We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why is this an attraction?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Dome of Light

The Dome of Light
Meilidaozhan, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 262 things to do in Kaohsiung
Attraction details
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“why is this an attraction?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Erm, yes, its a nice station... but other than snapping a picture or two, there really isnt much to see? Well, there is a 3D painting on the floor nearby but that's really about it. It is definitely pretty, but I wouldnt call it an "attraction"

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is not an attraction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not sure why this is listed as an attraction. This is just a nice train station decoration. Nothing special. See it and move on.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Applepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you have kids, definitely a must. You should stop by if you are passing through. I am surprised to see listed as a major attraction, but, it's pretty cool I must say!
It brought me back to childhood when looking at beautiful big pictures made me smile. If you like art, you can certainly look at this for a while.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bendigo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The dome of light at the Formosa Boulevard station on the MRT is amazing to see, after all this is a train station! I wish we had this kind of public transport in Australia

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Pomboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Long
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't go there just for the dome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The local government was a bit too excited about the dome of light--it was not bad to take a moment to appreciate the effort to make a metro station a better place, but it definitely does not worthy a detour. Anyway, the Formosa is a key transit hub and there was a jazz concert on the Sunday that I used the station. Not a bad place to pass by.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KahOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dome of Light also viewed

 
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
 

Been to The Dome of Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing