We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every cent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legend hotel

Save Saved
You added Legend hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Legend hotel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.55 Xinsheng First Street, Qianjin District, Kaohsiung 80141, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Sept. Early Bird!
Ranked #4 of 242 hotels in Kaohsiung
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth every cent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Booked a quad room which was sufficiently spacious and clean. free pepsi and cup noodles are also provided. There is a bath tub as well. Washing machines as well as dryers are provided at lvl2, but they have only 2 of each, which means you have gotta queue. And it can only be used from 8am to 10pm. The lobby has a giagantic map of kaoshiung which includes all the famous eateries as well as night markets, giving us lots of options to travel around in ks.

Service was fantastic, with the staff answering our queries promptly. there is an hourly shuttle service to a few nearby MRT stations, but you have to book at least 30 mins b4 as there are limited spaces. bikes are also available for rent, just need to produce yr id card.

location wise, it is pretty ok. just tt we had to lug our stuff from the MRT and lumber our way there for abt 5 mins. but there is a partyworld ktv nearby which offers fantastic rates. liuhe night market is also within walking distance. but since ks has an MRT, getting anywhere is really simple.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    62
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
40
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked two nights at this hotel but ended up staying one night only and went back to Taipei a day earlier. No refund given and we were not expecting it.

Room was ok, big as i booked the quad room, toilet ok, clean with basic amenities. Breakfast was alright as well that is if you eat asian food. No western breakfast, except some pasta and bread and you have to clear your table yourself when you finished. Kinda wierd.

When we arrived at the hotel around 1.30pm, we were told to wait as room not ready. we have no choice but to wait and it was raining outside so we can't explore outside either esp with our 3 years old around. So, we decided to do some research as the hotel lobby provides some interesting and recommended spots to visit. However, when we ask them for directions and recommendations, the receptionists were not that helpful at all. They make it look like they are very buzy and have no time to talk and explain to you other than what you asked. We asked a few questions every now and then and they seemed like we are taking their time to do their work..so we went to their "tour desk" instead. We asked if we can hire a car for half a day and how much..the men there seem uninterested and just quoted us a ridicous amount. Luckily we didnt take it..later we found out from another taxi cab, it is way cheaper. Can't believe this hotel is trying to con us...needless to stay, we didn't enjoy kaoshiung at all, and decided to go back to Taipei a day earlier...don't think we will be back in a very long time..to kaoshiung that is...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socotra Island, Yemen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A great hotel with a wonderful location. Rooms were clean, well furnished and very comfortable. Employees were friendly and accommodating. They are very courteous and helpful. They always had a smile and a friendly word. We more than enjoyed our two nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is very clean and staff are friendly. Liuhe night market is just around 10-15 mins of walk from the hotel. It has the laundry facilities and free wifi connection. Well decorated room. Overall experience is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is kind of bright and spacious in the lobby and also equipped with x-box game entertainment to keep kids busy…. The room we booked with king-size bed is extremely comfortable and clean. The bathroom is big enough for me. The painting on wall makes us feel really relaxing. The best thing is they also provide free noodles and pepsi. The breakfast is average but quite nice with variety of bread choices and a few western menu. The hotel is near Liouhe night market and around 10-15mins walking distance to Formosa and city council MRT station. The bike rental and laundry service are really good and staff are extremely friendly to help you. I will recommend this hotel and no doubt to go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Location was great - staff was helpful, free breakfast was good, free bike use, laundry facilities, wifi internet, computers, and water machine. Perfect place to stay. I wish this were a world wide chain.

Room Tip: the budget room is a little small - better to spend a little more for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This was the first hotel I stayed for my recent trip. Give them a call if you need them to pick you up from the metro station-Formosa boulevard. They will send someone to pick you up for check in but I think there some timing so do check their website. We reach the hotel earlier and couldn't check in but was allow to place our luggages with them. So, when we are allowed to check in, the moment I get into the lift, my first reaction was wow!! Firstly, the lift door was some nice picture. Second, the lift seems abit too small. Maybe because I was a plus size...LOL..but compare to another hotel I stayed on my pervious trip this was kinda small. When the lift door open, I gave another wow! I totally love those wall...very nice!!! So when I open the door of our room. Again, another wow. A big drawing on the wall, rocking chair, tv, toiletries and they do give instant bowl noodles and drinks for free. However, the aircon wasn't able to adjust. We try to switch it higher as it was too cold but the remote just blink and blink and return back to the cold temp setting and on the first night during our sleep, it automatically set to a higher temp which make us feel so warm during the sleep. Suppose to hide under the comforter end up for the whole night I was sleeping on it.
Next, the surrounding. They have a map on the reception counter which show you the way to different food places and the metro station. Do take one as we found it quite useful for us especially when we have too much time to spend before the check in timing and don't really know where to go. But be warn that those places they show on the map are usually those place with long queue. We follow the map and went to 2 places and both are having long queue.
Breakfast served was average. Maybe for me it was decent as they served different kind of bread and me as a bread lover, of course i said it's decent. And somewhere near the hotel there a shop selling nice breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legend hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend hotel

Address: No.55 Xinsheng First Street, Qianjin District, Kaohsiung 80141, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Kaohsiung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 242 hotels in Kaohsiung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legend hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creatively Designed Kaohsiung Hotel with Thoughtful FeaturesNewly opened in October, 2011, Legend Hotel Kaohsiung is an unique hotel designed with creative hand painted wall decor arts in the rooms delivering extraordinarily cozy, warm and joyful accommodation ambiance, evoking the innocence of your child, making you a knowing smile deeply down from your heart when walking into the rooms. Aims to provide exceptional traveler-friendly environment by featuring 49 air-conditioned rooms with comfort bedding, ensuite bathroom, complimentary bottled water and snacks, LCD TV with free multi channels , mini-fridge, coffee and tea making kettle, hairdryer, and in-room safe. Vigorous buffet breakfast, Free Wifi internet access in the hotel, guest lounge, Free laundry room, business center, XBOX recreational zone, outdoor relaxing area, free bike rental, 24hour fresh ground coffee available and free parking space.No matter who you are -international travelers, backpackers, business travelers, weekend wanders, explorers, adventurers, dreamers....etc, you can feel relaxed, feel inspired and refreshed, laid back and totally be yourself. Legend Hotel Kaohsiung has a superb location in the bustling Qianjin District of Kaohsiung City, Taiwan, with the famous Kaohsiung tourist stop- Liouhe Night Market just about 5mins walk away. It also offers convenience in location to two nearby Kaohsiung KMRT stations including KMRT Formosa Boulevard Station about 10-15mins walk away and the KMRT City Council Station just about 5-10mins walk, allowing guests to tour major Kaohsiung attractions without trouble. For travelers connecting to other Taiwan and international destinations, the Kaohsiung International Airport can be accessed within 25-30 minute drive or via KMRT Kaohsiung Main Station in about a 10 minute drive. The ideal location close to major Kaohsiung transportation links makes Legend Hotel Kaohsiung delightful Kaohsiung accommodation for your Kaohsiung Travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Legend hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legend hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.