We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to the Love River and comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung

Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.202 Min Sheng Second Road, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 243 hotels in Kaohsiung
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Next to the Love River and comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first time in Kaohsiung so we didn't know where to stay. So I decided to pick a place next to the love river and stayed 2 nights here.
When I first walked into the hotel, I was very pleased with the hotel staff and how courteous they are. I was warned by family that the hotel may be a little outdated but I was pleasantly surprised.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and I enjoyed staying here a lot.

The downside to this hotel is the location. Because it was the first time we had visited, I didn't realized that the hotel was a little bit of a walk to the MRT. But the tourist bus does include this hotel in the loop so it made sight seeing a little bit easier.

We may pick a different hotel to stay in next time because the location is a little bit inconvenient. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!
We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Your suggestion for improvement will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.
Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    72
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
22
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bendigo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a very well appointed hotel and I had a large room on the 16th floor overlooking the Love river. The rooms was clean, bed was comfortable and the staff were helpful. They offered to charge my iPhone because I'd left my charger in Taipei. There is a huge range of food for breakfast and they have a system of placing a "table occupied" sign on your table which is great for solo travellers as there is nothing worse than going for seconds and finding your table cleared and someone else sitting there. I really enjoyed staying at the Ambassador and will stay again when I visit Kaohsiung.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Your support will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.

Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed there earlier this week for a night as part of our honeymoon trip. It was a last minute decision to go there and we booked the Queen's room facing the Love River the night before we travelled to Kaohsiung.

There was a minor hiccup when we arrived to find that the check in counter did not have our details. Apparently, our booking the night before was not processed in time. We waited for about 20 minutes for our booking to be confirmed. It was a minor incident though.

The staff of the hotel was courteous and helpful, from the bell boy to the concierge to the staff at the restaurant.

The room was spacious and clean. I am very particular about the cleanliness of room and I have to say I was satisfied. The only thing lacking is a separate shower curtain. Care should be taken to prevent the splashing of water out of the bath tub while showering. Our room faces the Love River, which has a beautiful view of the river and the harbor, although rooms facing this direction will get the evening sun. Otherwise, the room is wonderful.

The spread of food for breakfast was standard but adequate.

An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us but apologetic for the inconvenience of the waiting when checked in. If it is possible, could you offer your full-name, check-in date and room number to sales@mskh.ambhotel.com.tw and we would remark the details on your guest history then we would take care much more.

The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Your comment will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.

Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I stayed here. Just scroll down for my first review. In that first review, I mentioned the small room size. I have to correct myself, the rooms are of a good size. Or, did I get a bigger room this time?

Minibar is still poorly stocked and this time also not replenished. Maybe because they expected that I would go to the local family mart nearby and buy my own drinks. I decided to take breakfast this time. Plenty of Asian choices, less on the European side. Some cheese and cold cuts would be nice. It certainly was good for a decent breakfast.

I am rather picky on the beds in hotels. It is the most important thing in a room and it is what you used most while in a hotel. The bed was really bad. It is a box spring without a soft top layers. So you're sleeping on a hard, solid frame. I had two pretty bad nights of sleep and sore muscles all over. I really can't remember if the bed was that bad the previous time I stayed here. I can't imagine it, because I would have surely mentioned it.

For the rest, the staff is friendly, the service excellent and the location perfect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

Warm greetings from Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!
We are delighted to have you with us but apologetic for the inconvenience of the hard mattress. We think highly of your complaint and have reviewed the fault instantly. Since we have reconditioned the beds step by step recently, but there are few rooms have not been arranged yet. Therefore, we have prepared some soft mattress if guests needed by calling Housekeeping Department. We are really sorry about that we did not set the notice in advance. If it is possible, could you offer your full-name, check-in date and room number to sales@mskh.ambhotel.com.tw and we would remark your request especially on your guest history to avoid the uncomfortableness happened in the future. Your comment for improvement will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.
Please accept our sincere apology for your trouble. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager, The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai China / USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean. My room was more than spacious for 1, but only 1 chair. My only real issues are there are no plug outlets anywhere but under the desk to plug in any computer or phone, this is a pain in the knees. Otherwise the pineapple bread was great and breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Ask to face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. We deeply appreciated that you like our pineapple cake and breakfast, but sorry that plug outlet brought you inconvenience. Your suggestion for improvement will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.

Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was good, staff understand and offer solutions fast and easy.
Have no chance to try out facilities. Wifi was easy and fast.
Accessibility isn't great, need to walk to the nearest train station, but taxi was considerably cheap.
Food is scarce at the area, there's a drinking area and cafe opposite the hotel.
Nearby Love River, hence good for a stroll before bed time.
Breakfast is good for a 2/3 days stay. Anything longer than that makes the breakfast really, seriously boring...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Your support will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.

Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putaruru
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Ambassador hotel in Kaohsiung is a very nice hotel and has a great location.
Unfortunately the front desk staff was not very friendly.
The room was good & comfortable, but lacked amenities for the price paid.
Lounge and bar prices are far above average rate. But in contrast the western & eastern style breakfast was far above standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!
We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. We think highly of your comments and have detected the fault about the front desk staff instantly. We have instructed the Senior Director necessarily supervises the attitude and service of the staff. Your comment for improvement will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.
Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung

Address: No.202 Min Sheng Second Road, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
#3 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung is one of the hotels that has passed the first wave of five-star evaluation conducted by Taiwan’s Tourism Bureau. Sitting at the Love River bank, also known as “Taiwan’s La Seine”, the excellent geographic environment allows our guests to experience the stunning riverside scenery up-close whether they want to take a walk on the hydrophilic trails on either side of the Love River, sit at a relaxing open-air café, appreciate the dazzling lightscribe bridge or take a river tour on the Love Boat and experience the true romance of this waterfront city. Inside the hotel a spacious lobby greets our guests with a high ceiling, a corridor with a gold dome, and gorgeous classical artworks. Entering our hotel, you enter a world blending cultural and historical characteristics, creating a unique style of new European classicism, and combining the best of Chinese and Western hospitality into a cultural exchange. There are as many as 453 guest rooms enriched with bright colors and wide spaces as the design spindle, and fitted with the most modern equipment. We provide the best that quality has to offer as well as the warmth and quiet home feeling rare to top-notch international tourist hotels. Our hotel also hosts six restaurants providing delicious Chinese and Western cuisines and 19 multi-function banquet halls displaying magnificence in charm and grandeur. There is also every service facility that one could expect to find: an outdoor swimming pool, gym, spa, business center and gift shops, all fully satisfying the spice of life that one would need for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaohsiung Ambassador Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.