We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is a Walk in the Park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts

Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts
No.80 Meishuguan Road, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
07-5550331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 107 attractions in Kaohsiung
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“This Place is a Walk in the Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Fine Arts Museum cannot be beat in Kaohsiung, for the mainstay, regular exhibitions are free. The only time you pay is when you want to enjoy one of their visiting exhibitions, which have included Warhol and Dali in recent times. If you repeatedly visit, you might grow weary of the same exhibits, but as a traveler, you'll certainly find it worthwhile, that is if you like museums in the first place. Although we are travelers elsewhere, I am an expat here in Taiwan (with no connection to the museum), so we have the pleasure of periodically visiting the museum. Especially on a hot, humid southern Tiawan summer day, this place provides a wonderful sanctuary. Moreover, it is located in a lovely park, one that gives you a well-deserved change of scenery from the otherwise urban landscapes of Kaohsiung. There, one can stroll the walkways, lounge in the grass by the lake, or take a gander at the sculptures in the garden. If I were on a tour of Taiwan, instead of living here, I would, indeed, spend a few hours here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very crowded place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Is a good place to learn chinese culture. The cabbage and the pork are a much see item. You can rent the audio to know more about the displayed items.
The place is very crowded and is full of tourists.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good insight into the world of Taiwanese art. Visiting exhibits very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a pleasant morning visiting the art museum. Normal entrance may be free, but we paid for special Mucha.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth the visit, price is right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

Brief visit to view the Alphonse Mucha special exhibit and contemporary Korean artists exhibit. Both were interesting. Compared to museums in the West, entry fee is very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I had the chance to visit the museum when it had an exhibition of Amedeo Modigliani's works. The museum regularly has great exhibition and you should check their website or English brochure (available in their front desk). The museum also exhibits local arts. Unfortunately some parts of the museum was closed when I visited. There's a gift shop on the main lobby with some interesting souvenir. The park outside the museum is quite nice & large as well.

The museum entrance is free but if you want to see the main art exhibition (optional) you have to purchase a ticket.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

 

Been to Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.