We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting hotel with different design rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Icon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Icon Hotel to your Saves list
The Icon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.328 Minsheng First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 253 Hotels in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 53 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very interesting hotel with different design rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is located sort of half way between two MRT stations (Formosa and Central Park). So it's a few minutes walk either way. We stayed at the Rooftop Suite, and it was spacious enough to accommodate 5 of us. (You have to walk up a flight of stairs to the top floor as the elevator does not reach the top) The single beds were a bit hard, but the two king size beds were very comfortable. The room has a little kitchen area (no stove top etc - just a kettle). It was stocked with cups but it would be nice if the hotel would also stock it with some plates and cutlery.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and was able to communicate in English with me. Make sure you get the walking map provided by the hotel, as it has some great eateries and sighseeing ideas on it. Breakfast was adequate, however the washroom at the breakfast area was a bit strange, as it really is only one stall having both urinal and toilet inside.

Overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've only stayed one night for my business trip. I've chosen this hotel becoz its design and theme rooms. I really love their design concept 'n art works for each guest floor. Very impressive 'n stylish! Especially the painting on 6th floor, Incredible!!! The reception gal was very friendly 'n helpful. This is my 1st time travelling in Kao Hsiung. The reception gal proactively showed me the nice 'n famous sight-seeing points without my asking while I checked in that made me so impressed. They served set breakfast alike in Japan. Yummy 'n nice.

However, the drainage smell in hotel was really stink 'n quite unaceptable. Itz spread around the area of the elevator 'n the cafe. Except this, overall is very nice!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Totally love the idea of the hotel, each room has different design and every floor has different design along the passageway. The room is well equipped with tv, mini fridge, bathroom facilities and cute room slippers. It is not very far off from the train station. The staff are really well trained and informative, they provide us a map and recommend us the various places to visit. Breakfast is provided at the ground floor every morning.

I do not have much negative feedback about the rooms and services. but do take note that there are no windows for the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

For a very good value, the room and toilets are clean and creative elements can be found everywhere. You get to choose the room that you would like to stay in during check-in. The hotel is about a 7 minutes walk to the neartest train station, with the Shinjuku/Harajuku-alike shopping street about a cross-junction away from the hotel. I would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fell in love with the artsy concept when I was searching from tripadvisor and decided to stay in it.... No regret whatsoever! Remember to reach early so that you can choose which room you want to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've actually stayed in this boutique hotel twice. It is fairly cheap under $2,000 TWD. The staff are friendly and they have an excellent brochure with map showing all nearby MRT stations, major roads, and places of interest. The hotel has 3 affiliated parking lots. The closet one is right beside the hotel but has only around 20 parking spaces and can be annoying if you want to take the car out once you already parked (since you have to pay again and the hotel only sponsors the fee once). The location is great since it is a 5-min walk to the MRT station and a block or two away from Love River and various shopping / food places. Each room is different and you can pick your own. The room is nice and looks very new. Washroom is great and breakfast is good. Only complaint is the piping in this building is a bit awkward so you may hear water flowing at various times in the rooms.

Overall, it is definitely worth the money and that's why I came back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my one night stay at The Icon Hotel. I booked the Original Room, which was spacious and clean. Each room had a different theme and you get to choose your room during check-in. Sadly, we arrived at 5+pm and many pretty rooms were taken up. Nevertheless, the room I stayed in was unique, clean and overlooked the main road. It was a very comfortable stay, and the room had all the necessities required. The room comes with a set breakfast comprising of a ham croissant, fruit, salad, bacon stick and baked egg. Free flow beverage, soup and jelly. We received a thank-you gift of body lotion during check-out. That's a very thoughtful gesture. Considering the price we paid for, it is reasonable and I would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Icon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Icon Hotel

Address: No.328 Minsheng First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 253 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Icon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a natural and seemingly accidental presence The Icon Hotel is situated in a corner of the popular XinJueJiang Shopping District. Adjacent to the ever so elegant Central Park metro station, and across the tree-canopy-clad Minsheng Rd., is a simply classic structure full of creative twists.We chose white as our foundation and embellished it with vibrant brushstrokes. Through the creative efforts of numerous artists from around the globe, beyond language and cultural barriers, boundless imagination is materialized in 36 dimensions.Humorous originality frolics in every corner of the hotel as we hope that at every turn of the corner you might let out an occasional chuckle. The Icon is creativity, it is art, and it is a lifestyle. With a humble and low-key attitude we have shattered the traditional impressions of motels, inns, and hotels. Here at The Icon we have orchestrated a visually and aesthetically pleasing feast.The Icon creativityUniquely craftedWe are The Icon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Icon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Icon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.