We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why is this an attraction?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Dome of Light

The Dome of Light
Meilidao Station, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 150 things to do in Kaohsiung
Attraction details
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“why is this an attraction?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Erm, yes, its a nice station... but other than snapping a picture or two, there really isnt much to see? Well, there is a 3D painting on the floor nearby but that's really about it. It is definitely pretty, but I wouldnt call it an "attraction"

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    91
    49
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This is not an attraction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not sure why this is listed as an attraction. This is just a nice train station decoration. Nothing special. See it and move on.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you have kids, definitely a must. You should stop by if you are passing through. I am surprised to see listed as a major attraction, but, it's pretty cool I must say!
It brought me back to childhood when looking at beautiful big pictures made me smile. If you like art, you can certainly look at this for a while.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bendigo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The dome of light at the Formosa Boulevard station on the MRT is amazing to see, after all this is a train station! I wish we had this kind of public transport in Australia

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Long
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Don't go there just for the dome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The local government was a bit too excited about the dome of light--it was not bad to take a moment to appreciate the effort to make a metro station a better place, but it definitely does not worthy a detour. Anyway, the Formosa is a key transit hub and there was a jazz concert on the Sunday that I used the station. Not a bad place to pass by.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dome of Light also viewed

 

Been to The Dome of Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dome of Light, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.