We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic design, nice amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Icon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Icon Hotel to your Saves list
The Icon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.328 Minsheng First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 282 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Chic design, nice amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Even if Icon is not the best hotel in Kaohsiung, it is certainly the one with the best design. All the rooms come with a different theme and the entire building breathes creativity.

We stayed in the "computer" room which has a motherboard ceiling and a wall decorated with keyboards. The room is on the 8/F and offers a good view of the city. The atmosphere is cozy and warm.

Breakfast comes in a set and is nothing like the normal boring selection of cornflakes, toast and ham. You can feel that these people paid extra effort to make your stay enjoyable.

Another thing I appreciate is the free bike rental, which allowed me to explore the city at ease. Even if you walk, it's just 5 min away from the Central Park station and about 10 min from Formosa Boulevard Station and the famous Liuhe Night Market.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    48
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
32
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was one of the best b&b that we have stayed so far! With decent breakfast, cool designed room, friendly staff and most importantly, it is located at the great spot in kaohsiung city! 5 mins walking distance form central park station and 15 mins walk to Shinkuchan district. We love the design concept of the hotel and it's really feel good to be back after a long tiring sightseeing around the city. They actually give out a small souvenir after your check-out, how sweet! :) Do give a chance to icon hotel to serve you with their best service and yeah, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A boutique hotel with a modern young and arty image.
Good clean basic amenities offering value for money.
Professional and friendly staff made our stay enjoyable and we would use this hotel again on our next visit to Kaohsiung

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is located sort of half way between two MRT stations (Formosa and Central Park). So it's a few minutes walk either way. We stayed at the Rooftop Suite, and it was spacious enough to accommodate 5 of us. (You have to walk up a flight of stairs to the top floor as the elevator does not reach the top) The single beds were a bit hard, but the two king size beds were very comfortable. The room has a little kitchen area (no stove top etc - just a kettle). It was stocked with cups but it would be nice if the hotel would also stock it with some plates and cutlery.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and was able to communicate in English with me. Make sure you get the walking map provided by the hotel, as it has some great eateries and sighseeing ideas on it. Breakfast was adequate, however the washroom at the breakfast area was a bit strange, as it really is only one stall having both urinal and toilet inside.

Overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I've only stayed one night for my business trip. I've chosen this hotel becoz its design and theme rooms. I really love their design concept 'n art works for each guest floor. Very impressive 'n stylish! Especially the painting on 6th floor, Incredible!!! The reception gal was very friendly 'n helpful. This is my 1st time travelling in Kao Hsiung. The reception gal proactively showed me the nice 'n famous sight-seeing points without my asking while I checked in that made me so impressed. They served set breakfast alike in Japan. Yummy 'n nice.

However, the drainage smell in hotel was really stink 'n quite unaceptable. Itz spread around the area of the elevator 'n the cafe. Except this, overall is very nice!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Totally love the idea of the hotel, each room has different design and every floor has different design along the passageway. The room is well equipped with tv, mini fridge, bathroom facilities and cute room slippers. It is not very far off from the train station. The staff are really well trained and informative, they provide us a map and recommend us the various places to visit. Breakfast is provided at the ground floor every morning.

I do not have much negative feedback about the rooms and services. but do take note that there are no windows for the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

For a very good value, the room and toilets are clean and creative elements can be found everywhere. You get to choose the room that you would like to stay in during check-in. The hotel is about a 7 minutes walk to the neartest train station, with the Shinjuku/Harajuku-alike shopping street about a cross-junction away from the hotel. I would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaohsiung hotels
1.7 mi away
Just Sleep Kaohsiung Zhongzheng
0.2 mi away
T Hotel Kaohsiung
T Hotel Kaohsiung
#30 of 282 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dua
Hotel Dua
#6 of 282 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tree House
The Tree House
#1 of 282 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiwi Express Hotel - Jiuru Branch
0.6 mi away
Jia's inn - Liouhe
Jia's inn - Liouhe
#13 of 282 in Kaohsiung
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Icon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Icon Hotel

Address: No.328 Minsheng First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 282 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Icon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a natural and seemingly accidental presence The Icon Hotel is situated in a corner of the popular XinJueJiang Shopping District. Adjacent to the ever so elegant Central Park metro station, and across the tree-canopy-clad Minsheng Rd., is a simply classic structure full of creative twists.We chose white as our foundation and embellished it with vibrant brushstrokes. Through the creative efforts of numerous artists from around the globe, beyond language and cultural barriers, boundless imagination is materialized in 36 dimensions.Humorous originality frolics in every corner of the hotel as we hope that at every turn of the corner you might let out an occasional chuckle. The Icon is creativity, it is art, and it is a lifestyle. With a humble and low-key attitude we have shattered the traditional impressions of motels, inns, and hotels. Here at The Icon we have orchestrated a visually and aesthetically pleasing feast.The Icon creativityUniquely craftedWe are The Icon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Icon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Icon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.