We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the Howard Hotels are fine, but this one stands out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung to your Saves list
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.311 Chi Hsien First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 245 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All the Howard Hotels are fine, but this one stands out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We love this place. Im retired Navy and Merchant Marine, so Kaohsiung is an old hang out for me, and have been traveling to Taiwan for quite some time. We've tried others and although Kaohsiung is no slouch for great hotels, we always seem to end up back at this one. Rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable, its close to things, and btw, has one of the best breakfast buffets you'll ever see. I give it 4 stars.

(Yeah Ive read some of the complaints , every hotel gets some, but hey, travel takes a little planning and fore handedness, ya' know.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    77
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
24
19
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My family of parents, two young teens and a nine-year-old stayed over at the Howard Plaza Hotel in Kaohsiung during our round trip around Taiwan. The hotel was located centrally next to an entire lane of restaurants and while its exterior was not striking at first, its resort-like facilities certainly impress.

As part of a tour group we checked in with ease (although there was not much of a line in the first place), and ascended to our rooms quickly. One unique addition was some special lighting in the lift that helped medicinally, using some complex science to do it. Honestly don't know what that's about, but a plus anyway.

The rooms were standard - tidy, well-furnished and no noticeable flaws. Bathroom was larger than previous ones we had. I don't remember having any trouble sleeping. Very nice rooms on the whole.

Apart from the rooms there were other facilities as well. There was a good number of restaurants in the hotel. We looked at their menus when we headed out for dinner but it did not suit our palette that night. There were renovation works going on at the time so it wasn't that comfortable eating there anyway. By now it should be done and maybe you'll find it to your taste.

Thankfully, the hotel's prime location proved very helpful in finding nearby restaurants, which are barely a block away. There was this wonderful beef noodle house we ate at somewhere near, and there are many other choices too. Hotel staff were helpful in recommending nearby restaurants and giving directions, albeit in Mandarin only.

The hotel has a miniature shopping center on the first few floors. Free wi-fi was available only around there and the best spot to use it would be at the cafe, but you have to purchase something there to use it.

Breakfast at the hotel was quite good - a good variety and a lot of seating. A bit confusing with two sections in opposite corners of the room serving slightly different things (if I'm not wrong) but still pretty good.

All in all, the hotel was a fine experience for us. We had no qualms staying here. Not sure of the pricing but I think it'll be suitable a price below or around the two hundreds will make this hotel worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very nice and friendly hotel in central Kaohsiung. Take the elevator up to the reception located on the top floor of the hotel. The room was big nice and clean. Outdoor pool on the roof top was just perfect for staying in Kaohsiung during the summer. Breakfast was one of the best I've ever come a cross with a wide and fine selection of asian (Chinese as well as Japanese) and western style food. The big selection of ice cream was a huge yeaaaahhh (who can say no to a Häagen-Dazs buffet for breakfast!?) :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The rooms in howard are big and the breakfast buffet is unrivaled in its quality. i still remember enjoying every bit of my stay there and the food stall nearby

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

It was our first visit to Kaohsiung after years of regularly visiting in Taipei. Our accommodation in Taipei is already good every time we compete in their dragon boat race but as soon as we entered Howard Plaza in Kaohsiung - whoa!

Great food, excellent service, spanking clean rooms...can't wait to stay there again next year!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I've been to Taipei a couple of times in the mid 90's and i honestly think that my stay in Howard hotel in Kaohsiung is the best ever. Great food, great service, wonderful smiles from all hotel employees and just plain perfect ambience! I'd love to stay again at Howard's hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My team and I, all 29 team members, stayed 5 nights in Howard Plaza, from Tues to Sun in June 2012. We were booked in a double room and I shared a room with a friend but did not expect to have a spacious room with 2 queen sized beds, clean bathroom with 2 shower rooms. The room was always cleaned on time and all supplies replenished. We were welcomed with fruit plates and complimentary bottled water and they were replenished everyday. Wireless internet in each room was provided for free though the signal in our room was erratic, while it was stable in the other rooms. Buffet meals were always open on time. Though there was little difference in the food assortment each day, the wide assortment (continental & asian) was sufficient enough to satisfy my appetite till the last day. Was able to use the gym & pool facilities and the staff were all polite and accommodating. Interesting location with convenient food stores & dry good outlets around the area. It was a comfortable stay and I would go back and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung

Address: No.311 Chi Hsien First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 245 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the business district with easy access to the railway station and major highway.Also,with the Liuho Tourist Night Market and other shopping areas nearby, plus convenient transportation,your business trips and traveling plans are all within reach.305cozy and classic guest rooms are matched with prestigious wooden furniture and artworks bearing intense Chinese classical tone and reflecting the extraordinary taste of distinguished guests.Providing six fine restaurants, our professional chefs together prepare delicious Chinese and Western cuisine with each being an inspiring enjoyment of the taste and texture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Plaza Kaohsiung
Kaohsiung Howard Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.