We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Clean & Economic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of R8 Eco Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added R8 Eco Hotel to your Saves list
R8 Eco Hotel
12F., No.6, Wenheng 2nd Rd, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 250 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New, Clean & Economic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It was fantastic. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Initially while reading up on Kaohsiung, we thought there wasn't much to do, but upon arrival and speaking with the staff, there was so much shopping to do in KaoHsiung, and much sight-seeing! We wanted to stay 1 more day in Kaohsiung, but our taipei hotel did not allow cancellations. HighSpeed Train tickets allow changing of dates for return travel, depending on availability of seats. If it is not a national holiday in taiwan you should still be able to get a seat on the same day.

The rooms were huge. Although we were a group of 3 travelling, we booked the family quad room, and the staff said that the triple room was bigger, and slightly more expensive. Their shampoo and body gel was really refreshing in aroma. I clarified with the staff, and the shampoo was indeed those of the aroma therapy relaxing fragrance. We really loved the hotel room's simplistic design and colours. And they actually named their hotel R8 Eco Hotel because the hotel is located in R8 station of Kaohsiung MRT. Their rooms are also labelled and decorated according to the MRT line. Quite a cute and interesting idea. My room was R10, and it had information on the MRT stop Famosa Boulevard.

I liked their breakfast concept of outsourcing to a nearby cafe - 85degrees cafe. They served good coffee and bread. I realise the cafe had more selections of bread in the late morning. Breakfast voucher is also valid for the entire day till the closing of the cafe. They had cheesecakes and different types of cakes too in the morning.

Their concept of Eco friendly hotel was really good, and they even had 2 types of bins in the rooms, 1 was for trash and the other for recycling. If you're an eco-friendly person, you'd like this hotel. Oh and they had many powerpoint for charging your electronics. Highly recommended for all groups travelling in Kaohsiung!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Got a room with a view of the skytower... the breakfast vouchers can be used anytime of the day at a nearby cafe which was very good.. the wifi signal was excellent... the entrance may put you in doubt but its a totally different world on the 12th floor..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Free wifi in room and connection was pretty stable. Spacious room with pinkish walls and room had a new feel to it since it started business only in August 2012. Bed was super comfortable, for a good night's sleep after all the shopping in Kaoshiung. Aircon was working fine, not too cold or too hot. Also there is a small night market right below the hotel with really wonderful Taiwenese Snacks and food, especially the Bubble Tea (at least 3 stalls along the stretch). Location of Hotel is directly opposite Shin Kong Mitsukoshi (across the main street). Nearby of hotel, there is already 3 shopping malls if you like shopping in these (10 miuntes walk the most). 8 miuntes walk to nearest Metro station. Walkable distance to New Juejiang, for the main shopping district in Kaoshiung!!! 15 miuntes walking. I totally love this hotel. Best hotel in my 11 days trip to Taiwan. But do note that they do not allow early check-in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sibu, malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during my stay in Kaosiung, Taiwan just recently. In terms of location, the hotel is definitely very strategicalky located. it's not far from the MRT station and next to it there are 3 big shopping centres. However, you may not be able to notice the hotel obviously from outside as the logo is a bit small. When you reach the right lane, you need to look UP to see the logo. The entrance of the hotel is actually the entrance of an ordinary community apartment, hence you may not find it appealing. You need to use the lift to go up to 12th floor to its lobby. Once you reach the lobby, you will find a totally different feel. The rooms are very well and contemporarily designed with different themes of the kaosiung Subway station. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Our room has a balcony that can have a view of kaosiung city at night. The hotel doesnt have any restaurant but they will give you a breakfast coupon for redemption at the 85C cafe next block. Do not need to worry of the food as right below the hotel is a night market with a lot of cheap and delicious food. There is a stall that sells lemon fried chicken fillet, we think that is the best fried chicken fillet that we ever had in taiwan. The hotel does not provide refill of toiletries n towels if you are staying more than 1 night, but that is fine with me. The only setback of this hotel is perhaps their shower's water pressure is not strong enough and the lighting at the shower area is not enough, probably due to their eco-friendly concept. As a whole, i still like this hotel, for their hospitality and value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to R8 Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R8 Eco Hotel

Address: 12F., No.6, Wenheng 2nd Rd, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 250 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your R8 Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R8 Eco Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.