We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Artsy Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Icon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Icon Hotel to your Saves list
The Icon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.328 Minsheng First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 253 Hotels in Kaohsiung
4.0 of 5 stars 53 Reviews
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Artsy Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fell in love with the artsy concept when I was searching from tripadvisor and decided to stay in it.... No regret whatsoever! Remember to reach early so that you can choose which room you want to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've actually stayed in this boutique hotel twice. It is fairly cheap under $2,000 TWD. The staff are friendly and they have an excellent brochure with map showing all nearby MRT stations, major roads, and places of interest. The hotel has 3 affiliated parking lots. The closet one is right beside the hotel but has only around 20 parking spaces and can be annoying if you want to take the car out once you already parked (since you have to pay again and the hotel only sponsors the fee once). The location is great since it is a 5-min walk to the MRT station and a block or two away from Love River and various shopping / food places. Each room is different and you can pick your own. The room is nice and looks very new. Washroom is great and breakfast is good. Only complaint is the piping in this building is a bit awkward so you may hear water flowing at various times in the rooms.

Overall, it is definitely worth the money and that's why I came back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my one night stay at The Icon Hotel. I booked the Original Room, which was spacious and clean. Each room had a different theme and you get to choose your room during check-in. Sadly, we arrived at 5+pm and many pretty rooms were taken up. Nevertheless, the room I stayed in was unique, clean and overlooked the main road. It was a very comfortable stay, and the room had all the necessities required. The room comes with a set breakfast comprising of a ham croissant, fruit, salad, bacon stick and baked egg. Free flow beverage, soup and jelly. We received a thank-you gift of body lotion during check-out. That's a very thoughtful gesture. Considering the price we paid for, it is reasonable and I would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a room without window. We have no issue on it. Rooms size is spacious.
Chic and modern design.

The aircon is centralised, unable to adjust temperature individually.
And during the night, a drainage smell comes out from the aircon, awful... Not the whole night though, probably 15-20mins. We smell it for both nights.

There isn't any full length mirror.
2 towels are stains...
Water pressure low.

Breakfast is included in the rate.
You won't have any surprise because we having the same set for both days.

Location average, near to love river and Shinjuku. 2-4 KMRT stops away from the main shopping malls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for one night due to last minute change of schedule. Like the creative design of the hotel. Location is great, Walking distance to shopping area. Staff is reasonable helpful and friendly but the hotel room is not well maintained. Moldy grouting in the bathroom, stains on coffee table.
Breakfast is a tray of meat-stuffed croissant, a small salad and a piece of half boiled egg (not even warm), a bacon skewer, few pieces of cut fruit. Coffee and juice was self-helped.
I would think again to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Remember not to book room without window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This new hotel has been built since last year with great location and has chic design. Every room has different design. Price is reasonable and only 5-10 mins walk to the metro station and close to the night market. Staff are nice and helpful. Free WiFi access.

Con. Breakfast portion is small with very limited choices and the room is pretty small.

Room Tip: Don't choose room close to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Travelled with 10 of my friends in early August. Nice location, about 10 minutes walk to the nearest Subway station... about 15-20 mins walk to Liuhe night market too. Model design with clean rooms... Every floor with different design, and unique design in different rooms too! Loved to cute slippers provide by the hotel, 2 queen beds are available for 4 persons in a room.

Reasonable price, clean and spacious rooms, nice breakfast in the morning, wifi enable in the hotel, staffs are friendly and helpful... The chic and modern hotel to stay in Kaohsiung. Will recommend to all my friends travelling there. Keep up the good job guys!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Icon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Icon Hotel

Address: No.328 Minsheng First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 253 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Icon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a natural and seemingly accidental presence The Icon Hotel is situated in a corner of the popular XinJueJiang Shopping District. Adjacent to the ever so elegant Central Park metro station, and across the tree-canopy-clad Minsheng Rd., is a simply classic structure full of creative twists.We chose white as our foundation and embellished it with vibrant brushstrokes. Through the creative efforts of numerous artists from around the globe, beyond language and cultural barriers, boundless imagination is materialized in 36 dimensions.Humorous originality frolics in every corner of the hotel as we hope that at every turn of the corner you might let out an occasional chuckle. The Icon is creativity, it is art, and it is a lifestyle. With a humble and low-key attitude we have shattered the traditional impressions of motels, inns, and hotels. Here at The Icon we have orchestrated a visually and aesthetically pleasing feast.The Icon creativityUniquely craftedWe are The Icon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Icon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Icon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.