We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why is this an attraction?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Dome of Light

The Dome of Light
Meilidao Station, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 172 things to do in Kaohsiung
Attraction details
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“why is this an attraction?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Erm, yes, its a nice station... but other than snapping a picture or two, there really isnt much to see? Well, there is a 3D painting on the floor nearby but that's really about it. It is definitely pretty, but I wouldnt call it an "attraction"

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    105
    59
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This is not an attraction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Not sure why this is listed as an attraction. This is just a nice train station decoration. Nothing special. See it and move on.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you have kids, definitely a must. You should stop by if you are passing through. I am surprised to see listed as a major attraction, but, it's pretty cool I must say!
It brought me back to childhood when looking at beautiful big pictures made me smile. If you like art, you can certainly look at this for a while.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bendigo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The dome of light at the Formosa Boulevard station on the MRT is amazing to see, after all this is a train station! I wish we had this kind of public transport in Australia

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Long
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't go there just for the dome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The local government was a bit too excited about the dome of light--it was not bad to take a moment to appreciate the effort to make a metro station a better place, but it definitely does not worthy a detour. Anyway, the Formosa is a key transit hub and there was a jazz concert on the Sunday that I used the station. Not a bad place to pass by.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dome of Light also viewed

 

Been to The Dome of Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dome of Light, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.