We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury, wonderful service, super convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hi-Lai Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Hi-Lai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.266 Chengkung First Road, Chienchin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 243 hotels in Kaohsiung
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“luxury, wonderful service, super convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is located in the big department store where you can find high end luxurious brands such as Chanel, Hermes, Dior, Cartier. In the basement, you can find supermarkets and lots of small restaurants to eat.

The hotel itself is impeccable. Although it's one of the old hotels in kaohsiung, the facilities and the rooms are very well kept. Most of the rooms have a fantastic view overlooking Kaohsiung city. Some of them have harbor view which is quite amazing. The bed is comfortable, either too soft or too hard.

What impresses me the most is the great service here. Everyone is very polite and professional. They try their best to make your stay comfortable. No matter where you are, the restaurant, the lobby, the bar, the business center, the swimming pool, everyone is very friendly. During our trip, my friend injured his ankle and had to stay in kaohsiung for 4 more days. The hotel staff was very friendly. They used their car, sent their staff to accompany us to the hospital, lent us the wheel chair to use and brought ice tubes many times. From time to time, they even showed their concern by asking whether my friend's situation had improved or not.

There are several restaurants at the hotel, restaurant for shanghai steamed dumplings, one for cantonese dishes, one for seafood hotpot, one steak house, one for buffet, one for taiwanese food, one for japanese cuisine, and also a bar on the 45th floor with beautiful view. We tried the shanghai dumplings and the cantonese restaurant, they are very good and reasonably priced. The breakfast is good too, lots of variety.

If I have to point out some negative aspects of this hotel, there are two:
1. when we are here, it's high season (tomb sweeping festival). Lots of people at the hotel. Good for the hotel, but sometimes it's get a bit too crowded, such as taking the elevator and we even had to wait for our table one day for breakfast.
2. as a hotel guest, you can only use the swimming pool and the fitness for free. If you want to use the sauna, you have to pay extra. That's the first time that I have encountered such rule.

All in all, I'd recommend this hotel to everybody and will definitely come back again in the future.

Room Tip: try to ask for a room with harbor view. it's stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    128
    34
    5
    5
See reviews for
62
42
26
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Recently stayed here and got a HELLO KITTY room! I still can get over the excitement that I had to travel all the way to Kaoshiung, the southern part of Taiwan just to fulfill a wish! I've been planning for this trip for 2 years and now I've done it!
I can't believe how PINK the room is...Im not really a fan of the color PINK, it's just that I loooooove Hello Kitty!
The room is BIG! with lots of amenities...and FREEBIES too. Aside from the usual coffee, tea, water and fruits... they gave us sweet tea as welcome drinks, aromatic oil for the room.
I was impressed with all the Hello Kitty stuff they placed on the room even the dining utensils they used for our Hello Kitty breakfast :D With the Hello Kitty package, I got to ride the Hello Kitty car and the driver brought us to the Dream Mall for my free ferris wheel ride, got complimentary bike rides for 2, a gift certificate for the Hello Kitty gift shop, and very cute Hello Kitty plush doll exclusively made for the hotel.
Grand Hi-Lai hotel in Kaoshiung is the best 5-star hotel. They have a big mall located several floors down the the hotel itself. Includes famous brands, a supermarket, chic cafes and dining places and a food court too! The hotel has a pool, gym, function room, nice classy rooms, cars for rent and the staff are courteous, helpful and always smiling :) I would definitely book in this hotel again next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The room is very clean and spacious. The staff are friendly. I think having a great department store downstair is great selling point of it as you can get what you want very easily. Tried the food of the hotel, the quality is very very good compared to its price. Strongly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Firstly if you arrive in a large tourist bus you have to leave bus on level 1 (ground) then take elevator up level 2 to check in. Staff were very helpful. We found just as easy to walk up ramp (where taxis & cars go to check in) Another 5 star hotel, rooms again where as expected, Room 2708, well appointed & clean. Hotel is of top of large department (well worth a look). Located in centre. Plenty of places to go & eat. As with Taiwan, walking around safe. Breakfast was of the standard & variety expected. My only comment to the hotel is please watch appropriate placing of your national flag

Room Tip: Unless you speak Chinese make sure you take a business card from hotel with address in Chinese. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Though the hotel was there for a big while, they still keep up their good service, their well maintained rooms..breakfast was always fabulous, the location are one of the best right in the city center and above the department store...I got the free wifi in room from this stay and also find out the slow connection in the lobby area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

On this I'll be very direct: this hotel has it all: good rooms, great staff, plenty restaurants and even a shopping mall. Don't look for other options... It's s the place to stay in Kaohsiung! Just a tip... Try Harbour restaurant.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times. It is still a hotel with good service. People in the lobby were highly helpful and you always found smiles on their faces. The only pity thing is the wifi service in the lobby had always been slow.

This time I stayed for 5 days and had breakfast at the Harbour Restaurant on the 43th floor, in which I would like to make a little comment.

On the first morning my wife and I both noticed that the lettuce on the salad bar was not fresh with obvious rusty marks on the leaves. Same situation appeared again on the second day which prompted me to talk to a lady who should be the manager. She replaced it immediately but did not come back to me to express apology or thanks. Lettuce served in the latter days showed improvement, though still far from perfect.

Generally speaking, overall quality of food was good. Staff in this restaurant had been highly efficient. The only thing you seldom found was "Smiles" on their faces which forbid them from becoming a better restaurant.

Last but not least, the above comment is not a complaint. I like this hotel and I just hope that they can have some improvement in this area. Afterall, Grand Hi Lai is still my No.1 choice of stay in Kaohsiung.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hi-Lai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hi-Lai Hotel

Address: No.266 Chengkung First Road, Chienchin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hi-Lai Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Hi-Lai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hi Lai Hotel
Grand Hi Lai Kaohsiung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hi-Lai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.