We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.202 Min Sheng Second Road, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 250 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Shanghai China / USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean. My room was more than spacious for 1, but only 1 chair. My only real issues are there are no plug outlets anywhere but under the desk to plug in any computer or phone, this is a pain in the knees. Otherwise the pineapple bread was great and breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Ask to face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. We deeply appreciated that you like our pineapple cake and breakfast, but sorry that plug outlet brought you inconvenience. Your suggestion for improvement will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.

Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    84
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
25
22
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was good, staff understand and offer solutions fast and easy.
Have no chance to try out facilities. Wifi was easy and fast.
Accessibility isn't great, need to walk to the nearest train station, but taxi was considerably cheap.
Food is scarce at the area, there's a drinking area and cafe opposite the hotel.
Nearby Love River, hence good for a stroll before bed time.
Breakfast is good for a 2/3 days stay. Anything longer than that makes the breakfast really, seriously boring...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Your support will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.

Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putaruru
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Ambassador hotel in Kaohsiung is a very nice hotel and has a great location.
Unfortunately the front desk staff was not very friendly.
The room was good & comfortable, but lacked amenities for the price paid.
Lounge and bar prices are far above average rate. But in contrast the western & eastern style breakfast was far above standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!
We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. We think highly of your comments and have detected the fault about the front desk staff instantly. We have instructed the Senior Director necessarily supervises the attitude and service of the staff. Your comment for improvement will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.
Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is good, centrally located, with a nice view of the river. It's easy to walk around, if one is lucky enough to avoid robbers (there are more robbers in Kaohsiung than in other cities in Taiwan). One major complaint is about the Sichuan Restaurant on the top of the hotel: the food they serve is not authentic. We ordered smoked cod but it turned out deep-fried. When we complained about it, the manager said it's deep-fried first and then smoked. It's simply not true. I hope the chef and manager there should be honest and stop telling customers that they serve smoked fish. We visited this restaurant before; the quality of their food used to be very good. What a pity that its quality is going down the drain!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KervinHsu, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Also, we really appreciate your visiting our Sichuan Restaurant for dining. About your complaint, we have instructed the manager and the chef necessarily review the recipe and improve cuisine. Food cooking must be followed the standard operating procedure to ensure the maintenance of food stability. Your suggestion for improvement will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.

Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in early May during Golden Week (a Japanese holiday-I happen to live in Japan now) .I found the staff helpful and always cheerful.My room was always made up and cleaned nicely.It is about ten minutes walk from some excellent stores and places to eat.
When I return to Taiwan I will most likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room ovelooking the Love river and away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
高雄市高雄國賓大飯店, 業者 at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Michael,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Your suggestion for improvement will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.

Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,


Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I visited Kaohsiung for a business meeting for 2 days and chose to stay in Ambassador Hotel. I must say that my decision was quite good. It was an excellent hotel with the excellent staff. The check-in procedure done here was one of the fastest i have ever observed anywhere else. Location wise it is bang on the love river. The staff is courteous but caution..Very few people speak English...So be prepared.

All in all, a good place to live while on business/leisure trip.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the love river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, 總經理 at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us. Our hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. It is an honor and highly valued to our hotel that you were satisfied with our staff, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.

Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three night for business. The hotel is just good. Although the rooms are a little small, for a business trip or any short stay in Kaohsiung, the hotel has everything you need. A few things that could be improved are the minibar; pretty empty, the key system; on old fashion key with heavy hanger...it takes up some pocket space when you're out and about. The walls and cealing aren't thick either so it can be a little noisy. Its location is perfect, next to the Love river with some nice restaurants and bars in walking distance. The best place to have a relaxed and goood dinner or have a few beers is Tokyo Akasa (?) walk out of the hotel, cross the street and follow the river. Left of the bridge you will find a three story open restaurant. Great food, a good fibe and nothing formal. Do watch the beer girls as they want to sell you the more expensive beers. Aks for the smaller menu, although not in English and order the sushi. One thing though, they only accept cash.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
高雄市高雄國賓大飯店, 業者 at Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

A warm welcome to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung!

We are delighted to have you with us. The hotel has been planned with your comfort and convenience in mind and we hope you are pleased with our facilities and service. Your suggestion for improvement will be highly valued and, wherever possible, carried out so that you may enjoy your next stay with us even more.

Please accept our sincere thanks for your patronage. Should you have any precious experiences or requirements, please do not hesitate to share with us for the improvement of everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung in the near future.

With Sincere Regards,

Kervin Hsu
General Manager
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung

Address: No.202 Min Sheng Second Road, Kaohsiung 801, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaohsiung
#3 Business Hotel in Kaohsiung
#8 Family Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung is one of the hotels that has passed the first wave of five-star evaluation conducted by Taiwan’s Tourism Bureau. Sitting at the Love River bank, also known as “Taiwan’s La Seine”, the excellent geographic environment allows our guests to experience the stunning riverside scenery up-close whether they want to take a walk on the hydrophilic trails on either side of the Love River, sit at a relaxing open-air café, appreciate the dazzling lightscribe bridge or take a river tour on the Love Boat and experience the true romance of this waterfront city. Inside the hotel a spacious lobby greets our guests with a high ceiling, a corridor with a gold dome, and gorgeous classical artworks. Entering our hotel, you enter a world blending cultural and historical characteristics, creating a unique style of new European classicism, and combining the best of Chinese and Western hospitality into a cultural exchange. There are as many as 453 guest rooms enriched with bright colors and wide spaces as the design spindle, and fitted with the most modern equipment. We provide the best that quality has to offer as well as the warmth and quiet home feeling rare to top-notch international tourist hotels. Our hotel also hosts six restaurants providing delicious Chinese and Western cuisines and 19 multi-function banquet halls displaying magnificence in charm and grandeur. There is also every service facility that one could expect to find: an outdoor swimming pool, gym, spa, business center and gift shops, all fully satisfying the spice of life that one would need for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaohsiung Ambassador Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel Kaohsiung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.