We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel with lovely swimming pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hi-Lai Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Hi-Lai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.266 Chengkung First Road, Chienchin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 244 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“5 star hotel with lovely swimming pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a huge, elegant hotel with plenty of facilities and helpful employees. I loved the open air pool on the 11th floor and enjoyed a swim there before breakfast and in the evening: a pool temperature of 29C is perfect! The view across the harbour from our room on the 29th floor was great (it would not necessarily be enjoyed by someone afraid of heights!). . The buffet breakfast selection is vast, and we also chose the evening buffet in the same restaurant on the 45th floor. There was free wifi in the lobby-bar area, but you had to pay extra for wifi access in the room. An unusual gift in the room was a straw hat – quite Texan! There were also weighing scales – I think our gave a reading 5kg too high though!

For an upmarket hotel, it was everything you could expect. However, I have a couple of personal gripes, both of which are applicable to most smart hotels. First, why can backpacker hostels provide free wifi but not smart hotels? And second – why is the room temperature set so cold? I consider 22C is too cold for comfort, 26-28C would be much more pleasant for hotel when the outside temperature is over 30C, especially as air-conditioning makes the air dry. In the room I could switch the air-con off, but in the restaurant I was uncomfortably cold during our evening meal. This also wastes vast amounts of electricity! Perhaps the Hi-Lai Hotel can set an example by introducing a new norm for warmer temperatures inside during summer?

Room Tip: High room with view
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    134
    38
    5
    5
See reviews for
63
45
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My room on a high floor in this local hotel had a nice paranomic view of the Kaohsiung harbor which was great if you have no time for the harbor cruise.

For the Hello Kitty fans out there, one of the selling points of this hotel is their Hello Kitty theme rooms and collectibles available for purchase.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hualien, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed 2nights in this hotel. It is well located near the down town in Kaohsiung, and close to the pier. The room is clean, but a little old decorated. The room is equipped with Wi-Fi, but it is not free for use! It is hard to believed there is no free WiFi in such a lux hotel in Taiwan. The attendant is polite but not enthusiastic, we spent a lot of time for check-in and room changing.

Room Tip: The most valued room is at the north-west corner, you can enjoy both the night-sight of downtown and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I don't understand Taiwan. Why don't they provide bedside power outlets? International travelers generally return to their rooms late, with their mobile devices running low on power. They might enjoy the convenience of having the devices charging nearby when they are in bed, instead of having to stumble across the room to reach them when needed. Otherwise, the hotel is great, full of restaurants of all sorts, including a vegetarian one. Personally, i liked the supermarket down in the basement with its reasonably big food court, featuring one vegetarian buffet restaurant, among others. If you like good quality bread, I 'd advise you not to buy it from the supermarket bakery. For some reason in Taiwan they put a lot of sugar in every piece of bread! But of course that has nothing to do with the hotel. The hotel is fine. Just fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiangyin, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is my second stay in this hotel, really enjoyed the stay. Both times I got the late flight to Kaohsiung so I arrived after midnight to the hotel, but the reception was too quick on the check in. Breakfast is very good when compared to other hotels is China mainland; I found good variety of food in breakfast and they have some nice restaurants. There is a shopping center in the same building, so no need to go outside for shopping, unless you choose to buy some local stuff. Excellent view of the city from the hotel, I really like the harbor view. The rooms are quite big and comfortable. All the rooms have independent WiFi and the common areas are also supported by Wifi. One thing to remember if you have some noisy neighbor then you will have sleepless night. But I highly recommend this hotel for comfort, location, service and food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is a prime example of what I like about Asian hotels: cgreat service, large clean high-end room, great restaurant choices. The company I was visiting made reservations for me at the Grand Hi-Lai and I'm happy they did. The view of the harbor was beautiful. Breakfast was awesome. Quick check-in and out. Only regret is that I didn't have more time to explore the neighborhood around the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Although the style of the hotel may be considered slightly out of date which is understandable since there is still a 80's TV in the bathroom, the hotel is still in good condition and far from being old. Rooms are large and the hotel has all modern amenities available, including free wifi internet in both room and common area. The staff is very friendly and provides excellent service is all areas. You are really treated well here and are taken care of perfectly. This hotel is also known for its many restaurants, of which I have tried two and can confirm that they are of good standard. The common breakfast area severs to all tastes.
I do have to agree with below on the shower head they really need to be replaced as mine had a few cracks and the flow was weak.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hi-Lai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hi-Lai Hotel

Address: No.266 Chengkung First Road, Chienchin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hi-Lai Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Grand Hi-Lai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hi Lai Hotel
Grand Hi Lai Kaohsiung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hi-Lai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.