We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 85 Sky Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added 85 Sky Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
85 Sky Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37-85F, No.1 Tzu-Chiang Third Road, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan (Formerly The Splendor Hotel Kaohsiung)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 243 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were in Kaohsiung as part of an American-Taiwan wedding party. Overall this was a very pleasant place to stay for people who know only a few words of Chinese.

The customer service was excellent. Concierge and check-in/check-out services were very good. When I had trouble with the free Wi-Fi, Max helped me obtain an in-room access point, which met my needs. The location and view of the city was excellent from our room on the 60th floor. There were retail stores on the first floor and many on the street nearby, including the ubiquitous Seven Eleven. Free fruit in the room, and always extreme courtesy.

My dislikes were minor:
• It does not appear to be that old, but our bathroom could have used some updates.
• There was no way to eat breakfast or lunch a la carte (had to use room service), and the buffet, though it looked to be of excellent quality, exceeded our breakfast preferences and was too expensive for coffee and toast only.
• The lobby is on the 39th floor, which means two elevators to your room, though this was not really that bad unless you are in a hurry or really tired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    115
    43
    5
    3
See reviews for
48
51
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The rooms at the Splendour Hotel are clean and modern with great views. I especially enjoyed the electronic toilet!!
When we first checked in we were put in a room a few doors down from the high speed elevators and had to complain about the noise, which sounded like a jet plane scraping the roof every 20 seconds. The response was excellent though... Within 5 minutes a porter arrived to move us into a room on the other side of the building where we couldn't hear the lift at all.
The buffet style dinner and breakfast in the hotel was 1st class with a massive selection of quality food to choose from.
Would definitely recommend but always request a room away from the elevators!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Good location, around 10 min to metro
big and clean room with warm hearted service
Full range of buffet breakfast
Easy transportation and good view to ai river
Several big shopping mall around, easy to buy gifts

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my families(my parents, husband and the 22months old son) when we traveled to south of Taiwan in January. We booked the family suite but found the room was awkward shaped and small. Therefore, we changed to two separate deluxe rooms with harbor view. Although the price of the room is more expensive than other hotels in Kaohsiung, the room was in the good size and the view was awesome. There were many assortments for breakfast selection. Everything else was tasty but coffee. The hotel staff was polite and friendly. I would recommend the hotel to those who prefer western comparable style and are price insensitive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Amazing stay during the New Year's Week. This is the tallest hotel in Taiwan and the views are amazing. They provide breakfast that was very good and have great views of the bay and the city. The room was very compariable to Hotels in the U.S. The place is very clean. The only drawback is that you have to switch elevators about twice. Staff is great and helpful. Would stay here again if I'm in the Kaohsiung area. A++

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The rooms are big, well equipped and the views are stunning. The marble bathroom is huge and has separate bath and shower. The best part about this hotel is the fact that you get to stay on a really high floor with great views. No matter which direction room you get, you're bound to be impressed by what you can see in front of you. The rooms also came with a fruit platter which was a nice touch.

There are two things that this hotel really didn't match up to my standard 1) there was no free wifi included in the room (ethernet cabled internet is fee and internet is also available in the lobby, but tablets = no ethernet connection); 2) the lobby is very poor. I tried, as the hotel staff suggested, to use the wifi in the lobby, but the lobby is very small, and all up probably only has about 10 chairs, all very close to one another. Because of the low ceilings in the lobby and the small area, any conversation echoed loudly and made the experience of trying to use the wifi very unpleasant. For a 5-star hotel, I would have expected a grander and more comfortable lobby. Besides my complaints of no free wifi and small lobby, the hotel is still a pleasant stay.

Breakfast is made up of stretches and stretches of different styled foods. I was quite happy with the choices that were on offer, there really is something for everyone. My experience with the coffee there was terrible - I recommend avoiding the coffee... I heard that you might be able to get barista coffee from the wait staff for free, but definitely stay clear of the coffee machine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

It was my first time in Kaohsiung and we booked in Splendor Hotel, is one of the best hotel I have ever stayed in my life. Very nice rooms, very nice pool and breakfast was great! The services of the staffs were also very good, location is easy to move around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 85 Sky Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 85 Sky Tower Hotel

Address: 37-85F, No.1 Tzu-Chiang Third Road, Kaohsiung 802, Taiwan (Formerly The Splendor Hotel Kaohsiung)
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kaohsiung
#6 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 85 Sky Tower Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendor Kaohsiung Hotel, located in the landmark of Kaohsiung Tuntex Sky Tower, has been certified by the Taiwan Tourism Bureau as the highest five-star hotel in Taiwan. With huge support from Earntex Group, owner of Splendor Kaohsiung Hotel, the hotel upholds the intimate, elegant, and the unique style differs from the old thinking and limitations. The Splendor Kaohsiung Hotel is pleased to announce that its new name has been officially changed to Singfornee Hotel Corporation, 85 Sky Tower Hotel. The name change will be affective as of July 1st, 2013. This new brand sets sail forward as it includes the intention to deliver our objectives and ideals to furthermore serve every guest with enthusiasm and comfort. Hence it is planning to install new facilities to honor the commitment given from guests. 85 Sky Tower Hotel, formerly known as The Splendor Kaohsiung, was specified by the 2009 World Games as its appointed hotel. It is known and appreciates to be as one of the top choices by political leaders, orchestras, artists, and celebrities. After renewing its steps and developments, 85 Sky Tower Hotel continues to persist and to commit with the idea of keeping excellence with world-class five-star hotel standards. With more than a dozen Chinese, Western, and Japanese restaurants located in the hotel, 85 Sky Tower Hotel is using lean materials, unique workmanship to provide the top quality cuisine. It is also a regular contender in Cuisine of the Year contest. In order to continue fulfilling the expectations from both old and new customers, 85 Sky Tower Hotel will comprehensively enhance the dish quality with new Michelin chefs to provide exquisite dining experience. It is planning to become the leading brand in southern Taiwan and is committed to work towards the goal in the near future. 85 Sky Tower Hotel is Committed to promote the spirit of its brand and to vigorously work with the Kaohsiung City Government therefore to improve Kaohsiung tourism image. In addition to enhance the “delicate” and “professional” travel services, 85 Sky Tower Hotel is offering various travel products from the perspective of local cultural to help developing the beauty of Kaohsiung as the Marine Capital City. It strives to lead the travelers on to an experience of rediscovering Kaohsiung and to make 85 Sky Tower Hotel as the home of the travelers when they visit Kaohsiung. We will always uphold the highest principles of being customer-oriented regarding to dining and room services with continuous effort to reach perfection. Once again, thank you for your support! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your 85 Sky Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaohsiung Splendor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 85 Sky Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.