We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and interesting hotel, poor breakfast and maintenance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Icon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Icon Hotel to your Saves list
The Icon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.328 Minsheng First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 282 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location and interesting hotel, poor breakfast and maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed for one night due to last minute change of schedule. Like the creative design of the hotel. Location is great, Walking distance to shopping area. Staff is reasonable helpful and friendly but the hotel room is not well maintained. Moldy grouting in the bathroom, stains on coffee table.
Breakfast is a tray of meat-stuffed croissant, a small salad and a piece of half boiled egg (not even warm), a bacon skewer, few pieces of cut fruit. Coffee and juice was self-helped.
I would think again to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Remember not to book room without window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
32
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This new hotel has been built since last year with great location and has chic design. Every room has different design. Price is reasonable and only 5-10 mins walk to the metro station and close to the night market. Staff are nice and helpful. Free WiFi access.

Con. Breakfast portion is small with very limited choices and the room is pretty small.

Room Tip: Don't choose room close to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Travelled with 10 of my friends in early August. Nice location, about 10 minutes walk to the nearest Subway station... about 15-20 mins walk to Liuhe night market too. Model design with clean rooms... Every floor with different design, and unique design in different rooms too! Loved to cute slippers provide by the hotel, 2 queen beds are available for 4 persons in a room.

Reasonable price, clean and spacious rooms, nice breakfast in the morning, wifi enable in the hotel, staffs are friendly and helpful... The chic and modern hotel to stay in Kaohsiung. Will recommend to all my friends travelling there. Keep up the good job guys!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENO NV.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is the best Hotel i found for the Money.Very close to everething.Subway.is only 3 Blocks from here The hotel is very clean,Hotel staff friendly and helpfull .Breakfast is good.
Same English is must.
I am from Austria i will be staying here for 3 weeks June 1 to 25 th Tem 33C--93F
The price was Us 60.00
You have to see the Harbour Restaurant,The best i have ever seen.

Room Tip: All Rooms have Ac and Quiet. www.iconhotel.com.tw taiwan 886-7-2818999
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Staying at a boutique hotel have always been one of my top choices.
Opened less than a year ago, Icon Hotel is nicer located at walkable distance to Kaohsiung's central MRT station, and walkable distance to its famous Liuhe Night Market.

It was late when we checked in and the frontdesk was very helpful and gave us a brief explanation of the room and also the places we could go with only 3-4hours to spare.

The room we selected comes with a neon typography that says "Stay Classy" and the room was indeed pretty cool with black and white box decorated around the room. (not to mention that we were given free upgrade to a bigger room)

The whole hotel was themed with design related ideas, and so does the cafe located at B1 of the hotel. All in all, the hotel is suitable for young, chic travelers who want something more than an ordinary hotel.

Room Tip: Select the room design as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

First hotel for my first trip to Taiwan. Simple description is the stay was lovely with minimum hiccups.

My friends and I were welcomed with the privilege to select the room we prefer to stay in. Really nice concept though it may not work in bigger scale hotel. This is because each and every room in the hotel is different.

Registration was done quickly and we proceed to the rooms.

Rooms are rather spacious and artistic! Well decorated with furnished with the basic amenities you need.

Our bathroom comes with translucent partition but was still ok. Can't really see what's going on in the bathroom from outside. =)

Breakfast was simple and great to start the day running.

Location is a short 5 mins was from the train station. Staff are very helpful to provide tips and suggest places for us to visit. Something not so tourist.

The only downside is that we saw a few mosquitoes flying around the room. The walls are white hence you can see blurred blood stains of dead mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Bring some mosquitoes repellent as there are a few tiny bit flying around the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONG KONG
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Each room comes with a unique design which clients could choose from the pictures during check-in. Clean room comfortable bed, free Internet in room. The staff are very friendly and helpful (actually I find most Taiwanese establishments very friendly). Breakfast was delicious but rather light for me. Within walking distance to the MRT red and orange line from which one could get to the airport, high-speed rail, railway station and most tourist attractions in Kaohsiung.

Room Tip: Get there early to choose your favourable room design. I got a room with no windows when I arrived...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IconHotel, Owner at The Icon Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Design Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Icon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Icon Hotel

Address: No.328 Minsheng First Road, Kaohsiung 800, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 282 Hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Icon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a natural and seemingly accidental presence The Icon Hotel is situated in a corner of the popular XinJueJiang Shopping District. Adjacent to the ever so elegant Central Park metro station, and across the tree-canopy-clad Minsheng Rd., is a simply classic structure full of creative twists.We chose white as our foundation and embellished it with vibrant brushstrokes. Through the creative efforts of numerous artists from around the globe, beyond language and cultural barriers, boundless imagination is materialized in 36 dimensions.Humorous originality frolics in every corner of the hotel as we hope that at every turn of the corner you might let out an occasional chuckle. The Icon is creativity, it is art, and it is a lifestyle. With a humble and low-key attitude we have shattered the traditional impressions of motels, inns, and hotels. Here at The Icon we have orchestrated a visually and aesthetically pleasing feast.The Icon creativityUniquely craftedWe are The Icon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Icon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Icon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.