We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plastic wrap.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung

Save Saved
You added Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.311 Chi Hsien First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 242 hotels in Kaohsiung
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“plastic wrap.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I spent three nights in this hotel last week upt ot Friday on Januvary 21.It is an excellent hotel.The views of the scene outside is very good....But i feel a minus aspects also...I asked the hotel staff for plastic wrap for my baggage.Unfoutunately nobody no what is plastic wrapping.It is very important to arrange this fecility to this hotel.Some customers need to wrap thier baggage for the safety for thier baggage.Other things are ok.
Barbiquie food i didnt saw there menu lists.......

Room Tip: the site from the room is excellent,especially when the time of walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    66
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
21
17
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mermaid Waters
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This hotel was about 15mins walk to both the MRT, Night Market and the railway station. The staff were very pleasant and polite. Rooms were large and light and quiet. Not much of a view except buildings etc. Bed linen was excellent as were the towels. Housekeeping was very good. Tea, coffee, fruit and water supplied. Nice bathroom with separate shower and plenty of space. Breakfast was good, more asian than western but plenty of everything. Everything was very clean, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Howard Plaza Hotel kindly provided us free shuttle service from the HSR station at Zuoying. This hotel is located near the Formosa Blvd's KMRT station (about a 5-8 minute walk) and there was a great variety of food/restaurants/night markets in the surrounding. Our room was nice, clean and comfy. The only disappointment was the bar on the 30th floor-- the night view was great but our drinks weren't that impressive. Other than that, the staff was very polite and helpful. Very professional indeed. Would love to come back and stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I have stayed here 3 times now and each time I always feel at home. Great food, very good Western style selection. Good, fast room service and nice breakfast in restaurant too. Big comfortable beds, soft pillows and linen sheets. Nice rooms with soft armchair and nice ottoman. Good desk and free fast wireless internet. The shower is big and the towels thick and white. Nice shampoos etc good quality and plenty of free bottled water. Great coffee. There is always a fruit plate each day with top quality fruit and if you have a premier room there is a good business lounge with full time assistant on 29th floor. Staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. Even the maid is kind and interested and said welcome to Taiwan. You can't go wrong with this Hotel. I will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

It was my first visit to Kaohsiung and when our local partner mentioned that he would book me in this Hotel costing only $70 a night. I wasn't sure what was in store till I turned up at the Hotel. It was a 5 star hotel at the price of a 2 star. Rooms were functional and cozy. Morning buffet breakfast was sumptuous. Enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Price
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

I stayed at the Howard for two night for business. The hotel was nice and centrally located. There are 5 restaurants in the hotel which make eating very convenient. The rooftop pool and spa were very nice and provided a nice place to beat the heat of the days. Bar/lounge located on the top of the hotel provides great views of the city and has night piano music. The rooms are a little outdated but were really big with a separate sitting area. I would stay at the Howard again when visiting Kaohsiung. The staff were great and were very helpful though not all speak English. Good breakfast buffet included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in april last year, but we didn't like the hotel at all.
Checking in took a while because they gave us at first a room with two small single beds, although we booked a family room. With a lot of complain we got a comfortable room.
The room was okay. The pool was nice. The breakkfast looked very good, very much to eat... BUT !!! On the breakfast buffet there were walking cock-roach ! I told the staff but they didn't care. HORRIBLE!
Kaohsiung is a wonderful place to visit, but not the hotel !!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung

Address: No.311 Chi Hsien First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the business district with easy access to the railway station and major highway.Also,with the Liuho Tourist Night Market and other shopping areas nearby, plus convenient transportation,your business trips and traveling plans are all within reach.305cozy and classic guest rooms are matched with prestigious wooden furniture and artworks bearing intense Chinese classical tone and reflecting the extraordinary taste of distinguished guests.Providing six fine restaurants, our professional chefs together prepare delicious Chinese and Western cuisine with each being an inspiring enjoyment of the taste and texture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Plaza Kaohsiung
Kaohsiung Howard Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Plaza Hotel Kaohsiung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.