We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4D meets tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fo Guang Shan Buddha Memorial Centre

Fo Guang Shan Buddha Memorial Centre
No.1 Tongling Road, Tongling Li, Dashu District, Kaohsiung 84049, Taiwan
07-6563033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 104 Attractions in Kaohsiung
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“4D meets tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had no expectations but I was extremely impressed with this centre. I had a mentor helping me through as I think there is limited English signage but despite that I had a 100% experience. The 4D short movie, the palm reading and postcards are all technology driven but within a setting of reverence and tradition,

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    31
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
xxx
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
829 helpful votes 829 helpful votes
“Salute from a non Mahayana Buddhist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a brand new and very elegant worship place which is exactly the opposite of a few other attraction/things to do in this industrial town called Kaohsiung (like visiting night market where people are grilling live shrimps on a stick till it is dead, aren't they Buddhist?).
Please refer to excellent direction from fellow TA reviewers unless you are going to this out ot town place with group tour. Founder of this Memorial Center is very wise, broad minded and welcomes everyone although theme of the place is Mahayana. This is a place for all ages and you could try some of those activities;
- 4D show is great for kids to introduce life of Budda.
- try a vegetarian meal at the very first building where you can find many shops in grandest scale. At least you will feel good although whether this is an important aspect of Buddhism.
- take a lot of pictures

Thing could improve: I wish there is some English speaking devotees on site. Again this is a general problem in Taiwan and I doubt it will improve soon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great cultural experience even for non Buddhist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Before we visited the Memorial, we though this is just going to be like another temple like setting where you will find Buddha and a place of warship. Instead it is a very well designed Museum park that is great for families and non-Buddhists. The place is huge and full of interesting exhibits and halls. We were very lucky to met a Austrian buddhist volunteer guide (Dale) who gave us a personal tour of the facility in English.
Public transportation is excellent, there is regular bus taking people between E-DA (another great fun place to visit for family), train stations.
For someone who loves more than just photo ops with the huge Buddha figure, you will need one full day to enjoy and explore. If you enjoy visiting Mesumes, you WILL enjoy the place.
2 Days Itinerary - departing from Taipei
DAY ONE
Take High Speed Rail to Taipei in the early morning hours >> Take E-Da Bus to one of the two hotels in E-Da Theme Park >> check-in or leave your bags at the hotel >> Take Bus from hotel to Memorial Center or take their contract Taxi for less than US$9 for a family of 4 >> Check-in with the Information Center, they have a number of English speaking hosts there to tell you how to best spend your time there >> a vegetarian Lunch at the Center >> After Tour, take bus or call Hotel back to the E-Da hotel that you staying in.
DAY TWO
E-Da Theme Park

TIPS - make sure you speak to one of the English speaking visitor center member. Enjoy a great Vegetarian lunch. The place runs on donations, suggest donation US$10 per adult.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent place to learn about Buddhism and Chinese culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Directions: Take the “E-da” purple bus number 8501 from platform 5 exit 1 from Zuoying HSR station. It will bring you to the Buddha Memorial Centre (BMC) in about 40min.

BMC is HUGE (and new, opened in Dec 2011). You should spent a minimum of 5 hours if you want to really cover every bit of the centre. When you first enter the premises, you will enter a building that houses the shops and restaurants. On the 2nd level of this building, you can have buffet lunch for TWD100. There is a Starbucks, nice chocolatr bar, coffeehouse and even 7-Eleven store! Then, walk along one side of the 4 pagodas. Each pagoda has something to view/shop. Admire and learn from the murals along the long corridor. Once you reach the main pyramid-like building, head for the hall on the “birth of the Buddha” to get the tickets for the 4D movie. There is a fixed timing so it’s good to get the tickets first. Then, walk around the other halls. I would recommend that you walk the first level, then the 2nd level and lastly, the third level. The 4 stupas at the corners of the 3rd level are really good places where there are less people. Spend sometime there meditating. From the 3rd level, you can also catch a bird’s eye view of the surrounding area and of the large gold Buddha statue. The buffer vegetarian lunch was really good.

I would recommend that you set out early. When I reached around 930am, there were easily 20-30 large coach buses. There were many tourists. Ideally, you could take the 820am E-da bus and arrive at BMC by 9am. You would be ahead of the groups of tourists then.

There is no entrance fee. Everything is free including the 4D movie but it will be good to make a donation on your own. There are many donation boxes around. Just drop some donations in. Have fun!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fo Guang Shan Buddha Memorial Centre also viewed

 
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
 

Been to Fo Guang Shan Buddha Memorial Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fo Guang Shan Buddha Memorial Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.