We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.202 Min Sheng Second Road, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 247 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After booking again approx 2 months ahead, the first night they gave my Queen Bed room away & had to stay in twin. A little inconvenient at 1.00AM in the morning, although they offer a gift & upgraded for the remaining 2 nights.

Food & Service still 5 star.

Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for 16th floor above to stay away from tourists arriving throughout the night. Very popular hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. We think highly of your comments and have detected the fault of process about your booking. Reservation Section received your mail on August 19 and sent a confirmation letter via the other mail at the same day. Due to rooms with Queen-size bed were full on October 7-10, our staff arranged a Twin room instead for you. We really feel sorry for the mistake, that Reservation Section did not remind you by e-mail. Please accept our sincere apology for your inconvenience and we have remarked Queen-size bed only into guest history system.

Your comment will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    82
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
26
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We made last minute reservations for this hotel. It turned out to be great. Right along the river. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast had a wide variety of options from Western to Asian breakfast food. The staff was friendly and helpful. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!
We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Your comment will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.
Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You can't beat the superior service and attention to detail at the Ambassador Hotel in Kaohsiung. Extremely clean, excellent location with view and access to the Love River, staff available to assist in any way, you will be pleased. The bakery located on the main floor, is delicious and appealing. You can't beat the treats you will find there, baked daily.
Wi fi difficulty was the only issue. It usually kicked me off after five minutes of use.
Definitely a place to stay while in Kaohsiung, hands down.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Since we offer free wifi access whole hotel, sometimes network has reached its capacity, your may experience slow down or occasional disconnects. We really apologize for your inconvenience. If you face the problem next time when you stay at our hotel, please do not hesitate to let our Duty Manager know and assist to solve it.
Your comment will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more. Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

It was really very good & warm welcome at reception itself. We could feel that staff of this hotel is really very polite & always smiling.

You should have at least 2 pure Jain Vegetarian Indian food for breakfast .

Room Tip: All rooms above 5th floor are very good for staying. In-fact rooms on all floors are equally good b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!
We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Your comments will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more. We will suggest the Chef of Market café for pure Jain Vegetarian Indian food as soon as possible.
Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

Top quality hotel- I had large room with great river view. Big bathroom with separate shower room. All quality fittings and a super bed. Outdoor pool is relatively small but very refreshing and good choice of eateries. The gym is very well equipped. Only 250twd in taxi from the high speed train station and about 20mins from Kaohsiung International AirPort. I have stayed here previously and experience was the same. Beware sometimes has large group bookings but it is a big hotel. Ate dinner in the 'market cafe' on the ground floor where the food is prepared in front of you at the buffet- large selection of meat fish and veggies. Breakfast taken in same restaurant with large variety available. Check in and out was very efficient. I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!
We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Your comments will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.
Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Spent two nights there in August 2014. Hotel was well located right on the Love River and there is a convenient U-Bike location right in front of the hotel.

Lobby and facilities (gym) are very nice. Our room was generally comfortable, but the hotel is a little old and tired compared to the Ambassador Taipei. Room keys are actual keys with heavy key rings that are inconvenient to carry around. Staff was helpful. My only complaint, and it's a big one, is that the bed felt like it was made of wood. I'm pretty easy when it comes to bedding - don't have specific needs and can generally sleep on anything. This bed literally felt like it was a wood box. It was almost impossible to sleep on.

I generally love the Ambassador and I would probably go back, but I would check the firmness of the mattress before accepting the room.

Room Tip: Check the mattress first before unpacking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Madam,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung! We are delighted to have you with us and hope you are pleased with our facilities and service.
The room key with the mark of Ambassador is called “Ru-I” and represented a well-wishing phrase widely used by the Chinese, also meaning “as one desires.” Sorry about the weight brought your inconvenience; we have planned key-card instead in the future.
We are sorry that the mattress made your discomfort. Since we have reconditioned the beds step by step recently, but there are few rooms have not been arranged yet. Therefore, we have prepared some soft mattress if guests needed by calling Housekeeping Department. We are really sorry about that we did not set the notice in advance. If it is possible, would you please offer your full-name, check-in date and room number to sales.kh@ambassador-hotels.com and it would be remarked on your guest history to avoid the discomfort happened in the future. Your comment for improvement will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.
Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.
With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My stay is 2 weeks long n a Superior Queen Rm:
- Rm keys are actual keys with a heavy metal deal with rm number on it, inconvenient
- Only place you can watch TV is the bed b/c the cabinet TV stands don't slide out like normal
- Room is Ok size, kinda small for my taste (gets old having a small rm on long stays)
- Bath Rm is small
- Bed is Ok for comfort, a little stiff for me. Lots of comfy pillows readily available
- Good closet and drawer space
- Nice desk area to work from

Room Tip: View on Harbor (river) side is much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!
We are delighted to have you with us and hope you are pleased with our facilities and service.
The room key with the mark of Ambassador is called “Ru-I” and represented a well-wishing phrase widely used by the Chinese, also meaning “as one desires.” Sorry about the weight brought your inconvenience; we have planned key-card instead in the future.
Your comment for improvement will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.
Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung

Address: No.202 Min Sheng Second Road, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
#3 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#8 Family Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung is one of the hotels that has passed the first wave of five-star evaluation conducted by Taiwan’s Tourism Bureau. Sitting at the Love River bank, also known as “Taiwan’s La Seine”, the excellent geographic environment allows our guests to experience the stunning riverside scenery up-close whether they want to take a walk on the hydrophilic trails on either side of the Love River, sit at a relaxing open-air café, appreciate the dazzling lightscribe bridge or take a river tour on the Love Boat and experience the true romance of this waterfront city. Inside the hotel a spacious lobby greets our guests with a high ceiling, a corridor with a gold dome, and gorgeous classical artworks. Entering our hotel, you enter a world blending cultural and historical characteristics, creating a unique style of new European classicism, and combining the best of Chinese and Western hospitality into a cultural exchange. There are as many as 453 guest rooms enriched with bright colors and wide spaces as the design spindle, and fitted with the most modern equipment. We provide the best that quality has to offer as well as the warmth and quiet home feeling rare to top-notch international tourist hotels. Our hotel also hosts six restaurants providing delicious Chinese and Western cuisines and 19 multi-function banquet halls displaying magnificence in charm and grandeur. There is also every service facility that one could expect to find: an outdoor swimming pool, gym, spa, business center and gift shops, all fully satisfying the spice of life that one would need for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaohsiung Ambassador Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.