We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hi-Lai Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Hi-Lai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hi-Lai Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.266 Chengkung First Road, Chienchin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 237 hotels in Kaohsiung
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Close to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Firstly if you arrive in a large tourist bus you have to leave bus on level 1 (ground) then take elevator up level 2 to check in. Staff were very helpful. We found just as easy to walk up ramp (where taxis & cars go to check in) Another 5 star hotel, rooms again where as expected, Room 2708, well appointed & clean. Hotel is of top of large department (well worth a look). Located in centre. Plenty of places to go & eat. As with Taiwan, walking around safe. Breakfast was of the standard & variety expected. My only comment to the hotel is please watch appropriate placing of your national flag

Room Tip: Unless you speak Chinese make sure you take a business card from hotel with address in Chinese. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    109
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
51
39
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Though the hotel was there for a big while, they still keep up their good service, their well maintained rooms..breakfast was always fabulous, the location are one of the best right in the city center and above the department store...I got the free wifi in room from this stay and also find out the slow connection in the lobby area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

On this I'll be very direct: this hotel has it all: good rooms, great staff, plenty restaurants and even a shopping mall. Don't look for other options... It's s the place to stay in Kaohsiung! Just a tip... Try Harbour restaurant.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times. It is still a hotel with good service. People in the lobby were highly helpful and you always found smiles on their faces. The only pity thing is the wifi service in the lobby had always been slow.

This time I stayed for 5 days and had breakfast at the Harbour Restaurant on the 43th floor, in which I would like to make a little comment.

On the first morning my wife and I both noticed that the lettuce on the salad bar was not fresh with obvious rusty marks on the leaves. Same situation appeared again on the second day which prompted me to talk to a lady who should be the manager. She replaced it immediately but did not come back to me to express apology or thanks. Lettuce served in the latter days showed improvement, though still far from perfect.

Generally speaking, overall quality of food was good. Staff in this restaurant had been highly efficient. The only thing you seldom found was "Smiles" on their faces which forbid them from becoming a better restaurant.

Last but not least, the above comment is not a complaint. I like this hotel and I just hope that they can have some improvement in this area. Afterall, Grand Hi Lai is still my No.1 choice of stay in Kaohsiung.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is one of the top two or three in Kaohsiung. It is located above one of the best shopping malls in the city. So it is well located.

It has 43 floors, and breakfast is on the top floor, so you have a fantastic view of the city. I was on the 39th floor. There had been four earthquakes of magnitude 4 in the last week so I was hoping that the earth might shake for me at this height- but I felt nothing!

It is not the most modern hotel in Taiwan. It has a feel of a slightly outdated Sheraton, with simulated gold plated bathroom fittings and "luxury" carpets on the floors. I am not a fan of either! But in this city there is very little choice of good hotels.

The gym is fairly good and will keep you going, (90% of hotels in Taiwan have very poor or no gym facilities) so just for that I would certainly return.

In terms of value for money it is good, for two nights including room service it worked out at around £120 per night.

Overall a comfortable and pleasant stay compared to other hotels I have stayed at in this city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river to get a view of fireworks during the Chinese New Year celebrat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
706 helpful votes 706 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I am with 5 days around the island package tour and so this hotel stay is included. 1st-8th floor is a giant shopping mall and lobby is located at 9th floor and then you will have to take a different elevator from 9th floor to your room (most likely 28th floor and up). Unlike many hotels in Taiwan, staff from this hotel speaks English and thus good for business travel. Usually receptionists speak best English (try to ask them everything if you anticipate more problem with communication in Taiwan). I would say this place as good 4 stars (in International standard) but not worth 5 stars.

Good:
- Location: great city view (best to take photo at night), like some TA reviewers mentioned, shopping mall on lower floors help with last minute shopping.
- Food: I found their breakfast buffet items extensive with good, cook to order Taiwanese noodle (try with meat or Chinese eggs), good seafood, rice porridge (even better and contain more meat than the one I tried at another 5 stars hotel's expensive Chinese restaurant!) and many other Asian food. Yes, there is limited non Asian food (check my picture of Danish with shredded pork (another popular Taiwanese breakfast food)) but you should try other food while you are in Asia. Will you complain there is too many fish n chip places (in reality, too many Indian food places) while you are in Britain??
There are multiple restaurants on 10th floor and even a Western Steakhouse on different floor. Credit to Grand Hi-Lai to provide so many alternatives to eat.
- Big outdoor swimming pool and good Gym facilities on 10th floor.

So So:
- Rooms are a bit dated although it looks pretty grand. Some rooms has funny, old smell.
- Charging a lot for internet in the room is really a bad idea. Other real 5 stars hotels and even small hotels provide free internet. Charging internet for nearly as much as breakfast buffet is a real shame.
- There is no direct elevator from 1st floor to your room. You will need to take an elevator to lobby first and then, as describe above, take a different elevator to guest rooms. Again, as some TA reviewers mentioned, those limited elevators could be busy when non hotel guests are using to go to excellent restaurants on 10th floor and up.

Room Tip: try to contact local tour agency for a better rate than DIY/Internet rate. Consider to join tour pac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

When compared with so many great hotels in the world many things are average about this older, but considered luxury for Kaohsiung, hotel. I give it a Very Good rating for Value because when you factor everything (country, city, locality, culture, relative to other hotels in the vicinity, etc. and your budget) it is not that expensive for what you get and many things about it are nice. But for each of the rated categories below other than Value (Service, Sleep Quality, etc.) I evaluate my experience to the best and worst in the world that I have experienced (say from a very scary mom-and-pop motel to the Four Seasons). Rooms at the Hi-Lai are large (even for U.S. standards) if dated. Beds are old and stiff and was actually not that comfortable but tolerable. Breakfast buffet has good choices but average in quality and taste; coffee though was particularly good and what I would consider German style which I favor, rich, smooth, not bitter, and deceptively potent. The fact that the hotel is integrated with a department store and basement food court is a definite plus; you can take care of souvenir shopping and food very expediently. In short, if you are visiting Kaohsiung for business or pleasure, out of all the hotels in the area that I saw, this has the most going for it. I would say the real issue with the hotel is indirect - if the city of Kaohsiung was more dynamic and exciting then the hotel would adjust somehow to keep pace and therefore its late 70s looking lobby with karaoke night may be refurbished with something more chic. And the outdoor swimming pool, which is very functional, may also be more inviting and be more of a fun and chill gathering place on summer evenings. Short-and-sweet: Hi-Lai is your best choice in Kaohsiung right now even if it would be considered only average in say New York or Tokyo. Side-note: Exec Level and its lounge was disappointing and I do not recommend paying more for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hi-Lai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hi-Lai Hotel

Also Known As:
Grand Hi Lai Hotel
Grand Hi Lai Kaohsiung
Address: No.266 Chengkung First Road, Chienchin District, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
#2 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#13 Family Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hi-Lai Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your Grand Hi-Lai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hi-Lai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.