We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hi-Lai Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hi-Lai Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.266 Chengkung First Road, Chienchin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 297 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location is convenient to everything. They provide so many amenities. I always feel safe and secure while at this place. The service is consistently outstanding. It was definitely one of the best hotel experiences of my life. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is located in the big department store where you can find high end luxurious brands such as Chanel, Hermes, Dior, Cartier. In the basement, you can find supermarkets and lots of small restaurants to eat.

The hotel itself is impeccable. Although it's one of the old hotels in kaohsiung, the facilities and the rooms are very well kept. Most of the rooms have a fantastic view overlooking Kaohsiung city. Some of them have harbor view which is quite amazing. The bed is comfortable, either too soft or too hard.

What impresses me the most is the great service here. Everyone is very polite and professional. They try their best to make your stay comfortable. No matter where you are, the restaurant, the lobby, the bar, the business center, the swimming pool, everyone is very friendly. During our trip, my friend injured his ankle and had to stay in kaohsiung for 4 more days. The hotel staff was very friendly. They used their car, sent their staff to accompany us to the hospital, lent us the wheel chair to use and brought ice tubes many times. From time to time, they even showed their concern by asking whether my friend's situation had improved or not.

There are several restaurants at the hotel, restaurant for shanghai steamed dumplings, one for cantonese dishes, one for seafood hotpot, one steak house, one for buffet, one for taiwanese food, one for japanese cuisine, and also a bar on the 45th floor with beautiful view. We tried the shanghai dumplings and the cantonese restaurant, they are very good and reasonably priced. The breakfast is good too, lots of variety.

If I have to point out some negative aspects of this hotel, there are two:
1. when we are here, it's high season (tomb sweeping festival). Lots of people at the hotel. Good for the hotel, but sometimes it's get a bit too crowded, such as taking the elevator and we even had to wait for our table one day for breakfast.
2. as a hotel guest, you can only use the swimming pool and the fitness for free. If you want to use the sauna, you have to pay extra. That's the first time that I have encountered such rule.

All in all, I'd recommend this hotel to everybody and will definitely come back again in the future.

Room Tip: try to ask for a room with harbor view. it's stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chizheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently stayed here and got a HELLO KITTY room! I still can get over the excitement that I had to travel all the way to Kaoshiung, the southern part of Taiwan just to fulfill a wish! I've been planning for this trip for 2 years and now I've done it!
I can't believe how PINK the room is...Im not really a fan of the color PINK, it's just that I loooooove Hello Kitty!
The room is BIG! with lots of amenities...and FREEBIES too. Aside from the usual coffee, tea, water and fruits... they gave us sweet tea as welcome drinks, aromatic oil for the room.
I was impressed with all the Hello Kitty stuff they placed on the room even the dining utensils they used for our Hello Kitty breakfast :D With the Hello Kitty package, I got to ride the Hello Kitty car and the driver brought us to the Dream Mall for my free ferris wheel ride, got complimentary bike rides for 2, a gift certificate for the Hello Kitty gift shop, and very cute Hello Kitty plush doll exclusively made for the hotel.
Grand Hi-Lai hotel in Kaoshiung is the best 5-star hotel. They have a big mall located several floors down the the hotel itself. Includes famous brands, a supermarket, chic cafes and dining places and a food court too! The hotel has a pool, gym, function room, nice classy rooms, cars for rent and the staff are courteous, helpful and always smiling :) I would definitely book in this hotel again next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pass_d_duchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The room is very clean and spacious. The staff are friendly. I think having a great department store downstair is great selling point of it as you can get what you want very easily. Tried the food of the hotel, the quality is very very good compared to its price. Strongly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Firstly if you arrive in a large tourist bus you have to leave bus on level 1 (ground) then take elevator up level 2 to check in. Staff were very helpful. We found just as easy to walk up ramp (where taxis & cars go to check in) Another 5 star hotel, rooms again where as expected, Room 2708, well appointed & clean. Hotel is of top of large department (well worth a look). Located in centre. Plenty of places to go & eat. As with Taiwan, walking around safe. Breakfast was of the standard & variety expected. My only comment to the hotel is please watch appropriate placing of your national flag

Room Tip: Unless you speak Chinese make sure you take a business card from hotel with address in Chinese. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Joseph_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Though the hotel was there for a big while, they still keep up their good service, their well maintained rooms..breakfast was always fabulous, the location are one of the best right in the city center and above the department store...I got the free wifi in room from this stay and also find out the slow connection in the lobby area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junya_and_gangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
554 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

On this I'll be very direct: this hotel has it all: good rooms, great staff, plenty restaurants and even a shopping mall. Don't look for other options... It's s the place to stay in Kaohsiung! Just a tip... Try Harbour restaurant.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank draghignazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
#33 of 297 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
85 Sky Tower Hotel
85 Sky Tower Hotel
#32 of 297 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dua
Hotel Dua
#13 of 297 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lees Hotel
Lees Hotel
#16 of 297 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
2.3 mi away
Just Sleep Kaohsiung Zhongzheng
0.9 mi away
Han Hsien International
Han Hsien International
#41 of 297 in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hi-Lai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hi-Lai Hotel

Address: No.266 Chengkung First Road, Chienchin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hi-Lai Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hi-Lai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hi Lai Hotel
Grand Hi Lai Kaohsiung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing