We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hi-Lai Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Hi-Lai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.266 Chengkung First Road, Chienchin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 242 hotels in Kaohsiung
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had two nights here. Extraordinary place. A "Grand" hotel in every sense. The lobby soars in a very classic show of wood. The staff are just the best. Courteous without being overbearing.
The hotel is tall and long. My room was in a cluster (each corridor seems to end with multiple clusters) providing a sense of great privacy. The rooms are a nice size, close to too big, with great hardwood, classic furniture, and a very up-to-date bath.
I look greatly forward to another stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    133
    37
    5
    5
See reviews for
62
45
27
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for a short business trip. Very enjoyable trip.
Room was spacious and comfortable.
Service quality was good. Except the staff in the reception wasn't very helpful when check in.
On our arrival, room wasn't ready and she just let us waited and waited without any information when our room could be ready. We had to stood near the check in counter, till a manager notice our unhappy face and quickly assist to make a room ready for us.
Apart from that incident, we still had a good time staying at this hotel.

The swimming pool was awesome. Perfect to hang out in the hot afternoon.
We tried the buffet restaurant, food was in good quality, freshly made and very Japanese style.

There are also many restaurants nearby, so a great pleasure to explore the delicious local meals.
They also offer free shuttle to the metro station of the central park.
Metro is the easiest way to touring around the city.

Room Tip: A higher floor facing the sea was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location is convenient to everything. They provide so many amenities. I always feel safe and secure while at this place. The service is consistently outstanding. It was definitely one of the best hotel experiences of my life. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is located in the big department store where you can find high end luxurious brands such as Chanel, Hermes, Dior, Cartier. In the basement, you can find supermarkets and lots of small restaurants to eat.

The hotel itself is impeccable. Although it's one of the old hotels in kaohsiung, the facilities and the rooms are very well kept. Most of the rooms have a fantastic view overlooking Kaohsiung city. Some of them have harbor view which is quite amazing. The bed is comfortable, either too soft or too hard.

What impresses me the most is the great service here. Everyone is very polite and professional. They try their best to make your stay comfortable. No matter where you are, the restaurant, the lobby, the bar, the business center, the swimming pool, everyone is very friendly. During our trip, my friend injured his ankle and had to stay in kaohsiung for 4 more days. The hotel staff was very friendly. They used their car, sent their staff to accompany us to the hospital, lent us the wheel chair to use and brought ice tubes many times. From time to time, they even showed their concern by asking whether my friend's situation had improved or not.

There are several restaurants at the hotel, restaurant for shanghai steamed dumplings, one for cantonese dishes, one for seafood hotpot, one steak house, one for buffet, one for taiwanese food, one for japanese cuisine, and also a bar on the 45th floor with beautiful view. We tried the shanghai dumplings and the cantonese restaurant, they are very good and reasonably priced. The breakfast is good too, lots of variety.

If I have to point out some negative aspects of this hotel, there are two:
1. when we are here, it's high season (tomb sweeping festival). Lots of people at the hotel. Good for the hotel, but sometimes it's get a bit too crowded, such as taking the elevator and we even had to wait for our table one day for breakfast.
2. as a hotel guest, you can only use the swimming pool and the fitness for free. If you want to use the sauna, you have to pay extra. That's the first time that I have encountered such rule.

All in all, I'd recommend this hotel to everybody and will definitely come back again in the future.

Room Tip: try to ask for a room with harbor view. it's stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Recently stayed here and got a HELLO KITTY room! I still can get over the excitement that I had to travel all the way to Kaoshiung, the southern part of Taiwan just to fulfill a wish! I've been planning for this trip for 2 years and now I've done it!
I can't believe how PINK the room is...Im not really a fan of the color PINK, it's just that I loooooove Hello Kitty!
The room is BIG! with lots of amenities...and FREEBIES too. Aside from the usual coffee, tea, water and fruits... they gave us sweet tea as welcome drinks, aromatic oil for the room.
I was impressed with all the Hello Kitty stuff they placed on the room even the dining utensils they used for our Hello Kitty breakfast :D With the Hello Kitty package, I got to ride the Hello Kitty car and the driver brought us to the Dream Mall for my free ferris wheel ride, got complimentary bike rides for 2, a gift certificate for the Hello Kitty gift shop, and very cute Hello Kitty plush doll exclusively made for the hotel.
Grand Hi-Lai hotel in Kaoshiung is the best 5-star hotel. They have a big mall located several floors down the the hotel itself. Includes famous brands, a supermarket, chic cafes and dining places and a food court too! The hotel has a pool, gym, function room, nice classy rooms, cars for rent and the staff are courteous, helpful and always smiling :) I would definitely book in this hotel again next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The room is very clean and spacious. The staff are friendly. I think having a great department store downstair is great selling point of it as you can get what you want very easily. Tried the food of the hotel, the quality is very very good compared to its price. Strongly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Firstly if you arrive in a large tourist bus you have to leave bus on level 1 (ground) then take elevator up level 2 to check in. Staff were very helpful. We found just as easy to walk up ramp (where taxis & cars go to check in) Another 5 star hotel, rooms again where as expected, Room 2708, well appointed & clean. Hotel is of top of large department (well worth a look). Located in centre. Plenty of places to go & eat. As with Taiwan, walking around safe. Breakfast was of the standard & variety expected. My only comment to the hotel is please watch appropriate placing of your national flag

Room Tip: Unless you speak Chinese make sure you take a business card from hotel with address in Chinese. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hi-Lai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hi-Lai Hotel

Address: No.266 Chengkung First Road, Chienchin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hi-Lai Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Grand Hi-Lai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hi Lai Hotel
Grand Hi Lai Kaohsiung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hi-Lai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.