We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and very good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung

Save Saved
You added Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.311 Chi Hsien First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 243 hotels in Kaohsiung
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenient and very good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very good hotel in Kaohsiung, no real downsides.

The good:
*Spacious room
*Very good breakfast with a nice western selection
*Friendly service
*Swimming pool big enough for laps
*Still walkable distance to some sights and public transport

The bad:.
*Room feeling a bit dated

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    67
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
22
17
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at Howard Plaza Hotel for 2 nights during my trip in Kaohsiung in May. I checked in pretty late due to flight schedules, upon arrival, the bell boy in the lobby directed me to the Reception/Lounge on the 21st floor to check-in. The staff was speedy and all the documents were ready and I was able to get to my room within 5 minutes. Though no staff offered to take our luggage to our room, the reception lady sent us off to the lift. The room is quite big, slightly on the old side, but for the price we got it for, it was acceptable. Though furniture and carpets look a bit old, the bed and the bathroom were reasonably clean with all basic toiletries provided. The wireless connection in the room was speedy and it was free of charge. One slight problem with the Howard Plaza Hotel is that it is a bit far from the metro station, around 10 minutes walk which was acceptable for May but may be quite annoying during the summer and rainy days with luggages. Buffet breakfast was included with the room rate and there were a variety of cuisines available along with fruits, coffee. Surprisingly, there was even ice-cream available in the morning. The hotel isn't too crowded during breakfast time and the staff are constantly collecting dishes and utensils to ensure guests had a clean table to eat as they return from the buffet area. There is a big night market close by, walking distance of 10 minutes as it is just opposite the metro station exit. Plenty of local food and drinks for an evening snacks, you can even walk back to the hotel and enjoy them in the room. Overall, the hotel room, staff and the food were great, the one major bad thing would be the hotel's slight distance from the metro station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our company had a teacher training seminar for 100+ participants at the Howard Plaza Hotel in Kaohsiung. The service/banquet staff were very accommodating and helpful. The price was fair and the hotel is centrally located and easy to find. My overall experience was very good and I would recommend this property for meetings and events.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night as a stopover on our way to Kenting. I chose this hotel based on good reviews and getting a good rate online. I think this hotel's high ranking is well deserved and every aspect of our stay was very enjoyable. Check in was simple and fast, bellboy brought our bags to our room promptly and was very polite. Our room on the 25th floor was very spacious and clean and had a nice view of the city. Big king bed, clean sheets, and big comfy down pillows. We weren't able to get the free WiFi to work which was really the only negative about this stay.
We relaxed at the pool and literally had the place to ourselves. Nice pool and hot tub but a bit old looking.
We ate at both the new Chinese restaurant on the first floor for dinner and the breakfast buffet on the fifth floor. Both were good but we really enjoyed the breakfast. Lots of choices catering to western and Asian tastes plus all the Haagen Dazs ice cream you can eat!
I would love to stay here again if I go back to Kaohsiung.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed in an executive double on the 25th floor for 4 nights in February 2013. The price was reasonable including breakfast. There was enough choice for breakfast. The room was quite spacious with a sofa. There is free wifi inside the room. The hotel is just about 10 minutes' walking distance from the nearest MRT station. It is located in the central part of the city and is just 20 minutes by taxi to the airport. What I like this hotel best is its quietness because it is not used by tour groups which make hotels too congested and noisy especially at breakfast time.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We love this place. Im retired Navy and Merchant Marine, so Kaohsiung is an old hang out for me, and have been traveling to Taiwan for quite some time. We've tried others and although Kaohsiung is no slouch for great hotels, we always seem to end up back at this one. Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable, its close to things, and btw, has one of the best breakfast buffets you'll ever see. I give it 4 stars.

(Yeah Ive read some of the complaints , every hotel gets some, but hey, travel takes a little planning and fore handedness, ya' know.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family of parents, two young teens and a nine-year-old stayed over at the Howard Plaza Hotel in Kaohsiung during our round trip around Taiwan. The hotel was located centrally next to an entire lane of restaurants and while its exterior was not striking at first, its resort-like facilities certainly impress.

As part of a tour group we checked in with ease (although there was not much of a line in the first place), and ascended to our rooms quickly. One unique addition was some special lighting in the lift that helped medicinally, using some complex science to do it. Honestly don't know what that's about, but a plus anyway.

The rooms were standard - tidy, well-furnished and no noticeable flaws. Bathroom was larger than previous ones we had. I don't remember having any trouble sleeping. Very nice rooms on the whole.

Apart from the rooms there were other facilities as well. There was a good number of restaurants in the hotel. We looked at their menus when we headed out for dinner but it did not suit our palette that night. There were renovation works going on at the time so it wasn't that comfortable eating there anyway. By now it should be done and maybe you'll find it to your taste.

Thankfully, the hotel's prime location proved very helpful in finding nearby restaurants, which are barely a block away. There was this wonderful beef noodle house we ate at somewhere near, and there are many other choices too. Hotel staff were helpful in recommending nearby restaurants and giving directions, albeit in Mandarin only.

The hotel has a miniature shopping center on the first few floors. Free wi-fi was available only around there and the best spot to use it would be at the cafe, but you have to purchase something there to use it.

Breakfast at the hotel was quite good - a good variety and a lot of seating. A bit confusing with two sections in opposite corners of the room serving slightly different things (if I'm not wrong) but still pretty good.

All in all, the hotel was a fine experience for us. We had no qualms staying here. Not sure of the pricing but I think it'll be suitable a price below or around the two hundreds will make this hotel worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung

Address: No.311 Chi Hsien First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the business district with easy access to the railway station and major highway.Also,with the Liuho Tourist Night Market and other shopping areas nearby, plus convenient transportation,your business trips and traveling plans are all within reach.305cozy and classic guest rooms are matched with prestigious wooden furniture and artworks bearing intense Chinese classical tone and reflecting the extraordinary taste of distinguished guests.Providing six fine restaurants, our professional chefs together prepare delicious Chinese and Western cuisine with each being an inspiring enjoyment of the taste and texture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Plaza Kaohsiung
Kaohsiung Howard Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.