We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kingdom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kingdom to your Saves list
Hotel Kingdom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.42 Wu-Fu 4th Road, Kaohsiung 803, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 277 Hotels in Kaohsiung
patrick074
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I am rather worried when I booked this hotel, looking at reviews on tripadvisor that this hotel is rather shabby and not in good condition.
Upon arrival, I found that the lobby is decent, room are spacious by taiwan standard, and quite well kept in view of the age of this hotel.
really nothing to complaint about. I'm paying lesser than USD100 including decent breakfast.
location is quite good. just next to the love river, along the stretch that filled with most activitis.
MRT is around 10 min walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    56
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
22
18
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is my first trip to Kaohsiung and I was glad this hotel was chosen.
There were free wifi terminals to use on the lobby. Pleasant musicians performing at certain peak hours. It was convenient to visit other places from the nearby stations. Service from the staff was very pleasant.Staff was helpful and polite.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The hotel is in a walking distance from the nearest MRT station and in a nice area (plenty of shopping a dining opportunities, including local stuff). The staff proved very helpful and obliging (we had a somewhat unusual request). Rooms were clean and well equipped. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and included both western and Chinese fare. Overall, we were very satisfied and would recommend this hotel. One minor negative is that the hotel does not have wheelchair-accessible rooms (but a regular room may suffice if the wheelchair is not over 60cm in width to fit through the bathroom door).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

When I last visited Kaoshiung some 30 years ago, Hotel Kingdom was probably among the best in town. Some reviewers were fortunate to have stayed in refurbished rooms, but our room appeared not yet refurbished. The room was reasonably spacious, but the small TV set was still the old-fashioned type. The hotel is just one block away from the Love River. Walking along the river was an enjoyable experience. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I was at Kaohsiung for one day on 24 Feb 11, as part of my trip to Taiwan. The location is very good - a few mins walk from MRT, very near to the Kaohsiung "Love River". The hotel room is spacious and clean, see my attached photos to believe. The hotel staff were very friendly, greeting us with big smiles. The breakfast, provided by the hotel, is buffet styled and frankly speaking, the breakfast can be further improved. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Kingdom and would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel at one time was probably the best hotel around but it's definitely showing its age. It is nicely located, couple blocks away from Ai He, but the room is a bit dated and depends on which room you get, you still get a CRT tv and a non-smoking room reeks of smoke. But the staff is very courteous and will change the room upon request. They have a really good breakfast, with both Western and Chinese style foods. It has all the amenities such as fridge, hair dryer, and hygiene stuff but no alarm clock. The carpet and much of the furnishing has seen better days though. There are several computers with internet access in the lobby which is pretty convenient.

This is a hotel used by tour groups - so it could get crowded at times for checkin/checkout.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

stayed in a few hotels over the past few days of a group tour.

this one is one of the hotels with a smaller room (abt 2/3 of the other double rooms).

the bath towels were kind of damp ... had initially thot that it was becoz after my dad had taken his shower ... but learnt the next morning that it was the same for some of the other group members.

the bed was rock hard !! as if we were sleeping on a piece of wood with just a mattress protector over it !

my mom also complained that the pillow had a 'smell' as if it was not clean.

Kingdom ? i dun think so.

* i was quite surprised to see a female staff dispatch our bags to our rooms. i had initially thot she was recept or something .... pity her.(but i had carried my own bags).

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kingdom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kingdom

Address: No.42 Wu-Fu 4th Road, Kaohsiung 803, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kingdom 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 15-story Hotel located in shopping & business district near Love River; 15 minutes from train station & 10 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kingdom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingdom Hotel Kaohsiung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kingdom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.