We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Setting For University Campus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Sun Yat-sen University

National Sun Yat-sen University
No.70 Lienhai Road, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
07-5252000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 104 Attractions in Kaohsiung
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
247 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Incredible Setting For University Campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

There is definitely something to be said about a college campus boasting beachfront property. I entered the campus through the mountain tunnel - quite dramatic. Some of the buildings are newer than others - the older ones could use some TLC. There was a nice park and garden adjacent to Sun Yat-sen's former residence (now a small art gallery/museum). The beach is nothing to write home about, but it certainly provides for an incredible backdrop (complimented by the green mountains rising up behind the campus). Definitely worth a walk (or cycle) around and close to many attractions - Former British Consulate, Sizihwan, and the tourist ferry to Cijin.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    14
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“For the sunset and monkeys”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The students of this university are very luck to finish class and get this view.

I drove my scooter around from the pier till as far as the campus roads take you. It climbs the mountain the Uni sits on and u have a pretty good view of the harbor. You can hear ship honking as they go in and out of the harbor.

Great sunset and monkeys along the road if you look for them.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Walk all the way to the adjacent beach.....find a secret place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I walked to its campus and found not much to see right at its ground. However I wondered further towards the Si-Zhu-Wan beach area then pass all the mainland Chinese tourist buses and groups I found a vantage point of enjoying the Kaohsiung port / Chi-jin light house view.....watching the sun set on this view was my biggest surprise! Lets see you can find it too.....I hope not too many to find this out, otherwise it will soon be crowded!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Red brick university with conservative atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It's a quite reputated university in southern Taiwan, beautiful scenery but with very conservative political point of view

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Sun Yat-sen University also viewed

 

Been to National Sun Yat-sen University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Sun Yat-sen University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.