha Memorial Center. You can either walk around max 20 minutes from the Fo Guang Shan main entrance or take the tramp at a minimal fee (if I do not remember wrongly, its NT10 for as single trip - they encourage young people to walk to the place though, however they will not deny anyone from taking the tramps) - lunch is served free (with donations at any amount) at specific timings and the food served is good :)

The Buddhist Memorial Centre is more touristy and business oriented which shops, restaurants at the entrance - a further walk will bring you to the entrance of the pathway leading to the Great Buddha Statue. The exhibitions in the Memorial Centre may be seasonal. I went in December 2012 and was able to view some wood carvings of characters from the 4 great novels of China (The Journey to the West, Water Margin, etc).

To travel to Fo Guang Shan
- you can either take a cab which could be very expensive, depending on your location
- take a train to JiuQuTang Station (the nearest train station to Fo Guang Shan), from this train station, take a cab or a bus (I suggest taking a cab as the buses are very irregular - I waited 2 hours for the only bus that travels to FGS)
- take a bus from E-Da at Zuoying KRT Station

To travel back from Fo Guang Shan
- rather than taking the train route, its easier to take the bus back to E-Da (Zuoying KRT Station)

In the memorial centre - for a donation of NT1000, you are able to light a candle for a whole year of blessings and a vase to take home some holy water - it was very fascinating to see the transfer of holy water from the Goddess of Mercy's vase to your vase (you have to be there to witness it as videography is not allowed, hence was not able to take a video or photographs)

As there still some places which have yet to be opened or under construction, my next visit may bring new surprises, hopefully :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Originally a Very Spiritual, Low-key Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

For years, being an expat teacher at an American school in Taiwan, I took students in my geography class (as part of a cultural/religion unit) to Fo Guang Shan, and each time I went there, I admittedly felt a tranquil sense overwhelm me, which is rather amazing given that I was taking 10-15 middle schoolers around. On other visits with family, it was the same: The place exudes tranquility and peacefulness. Strolling along the tree-lined lanes, meandering amongst the seemingly countless statues of Buddha, and wandering into various halls all gave me a connection to something otherworldly, for I just felt like there was something more to life than the hustle and bustle of it all. However, in the last year or two, the place has expanded, and the newly developed area is nothing like the old, in my opinion. Although the new addition deserves a visit simply to see the grandiose scale of the new, pagoda-lined plaza, headed by an even grander pyramid structure, atop which sits a massive Buddha, I would spend most of my time, if I were you, in the older section of the monastery.

Although I don't know if I can add it here, I've posted a blog with photos of the place at this link:

http://vagabondwithfamily.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/fo-guang-shan-in-kaohsiung-taiwan-buddhist-monastery-and-buddha-memorial-hall/

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful showcase of Buddha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

You gotta visit this place, a vast land showcasing Buddha. It's not fully completed as the statues have yet to be painted. So far only one Buddha statue has been beautifully painted. One would feel very peaceful once there. To be able to visit the place and get to know more on Buddha, you need to spend at least half a day there.

Definitely, a worthwhile place to visit even if you are not a Buddhist.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Must spend some time here..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a really really nice place where you could spend 2-3 hours of your trip. Everything in there is worth looking into in precise details. Look through the 4 exhibit halls to get to know more about Buddhism and Fo Guang Shan.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fo Guang Shan Monastery also viewed

 
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
 

Been to Fo Guang Shan Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fo Guang Shan Monastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.